We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Daystar Diamante del Sol

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Daystar Diamante del Sol to your Saves list
Daystar Diamante del Sol
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Jaco centro el frente Plaza Coral, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Oceans Diamante del Sol)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
CANADA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Look no further”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We stayed in the South building for 10 nights in Feb 2012. The condo is large and well appointed with modern furnishings and accessories. We had a 3 bdrm with balconies off of the living room, dining room and each of the 3 bedrooms - WOW what a view! It was so peaceful to sit both in the morning and early evening and watch the surfers, the fishermen, the fishing boats leaving Los Suenos marina, people walking etc. The pools are large and well maintained. There is a Security Guard 24 X 7 at the pool area and also at the entrance to the parking area although we witnessed nothing to indicate that Security was a necessity. It is a short walk to the uptown area of Jaco where you will will plenty of good restaurants. We dined out 8 of 10 nights and did not have a bad meal - everything was delicious. I would recommend this location to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta suburbs
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

This is a great place to stay in Jaco. We stayed in an enormous two-bedroom condo which had a stunningly gorgeous view of the ocean. The condo was very nicely furnished, and it had everything we needed, including wi-fi. It has a gated, guarded entrance as well as a gate & a very conscientious guard between the pool and the beach. The pool area is quite beautiful; a lot of attention was paid to the landscaping & rock features. Diamonte del Sol is centrally located as far as restaurants, banks, bars, and grocery stores.
The manager/owner of our unit lives in Jaco, and she was extremely attentive to our needs and also made some great suggestions about things to do (and to not do) in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I stayed at Diamante del Sol with my family and friends who were traveling to Jaco for a wedding. We rented three 3 bedroom condos and four 2 bedroom condos, for approximately one week. I've stayed in other condo/hotels in Jaco and had initially organized to stay at another condo, but then changed our group stay to Diamante after learning about this newly built condo. From the first email correspondence with the staff at Day Star (owners of Diamante del Sol) I knew we made a good choice! The staff were all very kind, informative, and flexible in organizing our group stay. Special thanks to Veronique (Reservations Manager) and Anna (Diamante receptionist) for being all the support I could have asked for! I actually kinda miss them :)

Diamante Del Sol is centrally located in Downtown Jaco (close to banks, grocery stores, souvenir shops, and restaurants) and sits right on the beach. I was very impressed with the modern and luxurious design and finishes of the spacious condos (it made it difficult to go back to my small apartment in New York City).

This hotel is definitely a good value for larger groups; especially able groups who prefer and/or don't mind taking care of themselves and exploring the town (as opposed to traditional hotels with restaurants on site and daily room service).

My experience at Diamante del Sol was awesome. I definitely recommend this condo/hotel and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

Diamonte del Sol is an upscale, high rise oceanfront condo conveniently located in Jaco. Accomodations are very nice. We felt this was a good value if you need more than one bedroom. The condo was well-appointed, although it smelled musty. The air conditioning worked most of the time, but not always.
Excellent pool. Beach is the worst in Jaco - rocky, not maintained, river runs in front of property. Staff is friendly and helpful, but only availabe from 8 to 5 (with some gaps when the office is closed for unknown reasons). Restaurants and grocery store nearby - we realy didn't a need a car. Ask about Graffiti restaurant, which is very close and excellent.
We would recommend, if you are not expecting first-class hotel type accomodations. If that's what you want, stay at the Marriott Los Suenos.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better the view. Big difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We stayed in unit 2-7C for the first week in July. This project was still in the process of being completed and is one of the higher end properties in Jaco. We were able to walk to everything, but did not hear the noise of downtown. It is directly on the beach with a great pool. The onsight management is out of this world and I felt like they were more like extended family helping us enjoy our vacation to the fullest. This was our second trip to the area and we love it so much that we purchased a unit in this project before we left.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daystar Diamante del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daystar Diamante del Sol

Address: Jaco centro el frente Plaza Coral, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica (Formerly Oceans Diamante del Sol)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Daystar Diamante del Sol 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Diamante del Sol, it may be hard to decide where to start your perfect day... breakfast in bed followed by a walk on the beach, a massage and a book at your pool side cabana. The choices don't stop there... complete your day with an invigorating Canopy Tour or tranquil mountain horseback ride, savor fine foods and shops in town or watch from your balcony the sun set in shades of red and orange over the Pacific and make your plans for the next day in paradise.Whatever your desire, our Costa Rican hospitality and exquisite amenities await you. Enjoy the endless possibilities of another perfect day at Diamante del Sol. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Daystar Diamante del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daystar Diamante Del Sol Hotel Jaco
Daystar Diamante Del Sol Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daystar Diamante del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.