We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jaco Taco

Jaco Taco
Pastor Diaz, Jaco, Costa Rica
506-2643-1313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 94 Restaurants in Jaco
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Lubbock, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We went on our last day in Jaco and it was one of the best meals. Their exchange rate for USD is fantastic and their special of the day (nachos) were good and large enough to share. We also had a few fruity drinks that were pretty darn good.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    51
    36
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockbridge, Georgia
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Maybe it was an 'off' night...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

To start with the good - it was clean and bright. My combo ceviche was fantastic and a generous serving. The not-so-good: Our friends never received their soup or salad even though they reminded the waitress (she said she had her hands full). And then a self-proclaimed recovering addict pitched us for donations (during dinner) stating that he had the restaurant's blessing to do so....I would give them another try - but probably only one!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“"Cold Beer & Warm Hearts"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I traveled too Jaco with my 2 sons for a 10 day getaway, I'm a morning person my sons not so much. I stumbled upon the Jaco Taco our first morning there and had a killer breakfast that was impossible to finish. The portions are over the top. During breakfast a local expat sat at the table next to me (Greg) and after some small talk a beer showed up at my table 9:00am what the hell then another expat (Bill) and Another (Brian) then the owner (Steve) and it was game on. As I watched them play dominos they were all more than happy to give me ideas for my sons and myself on the must do's while in town. The food at the Jaco Taco was top notch both in quality and portions, we ate there at least once a day and sometimes twice.
Steve and his wife are wonderful people who go out of their way for customers. He arranged a zip line tour for my sons and for 20.00 less then the tour shops per person.
By the time my sons and I had to leave we truly felt like friends and not just customers.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Honest Prices and Delicious Cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was one of my absolute favorites during our stay in Jaco! We ate here 3 times during our 7 day visit, and I was thoroughly pleased each time. $2 beers are great too....oh yeah, and this place is open 24/7!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pass it by!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Pure tourist grabber! Just pass it by and say that you saw it. Food was extremely mediocrely average!!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jaco Taco also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Jaco Taco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaco Taco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.