We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daystar Diamante del Sol

Save Saved
You added Daystar Diamante del Sol to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Daystar Diamante del Sol
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Jaco centro el frente Plaza Coral, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Oceans Diamante del Sol)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 48 Specialty lodging in Jaco
alberta
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Just returned from a week at beautiful Jaco Beach and staying at the Daystar Diamante. The property was fantastic and exceeded our expectations. A couple of things really stood out for us about it. Firstly, the location was exceptional. It is located right in the middle of town so you have quick and easy access to all of the various restaurants and nightlife, this was so convenient. Secondly, had to be the service from the staff at the condo. Everyone from the cleaning staff to the front desk went out of their way to make sure we had an awesome time. Among the most notable was the actual Manager named Lisle, who gave us tons of helpful advice and went well above and beyond to help us with some pretty cool daytrips and excursions, which proved to make this one of the most interesting adventures we have ever been on. We would definitely recommend these condos to everyone, as it was key to us having such a great vacation.

Room Tip: I liked the higher rooms, the view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Diamante del Sol, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Hi Rob. I so glad you had a good time. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    13
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Our stay with you was the best experience I have had in the 16 years I've been coming to Costa Rica. Our rooms were very clean and beautifully decorated. The beds were very comfortable and the bathrooms were spotless. The staff was professional and very attentive to our needs. Sharing a bottle of wine on the beach by the edge ocean under starlit skies is a memory that dreams are made of.

I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Diamante del Sol, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

You can book these through several sources: Daystar themselves, VRBO, or through Best In Jaco. Management was accommodating when we had problems. We stayed in 2 bedroom 3 bath unit, 402N. You must clean up well after cooking. Ants will appear regardless. Not the fault of management, it is the nature of the area. Spray the countertops and oven area with Windex to discourage the extra guests. Take them up on the offer to grocery shop in advance. You won't regret it! You'll need to run AC continuously to keep musty smell down, again it is the price you pay for staying in an extremely humid area! Washer and dryer was an unexpected plus. Management was very helpful with booking transportation and Jaco area events and excursions. Restaurants and nightlife only a short walk away. Read up on Jaco area in Trip Advisor for good advice on restaurants and activities. Unit is accurately shown in pictures, but could benefit from minor maintenance (paint job). Electronic safe available to secure valuables. Wifi worked well. Security so-so. Beach is not private as description may imply. Next to muddy river, so be ready to see surf turn brown after a heavy rain. Based on what other properties we saw, this appeared to be the nicest in the Jaco downtown area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Great experience at this beautiful resort. The management went above and beyond. Lisle was more than accomodating while setting up all our daily activities, restaurant reservations and nightlife experiences.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Diamante del Sol, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
It was great having you guys here and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

My friends and I went to Jaco for a 5 night stay and the hotel was amazing. 4 bedroom and 4.5 baths with 3 balconies with amazing ocean front views, you can not ask for more! Property manager goes beyond normal job to take care of his guests to make sure we get the best experience possible. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great service and beautiful property. Also get this at afforable prices. They set up all of our tours, reservations at restaurants and clubs. Amenities are great and location could not be better for all the fun things in Jaco. A++++++ I will be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

My family of 4 vacationed here for 2 very expensive nights. We paid $305/night inclusive of tax for a 2-Bedroom, 2 1/2 Bath very modern unit on the 1st floor. Upon our arrival the patio furniture was in the living room and the sliding glass doors had so much condensation from the A/C and humidity that you could not see the ocean.

PROS: The facilities were very modern which was nice and everything worked. The location is great because it is within walking distance from the grocery store, tons of restaurants and excursion kiosks. The beach is right in your backyard but it's not exactly a pretty beach. If you like to surf, they rent boards right on the beach.

CONS: Although we were there for only 3 days we did not see any housekeeping around the property during our stay. You can smell the trash or sewer right outside your door. Guest services are not very knowledgeable about different excursions that they offered. For example, we had several time descriptions when we inquired about rafting. The worst part was we didn't know exactly what our timing was until we were on the road for the excursion and by that time we really had no choice.

Despite the cons I would still recommend this property for families/large parties who want modern facilities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Diamante del Sol, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Our pricing is in line with similar properties in this area and we feel that we offer good value given our central location and facilities.

Clearly we were not performing to our usual standards that day and I have reviewed your comments in detail with our housekeeping and reservations managers. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet all of your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Daystar Diamante del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daystar Diamante del Sol

Address: Jaco centro el frente Plaza Coral, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Oceans Diamante del Sol)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 48 Specialty lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daystar Diamante del Sol 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Diamante del Sol, it may be hard to decide where to start your perfect day... breakfast in bed followed by a walk on the beach, a massage and a book at your pool side cabana. The choices don't stop there... complete your day with an invigorating Canopy Tour or tranquil mountain horseback ride, savor fine foods and shops in town or watch from your balcony the sun set in shades of red and orange over the Pacific and make your plans for the next day in paradise.Whatever your desire, our Costa Rican hospitality and exquisite amenities await you. Enjoy the endless possibilities of another perfect day at Diamante del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Daystar Diamante del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Diamante Del Sol Hotel Jaco
Daystar Diamante Del Sol Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daystar Diamante del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.