We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful sunset” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Daystar at The Palms

Save Saved
You added Daystar at The Palms to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Daystar at The Palms
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   El Frente Pochote Grande, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Oceans at The Palms)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
White Lake, Michigan
2 reviews
“Beautiful sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

The condo was very nice and clean with a nice porch right outside to watch the sunset. I liked the location because of its proximity to town as well as the different tours we participated in. I also felt very safe bacause of the 24 hour security.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    6
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

The Palms has the absolute best view in Jaco. You can see the entire Jaco cove and can catch some amazing sunsets. The condos are right on the beach and great surf is less than 1/8 of a mile away. The Palms is close to town and all of the attractions. There is so much to do in Jaco - would definitely recommend the ATV tours through the jungle. Very memorable trip.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I have stayed at The Palms in Jaco once (unit 901) and am currently planning my next visit back to this wonderful place. It was such an amazing vacation! I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for something more than the predictable all-inclusive experience. It is on the north end of the beach, giving you what feels like private access to a great ocean-pool created by the tide. It is also very close to the best place to surf along the beach, with board rentals that are very affordable. You can spend your time relaxing, reading book after book without any interruption, walking the beach with over 3 miles to the other end, etc. Or, you can rent surfboards, zipline along the coast, and take many other adventure tours. And for the food, all restaurants or grocery stores are 10-15 minute walk away or a 4 minute cab ride. During our stay we choose to do a little of everything, which created the perfect week get-away!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

My wife and her sister have both been ill (lung cancer etc.) and so we decided to take a trip away to spend quality time with family. We wanted something really special and we found it. The entire experience was great! The beauty of the beach, views and area was truly special. We arrived late on a Sunday night and the staff had us taken care of. We had keys to the condo at the guard gate and were treated like royalty. My wife and I had a couples massage on the 9th floor condo deck that was the best! The web site we had of other condo owners gave us ratings of all the local dining and hot spots. Lemon Zest was an awesome dinner. Best Ahi tuna I have ever had (rare of course)!! Visting the Marriott resort near Herrradurra was worth the drive over. We had a great Sea Bass meal at a cute local beach place. All the food was great all week and no worries of "don't drink the water" like Mexico etc. We went the first week in November and had great weather all week. It was listed as the end of the rainy season but far from for us. We were the only people at the condo pool every single day!! Everyday when the tide came in the local teenage boys came out to surf. Really cool! Then one of them climed the palm tree and threw done coconuts to the boys. They chopped off the tops and had their happy hour. I cannot wait to go back. I might just buy a place here and retire to CR!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand rapids, mi
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The condo was spacious, clean and new. The appliances were new and beautiful. I appreciated that the condo was removed from the hustle and bustle. We could easily walk to town or take a taxi (taxi was there within minutes when requested). The property allowed for quiet moments in the pool chairs, drinking coffee and watching the waves roll in for the morning. There were late evening swims and drying off watching the sunset across the ocean. If we wanted to eat out we could walk down the beach a short distance and had restaurants to choose from on the beach. It certainly met my expectations.

Room Tip: the first floor rooms offer quick access to the pool and beach... we loved walking out to the pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

Traveled down to the Palms last year for a spring break with a group of friends. We were welcomed and felt very safe as the hotel has 24hr security. The place was recently built so all the rooms look and feel brand new. The rooms feature a large outdoor deck with a great view and good spot to play cards/games. We really enjoyed the amazing views and warm weather. The great thing about Costa Rica is the endless amount of excusions and adventures to explore (4-wheeling in the jungle, zip line etc).

Everyone we were with enjoyed the hotel and claimed they can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

I have stayed at The Palms in Jaco several times. Units 103, 601 and the penthouse, 901. The condos are truly beautiful. Very new, spacious and well appointed with granite counter tops and stainless steal appliances. The views are awesome, especially from the penthouse where you can see the mountains behind and the black sand beach in front. There is a fun bar/restaurant just 2 doors down and everything that Jaco has to offer is a short walk down the beach and into town. We even had DayStar book an in room message which was unbelieveable. There is so much to see and do in Jaco...the local zip lines, horse and ATV tours and we even went to the volcano for a day of canyoneering and relaxing in the hot springs! I will be staying at The Palms again soon!

Room Tip: 901, the penthouse is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar at The Palms, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Thank you for staying at Daystar the Palms. Our entire staff appreciates your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed our condos, and Jaco Beach, Costa Rica

We look forward to seeing you on your next visit Jaco Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daystar at The Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daystar at The Palms

Address: El Frente Pochote Grande, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Oceans at The Palms)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daystar at The Palms 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Palms is a 34 unit tower that sits at the north end of Jaco Beach Costa Rica. Facing vast panoramas of the Central Pacific, this beachfront condominium project with spacious 2-bedroom, 3-bedroom units will make you feel like you are at home.The Palms modern architecture its sweeping ocean views promises the perfect setting for your vacation home. Enjoy the views from your terrace or while lounging in the beachfront pool. The Palms offers privacy in a luxurious environment so you may enjoy your Costa Rican vacation however you wish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Daystar at The Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar At The Palms Hotel Jaco
Daystar At The Palms Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daystar at The Palms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.