We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern luxury condo with fabulous views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daystar Diamante del Sol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Daystar Diamante del Sol to your Saves list
Daystar Diamante del Sol
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Jaco centro el frente Plaza Coral, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Oceans Diamante del Sol)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Modern luxury condo with fabulous views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I was blown away by how new and well-appointed this condo was. Granite counter kitchen with all the appliances, electronics including wifi, first rate linens and towels...spotlessly maintained too. This unit (VRBO Listing #347271) had three balconies overlooking the palm trees and ocean surf beyond, three bedrooms (each with private bath), and a large living room/dining room.

The complex is private and secure, with a large pool on the beach and convenient parking. The staff was really friendly. We just walked to restaurants; everything is very close. There's a supermarket at the end of the street so you don't really need to drive.

This is about as good as it gets.

Room Tip: My unit in the north tower overlooking the water was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    17
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
32
12
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Spent a week at this condominium with friends. Beautiful location but a very very poor maintenance. Lights burned, paint dirty, the condo does not even have a decent entrance. Swimming pool with nice waterfalls... that don't work. At night, the buildings are supposed to be illuminated; most lights are burned. Gardens in terrible condition. Beach access unsafe, it is a small gate that does not prevent anyone of coming in.Fair cleanness of the rooms. Very good and nice condos in the inside. The outside maintenance spoils everything.

Room Tip: Upper floors better. South Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brickell, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Description Issues When Booking (Major Travel Site)
Advertised 1 king and 2 double beds, instead we had 1 king and 1 queen leaving one person on the couch.
Advertised as 2 Bedroom Penthouse, we were in the middle on 6th floor. The building had 10 floors, and we should have been on the tenth floor.
Advertised Housekeeping, we never received any and requested towels and were told to wash our own. We requested more toilet paper, and never got
more than 1 roll (there was three bathrooms!)

Hotel Room Issues
WIFI was broken nearly the whole time.
NO HOT WATER!!!! I called and complained three time's and ignored all my requests. They kept saying they have to ask the manager.
ELEVATORS not working! One elevator worked then another broke. At one point had to take the stairs up and down.
Flooded Shower, the shower flooded to the point all the towels need to suck up the water. The problem was we couldn't get new towels bc we had to wash our own.
Bad water pressure for toilets
Toilets clogged super easy
Fridge stopped working, had to manually fix it because nobody came.
Keys consistently stopped working. Got locked out and had to go to the office 2x to replace
Power went out twice
Security wouldn't let a local friend who lived there visit
Pipes were leaking in halls, exposed pipes everywhere
SO MANY PROBLEMS!!!

Room Tip: Choose Only Three Bedroom Penthouse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaystarRentals, Manager at Daystar Diamante del Sol, responded to this review, April 5, 2012
I’m sorry to hear of your unfortunate experience staying at Diamante del Sol. We really appreciate that you took the time to report this to us. We at DayStar rentals are in the process of upgrading our guest service department to more efficiently meet our client’s needs.

In regards to your comments about elevators not working on the building, we are fully aware it was an inconvenience to you as a rental guest. This temporary construction was a mandatory solution to an existing problem. The developer took full responsibility and immediately had workers on site to fix the issue. Unfortunately, the repair schedule was during your rental stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANADA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed in the South building for 10 nights in Feb 2012. The condo is large and well appointed with modern furnishings and accessories. We had a 3 bdrm with balconies off of the living room, dining room and each of the 3 bedrooms - WOW what a view! It was so peaceful to sit both in the morning and early evening and watch the surfers, the fishermen, the fishing boats leaving Los Suenos marina, people walking etc. The pools are large and well maintained. There is a Security Guard 24 X 7 at the pool area and also at the entrance to the parking area although we witnessed nothing to indicate that Security was a necessity. It is a short walk to the uptown area of Jaco where you will will plenty of good restaurants. We dined out 8 of 10 nights and did not have a bad meal - everything was delicious. I would recommend this location to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta suburbs
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This is a great place to stay in Jaco. We stayed in an enormous two-bedroom condo which had a stunningly gorgeous view of the ocean. The condo was very nicely furnished, and it had everything we needed, including wi-fi. It has a gated, guarded entrance as well as a gate & a very conscientious guard between the pool and the beach. The pool area is quite beautiful; a lot of attention was paid to the landscaping & rock features. Diamonte del Sol is centrally located as far as restaurants, banks, bars, and grocery stores.
The manager/owner of our unit lives in Jaco, and she was extremely attentive to our needs and also made some great suggestions about things to do (and to not do) in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I stayed at Diamante del Sol with my family and friends who were traveling to Jaco for a wedding. We rented three 3 bedroom condos and four 2 bedroom condos, for approximately one week. I've stayed in other condo/hotels in Jaco and had initially organized to stay at another condo, but then changed our group stay to Diamante after learning about this newly built condo. From the first email correspondence with the staff at Day Star (owners of Diamante del Sol) I knew we made a good choice! The staff were all very kind, informative, and flexible in organizing our group stay. Special thanks to Veronique (Reservations Manager) and Anna (Diamante receptionist) for being all the support I could have asked for! I actually kinda miss them :)

Diamante Del Sol is centrally located in Downtown Jaco (close to banks, grocery stores, souvenir shops, and restaurants) and sits right on the beach. I was very impressed with the modern and luxurious design and finishes of the spacious condos (it made it difficult to go back to my small apartment in New York City).

This hotel is definitely a good value for larger groups; especially able groups who prefer and/or don't mind taking care of themselves and exploring the town (as opposed to traditional hotels with restaurants on site and daily room service).

My experience at Diamante del Sol was awesome. I definitely recommend this condo/hotel and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Diamonte del Sol is an upscale, high rise oceanfront condo conveniently located in Jaco. Accomodations are very nice. We felt this was a good value if you need more than one bedroom. The condo was well-appointed, although it smelled musty. The air conditioning worked most of the time, but not always.
Excellent pool. Beach is the worst in Jaco - rocky, not maintained, river runs in front of property. Staff is friendly and helpful, but only availabe from 8 to 5 (with some gaps when the office is closed for unknown reasons). Restaurants and grocery store nearby - we realy didn't a need a car. Ask about Graffiti restaurant, which is very close and excellent.
We would recommend, if you are not expecting first-class hotel type accomodations. If that's what you want, stay at the Marriott Los Suenos.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view. Big difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jaco
4.6 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#5 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 901 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
2.9 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#4 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Los Suenos Marriott Ocean & Golf Resort
0.1 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daystar Diamante del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daystar Diamante del Sol

Address: Jaco centro el frente Plaza Coral, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Oceans Diamante del Sol)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daystar Diamante del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Diamante del Sol, it may be hard to decide where to start your perfect day... breakfast in bed followed by a walk on the beach, a massage and a book at your pool side cabana. The choices don't stop there... complete your day with an invigorating Canopy Tour or tranquil mountain horseback ride, savor fine foods and shops in town or watch from your balcony the sun set in shades of red and orange over the Pacific and make your plans for the next day in paradise.Whatever your desire, our Costa Rican hospitality and exquisite amenities await you. Enjoy the endless possibilities of another perfect day at Diamante del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Daystar Diamante del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Diamante Del Sol Hotel Jaco
Daystar Diamante Del Sol Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daystar Diamante del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.