We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great smoothies and good food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Los Amigos

Los Amigos
Jaco Center | frente POP's, Jaco 506, Costa Rica
516-2643-2961
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 100 Restaurants in Jaco
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great smoothies and good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Excellent and huge smoothies here. Had a shrimp wrap, came with rice'n beans (gallo pinto), didn't know if was going like but it was ok. My wife had a avocado + shrimp salad and was great. Nice atomosphere in downtown Jaco. The have outside nice setting with wooden tables and inside with AC which didn't bother to go in. Overall it was pretty good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
juancach,


Thank you for your review.........we hope to serve you and your friends again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    89
    30
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for Burgers and watching sports”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Went here twice during my stay. Great for watching sporting events. Can't say I was in Costa Rica for burgers, but they did have the best one in town. That being said, I don't think the staff could be more apathetic about customers. Didn't really bug me, but I can see how it will annoy others.

I did appreciate the selection of beer they had on tap.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
zjc2000,


Thank you for the review and your honest comment regarding our service.....we will be working on improving

Thank you again,

Chris Mandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“wicked good burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We wandered in on a hot afternoon for lunch. We had burgers and they were fantastic" Wicked Good" Friendly service giant ice teas! Really hit the spot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Lisa A,


Thank you for taking time away from your vacation to review Los Amigos!



Chris Mandel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We ate here once and it was good food, lots of choices on the menu. The Big --- Smoothies were Amazing! We would go back just for the smoothies.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
blacky71

Thank you for the review....glad you enjoyed our BIG A** SMOOTHIES!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Only if you're dying for an "American" experience away from home”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Jaco is a stiflingly hot place, and in February it's also very dusty. When we heard Los Amigos had AC, we were sold! Unfortunately that slight hint of cool air was the only bonus. The menus were in English, and the food was about as uninteresting as we'd get at home in NC. (In other words, it was basically just bar food.) This totally went against our "While in Costa Rica" motto, but we figured one taste of home wouldn't hurt. We'd had such good luck -- eating in excellent restaurants with excellent service and amazing food -- so a quick unplanned bite seemed like a chance worth taking.

It was a little early for lunch, only 11:15 AM, but the staff seemed preoccupied. Weird, because the place was almost empty. As well, our food took forever to come once we got a chance to order. When our very average meals finally did come out, one order was wrong. When we found our waitress 10 minutes later to tell her, she snatched it up and walked away. No information, no "sorry". Just *poof* and gone in a huff. When she came back 15 minutes later with the correct dish, the rest of us were finished, so our poor starving friend just took hers to go. We'd been there almost two hours, precious time while on vacation.

For what it's worth, we heard the taco place next door is excellent! As well, the Los Amigos bathrooms have interesting signage, so you should pop by for the fun photo op.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalINK, Owner at Los Amigos, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
dtamayob,

Thank you for your informative review........since we generally do not make excuses for our faults, all your points are noted and we will use them to better improve our services and products.


Thank you for your time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Los Amigos also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Los Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Amigos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.