We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas in Jaco Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daystar at The Palms

Save Saved
You added Daystar at The Palms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Daystar at The Palms
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   El Frente Pochote Grande, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Oceans at The Palms)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 48 Specialty lodging in Jaco
Albany, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Christmas in Jaco Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We took our three "young adult" children to Jaco Beach over Christmas and stayed at the Palms. The view of the ocean and sunset was great. The condo was very nice, with two bedrooms and two baths, a nice balcony, and a well equipped kitchen. The staff was very accommodating and readily spoke English, though everyone in my family except myself spoke Spanish, so the language was never a problem. As for outings, the staff was very good at scheduling outings, such as zip lining, trips to national park, etc. There were two 24 hour security guards, one in the front and one in the back. I am still not sure whether this made me feel safer or not, as what was the underlying need? This brings me to my only concern. The location is almost at the northernmost part of Jaco Beach, which was a two edged sword-it is away from the busyness of the town, but when my "early 20s" kids went out in the evening, I was a little concerned for their safety, as they were leaving the well-guarded premises and it is something of a walk either through an unknown residential neighborhood or down a dark beach to get to town where the action was. However, my fears were unfounded, as there was never a problem. Of course, taxi service was also readily available to alleviate this concern, which is really a necessity when you are returning from a trip to the grocery store, laden with bags. All in all, we enjoyed our trip to Jaco Beach and our stay at the Palms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

My daughter and I traveled on a solo trip and stayed at the Palms in Unit 601. Outstanding sunsets and view of the ocean. Accomodations were lovely and very comfortable. Well stocked kitchen had everything we needed. I appreciated the security guards at the gate 24/7 since we were traveling alone. Very courteous and were helpful with taxis. All of the excursions we went on were well organized and lots of fun. We had quite the adventure trip in Jaco, Costa Rica!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

We had the greatest week in Jaco staying at The Palms. The rooms were amazing and the view couldn't be beat. Right on the ocean, pool, air conditioning, sunsets, what more could a person want. We stayed in unit 601 and loved getting up in the morning to sit on the balcony to watch the waves crash in and see the beach at Jaco come alive. There's so much to do in Jaco, and The Palms is in a perfect spot, not right in the middle of everything, but close enough you could walk to pretty much everything. Security was great and we always felt safe and secure. If you get a chance to visit Jaco, you should consider staying at The Palms.

Room Tip: We loved unit 601. High enough off the ground to get an amazing view. Layout of the unit was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I have stayed at this property for three vacations and had a great experience each time. It is new, fresh, bright and very large (we stayed in the 2 and 3 bedroom units). The location is perfect, only a short walk/taxi to the heart of the town, and away from the hustle and bustle. They have guards front and back 24/7, so no worries about saftey. The sunsets should not be missed, as you have a completely unobstructed view each evening from your private balcony.
We've done a lot of adventures and all were amazing. 4-wheeling, horseback riding, zip-line, fishing, valcano, etc.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Great view and still able to walk to town. 24hour security was great and the sunsets were beautiful. We stayed in unit 901 and the surroundings were clean, comfortable, and afforded wonderful views of the ocean, beaches, and mountains. Jaco is a wonderful town full of activity and great food.

Room Tip: unit 901 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

The condo was very nice and clean with a nice porch right outside to watch the sunset. I liked the location because of its proximity to town as well as the different tours we participated in. I also felt very safe bacause of the 24 hour security.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The Palms has the absolute best view in Jaco. You can see the entire Jaco cove and can catch some amazing sunsets. The condos are right on the beach and great surf is less than 1/8 of a mile away. The Palms is close to town and all of the attractions. There is so much to do in Jaco - would definitely recommend the ATV tours through the jungle. Very memorable trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daystar at The Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daystar at The Palms

Also Known As:
Daystar At The Palms Hotel Jaco
Daystar At The Palms Hotel
Daystar At The Palms Costa Rica/Jaco
Address: El Frente Pochote Grande, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Oceans at The Palms)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 48 Specialty lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daystar at The Palms 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms is a 34 unit tower that sits at the north end of Jaco Beach Costa Rica. Facing vast panoramas of the Central Pacific, this beachfront condominium project with spacious 2-bedroom, 3-bedroom units will make you feel like you are at home.The Palms modern architecture its sweeping ocean views promises the perfect setting for your vacation home. Enjoy the views from your terrace or while lounging in the beachfront pool. The Palms offers privacy in a luxurious environment so you may enjoy your Costa Rican vacation however you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Daystar at The Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daystar at The Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.