We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better values available” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Daystar Diamante del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Daystar Diamante del Sol to your Saves list
Daystar Diamante del Sol
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Jaco centro el frente Plaza Coral, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Oceans Diamante del Sol)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Garland, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“There are better values available”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

My wife and I and sister and her husband spent 7 nights at Diamante del Sol. We had a two bedroom, 2 1/2 bath unit which was a good size for the four of us. The common half bath came in handy. We paid in advance except for a $600 balance which we were prepared to pay in cash on arrival. When we checked in we were told there was over $1200 balance due, which caused us more than a little concern. It was quickly resolved and we paid the $600 balance. The condo was as we expected initially. Lots of granite, marble and stainless steel. Very nice. We soon learned that there was not enough seating in the living room for 3 people. There was a loveseat and one comfortable chair. We had to bring a chair in from the patio furniture for the fourth person. We were told housekeeping would come every other day but they only came once, on the second day. We had already run out of toilet paper so I asked the housekeeper to leave extra, which she said she did. We ran out of toilet tissue again a few days later and discovered she had left no extra toilet paper. When we tried to call for more, no one answered the phones at the front desk or security. So, we ended up making a trip out to find a place to buy toilet paper. I dont understand the deal about scrimping on toilet paper. You'd think for over $340 a night they could afford to stock a few spare rolls. One of the elevators stopped working on the second day and was not returned to service when we left 5 days later. There were numerous power outages which resulted in a tripped circuit breaker. The first time it happened there was no answer at the front desk so we ended up groping around in the dark until we found the faulty breaker for the bedrooms. The ice maker was sporatic and the last few days only dispensed crushed ice, which made it difficult for it to keep up with demand. We had a last-minute change in travel plans so were required to leave the condo in the morning before staff would be available to inventory the condo prior to our departure. The front desk made an appointment to inventory the condo at 4:00 P.M. the day before we left. So we hung around until 4:45, but no one showed up. We called the front desk and were advised there was no one available, "so just leave the keys in the room in the morning." A phone call before 4:00 would have been the courteous thing to do if they weren't going to show. We don't make it a habit of spending $350 a night for lodging but, if this is what $350 will buy, we'll go back to staying at Best Westerns. There is a very nice one a couple of blocks north of Diamante del Sol.

Room Tip: Whatever room you use ( we were in N-602) be very cautious with the floors. The A/C was on when we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Diamante del Sol, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
I’m sorry to hear of your unfortunate experience staying at Diamante del Sol. We really appreciate that you took the time to report this to us. We at DayStar rentals are in the process of upgrading our guest service department to more efficiently meet our client’s needs.

In regards to your comments about construction work on the building, we are fully aware it was an inconvenience to you as a rental guest. This temporary construction was a mandatory solution to an existing problem. The developer took full responsibility and immediately had workers on site to fix the issue. Unfortunately, the repair schedule was during your rental stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    14
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I was blown away by how new and well-appointed this condo was. Granite counter kitchen with all the appliances, electronics including wifi, first rate linens and towels...spotlessly maintained too. This unit (VRBO Listing #347271) had three balconies overlooking the palm trees and ocean surf beyond, three bedrooms (each with private bath), and a large living room/dining room.

The complex is private and secure, with a large pool on the beach and convenient parking. The staff was really friendly. We just walked to restaurants; everything is very close. There's a supermarket at the end of the street so you don't really need to drive.

This is about as good as it gets.

Room Tip: My unit in the north tower overlooking the water was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Spent a week at this condominium with friends. Beautiful location but a very very poor maintenance. Lights burned, paint dirty, the condo does not even have a decent entrance. Swimming pool with nice waterfalls... that don't work. At night, the buildings are supposed to be illuminated; most lights are burned. Gardens in terrible condition. Beach access unsafe, it is a small gate that does not prevent anyone of coming in.Fair cleanness of the rooms. Very good and nice condos in the inside. The outside maintenance spoils everything.

Room Tip: Upper floors better. South Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brickell, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Description Issues When Booking (Major Travel Site)
Advertised 1 king and 2 double beds, instead we had 1 king and 1 queen leaving one person on the couch.
Advertised as 2 Bedroom Penthouse, we were in the middle on 6th floor. The building had 10 floors, and we should have been on the tenth floor.
Advertised Housekeeping, we never received any and requested towels and were told to wash our own. We requested more toilet paper, and never got
more than 1 roll (there was three bathrooms!)

Hotel Room Issues
WIFI was broken nearly the whole time.
NO HOT WATER!!!! I called and complained three time's and ignored all my requests. They kept saying they have to ask the manager.
ELEVATORS not working! One elevator worked then another broke. At one point had to take the stairs up and down.
Flooded Shower, the shower flooded to the point all the towels need to suck up the water. The problem was we couldn't get new towels bc we had to wash our own.
Bad water pressure for toilets
Toilets clogged super easy
Fridge stopped working, had to manually fix it because nobody came.
Keys consistently stopped working. Got locked out and had to go to the office 2x to replace
Power went out twice
Security wouldn't let a local friend who lived there visit
Pipes were leaking in halls, exposed pipes everywhere
SO MANY PROBLEMS!!!

Room Tip: Choose Only Three Bedroom Penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Diamante del Sol, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
I’m sorry to hear of your unfortunate experience staying at Diamante del Sol. We really appreciate that you took the time to report this to us. We at DayStar rentals are in the process of upgrading our guest service department to more efficiently meet our client’s needs.

In regards to your comments about elevators not working on the building, we are fully aware it was an inconvenience to you as a rental guest. This temporary construction was a mandatory solution to an existing problem. The developer took full responsibility and immediately had workers on site to fix the issue. Unfortunately, the repair schedule was during your rental stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANADA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed in the South building for 10 nights in Feb 2012. The condo is large and well appointed with modern furnishings and accessories. We had a 3 bdrm with balconies off of the living room, dining room and each of the 3 bedrooms - WOW what a view! It was so peaceful to sit both in the morning and early evening and watch the surfers, the fishermen, the fishing boats leaving Los Suenos marina, people walking etc. The pools are large and well maintained. There is a Security Guard 24 X 7 at the pool area and also at the entrance to the parking area although we witnessed nothing to indicate that Security was a necessity. It is a short walk to the uptown area of Jaco where you will will plenty of good restaurants. We dined out 8 of 10 nights and did not have a bad meal - everything was delicious. I would recommend this location to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta suburbs
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This is a great place to stay in Jaco. We stayed in an enormous two-bedroom condo which had a stunningly gorgeous view of the ocean. The condo was very nicely furnished, and it had everything we needed, including wi-fi. It has a gated, guarded entrance as well as a gate & a very conscientious guard between the pool and the beach. The pool area is quite beautiful; a lot of attention was paid to the landscaping & rock features. Diamonte del Sol is centrally located as far as restaurants, banks, bars, and grocery stores.
The manager/owner of our unit lives in Jaco, and she was extremely attentive to our needs and also made some great suggestions about things to do (and to not do) in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I stayed at Diamante del Sol with my family and friends who were traveling to Jaco for a wedding. We rented three 3 bedroom condos and four 2 bedroom condos, for approximately one week. I've stayed in other condo/hotels in Jaco and had initially organized to stay at another condo, but then changed our group stay to Diamante after learning about this newly built condo. From the first email correspondence with the staff at Day Star (owners of Diamante del Sol) I knew we made a good choice! The staff were all very kind, informative, and flexible in organizing our group stay. Special thanks to Veronique (Reservations Manager) and Anna (Diamante receptionist) for being all the support I could have asked for! I actually kinda miss them :)

Diamante Del Sol is centrally located in Downtown Jaco (close to banks, grocery stores, souvenir shops, and restaurants) and sits right on the beach. I was very impressed with the modern and luxurious design and finishes of the spacious condos (it made it difficult to go back to my small apartment in New York City).

This hotel is definitely a good value for larger groups; especially able groups who prefer and/or don't mind taking care of themselves and exploring the town (as opposed to traditional hotels with restaurants on site and daily room service).

My experience at Diamante del Sol was awesome. I definitely recommend this condo/hotel and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daystar Diamante del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daystar Diamante del Sol

Address: Jaco centro el frente Plaza Coral, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Oceans Diamante del Sol)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daystar Diamante del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Diamante del Sol, it may be hard to decide where to start your perfect day... breakfast in bed followed by a walk on the beach, a massage and a book at your pool side cabana. The choices don't stop there... complete your day with an invigorating Canopy Tour or tranquil mountain horseback ride, savor fine foods and shops in town or watch from your balcony the sun set in shades of red and orange over the Pacific and make your plans for the next day in paradise.Whatever your desire, our Costa Rican hospitality and exquisite amenities await you. Enjoy the endless possibilities of another perfect day at Diamante del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo and Hotels.com so you can book your Daystar Diamante del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Diamante Del Sol Hotel Jaco
Daystar Diamante Del Sol Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daystar Diamante del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.