We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May 15th thru May 21,2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Amigos

Los Amigos
Jaco Center | frente POP's, Jaco 506, Costa Rica
516-2643-2961
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 93 restaurants in Jaco
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Fayetteville, Arkansas
2 reviews
“May 15th thru May 21,2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you want the best sports bar in Jaco, this is it!! I recommend it for food, drinks and lots of sports TV's........

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Manager at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you Amigo!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    108
    76
    26
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crestview, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ate here twice during our trip, food portions were huge and prices were reasonable. Our server the first night was Karla, very friendly, attentive, and provided very good service, she remembered us when we returned two nights later, which was nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Manager at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Thank you................good review from good times.........Karla is a great bartender!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“How do I contact CR Health Dept?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

First of all, the atmosphere was nice and the service was very good considering we came close to closing. BUT...6 of us ate here and 3 ended up with food poisoning! The culprit...chicken. I am in the process of trying to figure out who to contact so they can be made aware of it. The worst place to be on vacation and during your travels is sitting on a toilet:(
It had good recommendations by many, but my verdict: EAT AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!
Lesson learned don't order take out before closing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your review:

Food poisoning is a serious claim and most people often forget that it is very rarely the last thing they ate which caused the illness (the exception being seafood) but it could have been something they ate 1-3 days ago that is the source. Considering as stated that your group arrive at Los Amigos as we were closing (12am or 2:30am depending on which day you arrived) says that you had a long day behind you which most likely included breakfast, lunch, snacks and drinks along the way.....possibly your group enjoyed such activities as ATV tours, canopy tours, horse riding tours, surfing, the beach or just by the pool for the day? Organisms that cause food borne illnesses all have very similar symptoms yet very different incubation periods. Even if you are convinced that a food caused your illness, without evidence of which organism is responsible you cannot be sure nor can you be sure when and where you or your group came into contact with it....these types of bacterias can easily be found at all the above mentioned activities...even in your rental car which is used by many different people every day.

Los Amigos prides itself as one of Jaco's busiest restaurants which we believe is a direct result of our concept, service and food. All of our ingredients are purchased fresh daily and properly refrigerated as required. When there is inventory remaining from the prior day (vegetables, chicken, etc. etc) it is always properly rotated with the new products arriving that day so it is used first (standard for the industry). Without any doubts if you arrived at the end of our day then you food would have been prepared with the freshest ingredients purchased that very same day. Additionally all of our kitchen staff have current/updated food handling certifications (located on site) as required by law and the local health department.

Consumers have the right to complain if their experience in restaurants or on vacation were unacceptable. However, if people believe they have suffered from food poisoning, it is crucial that issues are investigated properly rather than allegations made public without justifiable evidence. Consumers should work with acknowledged experts and the appropriate authorities to detect genuine cases to ensure proper action is taken.

All of our contact options are located at the top of our TripAdvisor page. Consumers should always consider contacting the establishment first to discuss these types of issues. Please understand that while you may feel your correct in your judgement, if you are incorrect your actions will bring undeserved hardship upon the business, it's employees and the families of those employees.

Thank you,,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great as both a restaurant and night bar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was in Jaco this past March and Los Amigos was near by where we were staying at Buddha hostel. My wife and I would come in here all the time since it was nearby. It is an American owned bar, which started from 2 surfers who sold everything they had in America, came to Jaco and opened up this bar. It's an interesting story that you can read on their menus. When it comes to the food, it was great. If you are craving a buffalo sandwich or a fish sandwich this is a great place to come. It is a bar/restaurant, so its mainly bar food. They also have great shakes and smoothies. I ordered a strawberry smoothie that was incredible, and they were 2 for 1! Los Amigos was also great at night and one of the main spots my friends and I would come to enjoy some beers (Imperial, the local beer, is great) and watch a game. Overall it's a great restaurant, with a true bar feeling!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
....GREAT choice......the Buddha Hostel is a fun spot to stay and right down the street from us!!

Thanks for the amazing review.......we hope to see you in the future!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valrico, Florida
1 review
“Los Amigos great food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I stayed in Jaco for 4 days with 2 friends. We ate at Los amigos every night for dinner, the food and service were fabulous. Shirley one of the waitresses was extraordinary!! She was great in every aspect of service. Thank You for the great memories. Jeff Karp Tampa Florida 813 373-8443

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Manager at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Great review...............glad we could make your stay memorable!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Amigos also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Los Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Amigos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.