We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!! Pura Vida!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daystar Diamante del Sol

Save Saved
You added Daystar Diamante del Sol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Daystar Diamante del Sol
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Jaco centro el frente Plaza Coral, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Oceans Diamante del Sol)   |  
Hotel amenities
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Awesome!!! Pura Vida!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our group of 6 stayed at the Diamante Del Sol from Aug 8-12th. The Daystar staff (Lisle, Tatty, Efarith, and everyone else) were great at accommodating us with restaurant suggestions and setting up our activities. The condo itself was a luxury home away from home and the view was amazing! (We stayed on the 7th floor). The location was great as you can walk to most everything in town. The Daystar office is just up the street located next to Sunrise Cafe, if you get a chance to stop by for breakfast get a Surfer Burrito or Big Toto breakfast and a Sunrise smoothie on the side. All in all it was a great trip and the accommodations were something we didn't have to worry about and definitely enjoyed. There's 24/7 security guarded gate, but they're really friendly and accommodating as well. Oh btw, the pool is awesome too it closes and it at 10pm. Thanks to the Daystar Staff!!! If we plan a trip to Jaco again, we'll most likely be booking again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    41
    10
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
7
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

even though travelling to a different country can be scary, DayStar makes the experience extremely smooth and carefree. They answered any questions we had about tours and the local area and they even booked everything for us upon our request. They were very flexible when we had special requests and they were extremely professional and kind. They were such a pleasure to deal with and I would highly recommend DayStar and Diamante Del Sol to anyone who wants to visit Costa Rica. I would go back anytime and book with DayStar Diamante Del Sol again! Not only is the staff friendly, professional, honest and caring, but the properties themselves are FAR more beautiful than the pictures online show. Sometimes pictures can look great and the actual property isn't what the pictures seem to be, but this is completely opposite, this place is far more gorgeous in person than the pictures show. BOOK WITH DAYSTAR DIAMANTE DEL SOL!! YOU WON'T REGRET IT!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our family of six stayed at the Diamante del Sol in Jaco July 13-18, 2013 in a spacious 3-bedroom condo on the 5th floor. Our first reaction when we walked in was WOW. The unit was absolutely beautiful and the views were amazing. We were shocked to see that the unit also had 3 1/2 bathrooms, a large living/dining room area, a beautiful kitchen, and 3 balconies. The picture of the condo does not do it justice. What you see on the picture is exactly what you get, down to pictures on the wall. The view from the living/dining room area is breathtaking. The large patio doors and the tall ceilings gives you a view of the ocean that keeps you mesmerized. I found myself waking up at 5:30 in the morning to sit on the balcony to watch the surfers. If it wasn't for the family wanting to eat and hang out, I would have stayed on the balcony all day. The office staff is fantastic (especially Tatty - she's the best) and their response time for any issues or requests is quick and professional. The security staff is friendly and welcoming no matter how many times you come and go...you are always greeted with a smile. The beach area is steps away from the pool and the sunset over the mountains in the evening looks like a postcard. Our grown daughters and granddaughter had fun on their excursions (horseback riding and a crocodile tour). Our most favorite place to eat was Los Amigos (the red curry is awesome). It was so good, we went two days in a row. We had a rental car so we were able to drive around the country side at our leisure. I highly recommend Diamante del Sol if you're looking for a place with ocean views, direct beach access, luxury, and mountain views all in one place. I hope to go again one day but the memory of our trip will always be in my heart.

The Buchanan Family

Room Tip: The best views of the pool, ocean, and mountains is from the tallest of the two buildings, the one w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lost in the Woods, MO
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

What more can I say. Nicest hotel I've ever stayed in. Epic view of the beach and the ocean. Amenities were amazing and the location was not central but right on the edge of everything. But fellas, let me be honest. The most beautiful and professional woman work the front desk at the Daystar. I think I spent more time asking them questions than I did exploring Costa Rica. They were all gems. Also, the hotel manager Lisle Head was a fair and generous man. Look this hotel up if you plan on staying in Jaco, you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Just talk to Lisle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A friend and I were originally suppose to stay at the Bahia Azul, but Expedia failed to notify the Daystar's front desk of our arrival date so we were given a complimentary upgrade to the Diamante del Sol. The receptionists were very welcoming, friendly, lived by their country's slogan, "Pura Vita", and the middlemen for various activities (ask them for suggestions). Upon entering the condo, we were immediately blown away by the well furnished, luxurious condo. It was a two bedroom 2 1/2 bath with both full baths connected to the bedrooms. We rented a vehicle and were able to park within the gated perimeter (security personnel present 24/7) free of charge so we did not have to worry about theft. If cleaning service is needed during your stay, their will be an additional charge for it. The beach is literally a rock throw away and the nearby restaurants/bars/clubs are all within a ten minute walk. Overall, I wouldn't have asked for another place.

Room Tip: Choose one of the condos on the upper floors (total of 10) with a view of the ocean. Incredible view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The condo was very nice. All tile, nicely furnished, and had all the things we're used to. The best thing about this place is its location. You can step out from the property onto the beach. It is gated with security personnel there 24/7. Even access from the beach is tightly controlled. Pool was good, beautiful landscaping. The large balcony was a plus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I had a fantastic trip to Costa Rica and to be able to sit on my deck overlooking the Pacific Ocean as the surfers are out trying to catch a wave was amazing!

A fantastic unit I stay in. As a owner of multiple timeshares in the U.S. (via Starwood and Marriott), I would rate Diamante Del Sol equal, if not better that most of the places I have stayed!

Thanks for a great relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daystar Diamante del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daystar Diamante del Sol

Also Known As:
Daystar Diamante Del Sol Hotel
Daystar Diamante Del Sol Hotel Jaco
Daystar Diamante Del Sol Costa Rica/Jaco
Address: Jaco centro el frente Plaza Coral, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Oceans Diamante del Sol)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 47 Specialty lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daystar Diamante del Sol 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Diamante del Sol, it may be hard to decide where to start your perfect day... breakfast in bed followed by a walk on the beach, a massage and a book at your pool side cabana. The choices don't stop there... complete your day with an invigorating Canopy Tour or tranquil mountain horseback ride, savor fine foods and shops in town or watch from your balcony the sun set in shades of red and orange over the Pacific and make your plans for the next day in paradise.Whatever your desire, our Costa Rican hospitality and exquisite amenities await you. Enjoy the endless possibilities of another perfect day at Diamante del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Daystar Diamante del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daystar Diamante del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.