We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice sushi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tsunami Sushi

Tsunami Sushi
Av Pator Diaz between Calles Las Olas & Bohio | Second floor of the Galeone Mall, Jaco, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 94 Restaurants in Jaco
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice sushi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Overall we enjoyed our visit at Tsunami. One of the fried rolls tasted a bit wierd but the others were nice enough :) Our waitress was very friendly but unfortunately forgot our starters which was a bit dissapointing. Nothing spectacular but nothing wrong with it either... definitely a good choice if wanting a quick bite on Jacos main street... also nice they offer the rolls 50% off on certain days...good deal!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    53
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
1 review
“Half Price Weds & Fri”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Tsunami sushi for half price wednesday and friday- sushi was excellent, get there early because it gets busy!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte Harbor & the Gulf Islands, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great dinner, attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were greeted very nicely and given our choice of tables. We ordered a selection of cut rolls and all were very nicely prepared and delicious. We had numerous employees serving us and owner/manager came to make sure we were having a nice dinner. I didn't mind it at all but found it an interesting choice, the restaurant was playing house music. LOL, guess that's the Jaco vibe. It was a fun dinner enjoyed by all!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great fusion sushi, fresher than any in US, good prices, cool ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This fish has never been frozen, unlike the fish in almost all US sushi restaurants, which is typically flash frozen due to logistical reasons - caught and distributed on a scale where its impractical to get it to the consumer on the same day. Tsunami gets most of its fish from local fishing fleets through small local distributors, so it is super fresh. Reasonably priced, imaginatively prepared - i would eat here 5 times a week if I could afford it. On a budget? Shrimp tempura is a good deal. There are also a couple dishes that come with a mountain of fried rice and are cheap.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good choice for dinner in Jaco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

At the risk of sounding like a sushi snob let me say that the sushi here was pretty good. I've experienced better (and a whole lot worse). Probably the highlight was having marlin for the first time. Not exactly something you can readily get in the States. The restaurant is centrally located and the interior is nice and modern. I would likely go back if I find myself back in Jaco.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsunami Sushi also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tsunami Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tsunami Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.