We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Tuna Steak & A/C Can't Be Beat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Amigos

Los Amigos
Jaco Center | frente POP's, Jaco 506, Costa Rica
516-2643-2961
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 101 Restaurants in Jaco
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent Tuna Steak & A/C Can't Be Beat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

When the weather gets hot in Jaco, there are few restaurants that offer indoor dining with A/C. Thankfully Los Amigos does. We came for the A/C and stayed for the great food. I tried the Tuna Steak...just seared and rare in the center. It was incredible. Everyone else seemed very happy with their meals as well. No complaints. We came back again during our 3 day visit and enjoyed the second meal as well. Great selection of food and drinks. High quality food and decent service. We will be back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
GoodnessCo,

Glad to hear you enjoyed our seared tuna.........all our fish is purchased daily and fresh off the fish trucks that pass thru Jaco after leaving the fishing docks in Punteranas each morning

we enjoyed reading your review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    93
    31
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaco, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gringo in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Being a "Gringo" and having lived in Jaco, Costa Rica for over a year, there are times I'm inundated with visitors from across the United States. I can always count on Los Amigos to take care of us. Whether its an "American" hamburger or wings while watching our favorite sporting event, or the Thai presentations, the food is prepared exactly as you would expect to pay in the high $$ restaurants in the US. Chasing a meal with your favorite beverages, ice cold beers, bar drinks, smoothies, but the natural made lemonade with honey is the best for me. Located in the heart of Jaco, better than any tourist attraction...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Kenneth B,


Thank you for your visit and your time!!



Gracias Amigo!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentonville, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“superfriendly deliciousness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

we stopped by here on our way back to san jose from manuel antonio.. and what a great stroke of luck we found this place. the wait staff was delicious and the food was super friendly. wait..

truly though, everything we got was fresh and very tasty, especially the thai curry. but even something as pedestrian as the quesadillas my kids got were great. oh, the lemonade itself is enough of a reason to go here! plus they have videos playing of all kinds of fun things, like motocross, national geographic... just a fun place to be.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
xxcxx-xxcxx,

We can not say thank you enough for your review........Pura Vida!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
1 review
“Best Restaurant in Jaco!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This is hands down the best restaurant in Jaco by far!!! The service is the best and the wait staff is unbelievable. Every time I go to jaco I get drawn like a magnet, not only because of the food and service. but because of the great music they have and great DJs!!! I definitely can not leave this BOLD comment out "BEST CHICKEN WINGS IN ALL OF COSTA RICA PERIOD"

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
armando506,

Thank you from the crew at Los Amigos..........Pura Vida!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Should be closer to "numero uno" in Jaco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Tonight I not only had a great steak at Los Amigos but also watched my favorite baseball team on the big screen. I have been living in Jaco for six months now & eat out every meal. This place has the most consistent food by far. Not the place for the big night out - that is Grafitis or Lemon Zest. But for the best burger (USDA) or the best Thai food in Jaco, this is it. The waitress, Paola, was superb & spoke good English like most of their staff. The manager Jonathan does a super job. Overall, the best for the money in this town. It makes no sense that this restaurant is not rated much higher.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
cler7,

Thanks for a great review and for taking your time to write it.......we agree with your opinion regarding Lemon Zest & Graffiti's....... 2 great restaurants that jaco has to offer

Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Amigos also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Los Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Amigos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.