We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fusion sushi, fresher than any in US, good prices, cool ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tsunami Sushi

Tsunami Sushi
Av Pator Diaz between Calles Las Olas & Bohio | Second floor of the Galeone Mall, Jaco, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 106 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Jaco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great fusion sushi, fresher than any in US, good prices, cool ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This fish has never been frozen, unlike the fish in almost all US sushi restaurants, which is typically flash frozen due to logistical reasons - caught and distributed on a scale where its impractical to get it to the consumer on the same day. Tsunami gets most of its fish from local fishing fleets through small local distributors, so it is super fresh. Reasonably priced, imaginatively prepared - i would eat here 5 times a week if I could afford it. On a budget? Shrimp tempura is a good deal. There are also a couple dishes that come with a mountain of fried rice and are cheap.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    66
    17
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good choice for dinner in Jaco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

At the risk of sounding like a sushi snob let me say that the sushi here was pretty good. I've experienced better (and a whole lot worse). Probably the highlight was having marlin for the first time. Not exactly something you can readily get in the States. The restaurant is centrally located and the interior is nice and modern. I would likely go back if I find myself back in Jaco.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Tastes Fresh - Nice Presentation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This place was a great deal on Friday - half off the sushi rolls. I think they have other deals during the week, too. Costa Rica prices seemed very high to us (same as USA), so this was right up our alley. Every role was very fresh and very well presented. The service at the bar was great, and the drinks had some kick. (We really liked the spicy edamame appetizer). The atmosphere was good (trendy club feel) and the music was good. The place filled up the later it got. The tables were full at 9pm-ish and more people were filing in - younger, stylish crowd.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A must try in Jaćo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Loved the sushi!! We sat at the bar and both male bartenders were wonderful.. Very friendly and knowledgable. A must try while you are in Jaco!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richboro, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Love this place. The sushi was amazing. I ordered a spicy tuna roll which was delicious. The fried calamari was cooked perfectly - definitely recommend this for an appetizer. The staff was super friendly. Highly recommend.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsunami Sushi also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tsunami Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tsunami Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.