We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tsunami Sushi

Tsunami Sushi
Av Pator Diaz between Calles Las Olas & Bohio | Second floor of the Galeone Mall, Jaco, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 107 Restaurants in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Creative!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I really enjoyed the sushi. The fish was fresh and the presentation creative. The first time I went there I made the mistake of taking advice from people I learned weren't really into sushi when they steered me toward rolls that were sweet and cooked (not my preference) . When I went back again and ordered what looked good on the menu - I loved it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    73
    18
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herradura, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
106 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Relaxed Sushi Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were craving sushi and after hearing a good rec from a local, decided to try here. We were seated right away, near the window. Ordered drinks and then miso soup and three sushi rolls to split. Lots of food, very filling. Service was quick and good, and the sushi and soup were average. Loved the ambiance, music played, and location of the restaurant. Would recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I eat out at a lot of sushi places and was disappointed with the Tsunami Sushi experience. I was hoping for more, but the service is very bad. Nobody stops and says anything when entering, drinks are slow and nobody seems to know or care that you are there. I'm pretty low maintenance too. The sushi is average. Place seems tired and living off there half off Wednesday deals.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutherford new jerser
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“sushi in jaco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

it was okay if you dont see an asian with a knife hard to impress or compare as we have so many great sushi places here. would not do sushi again here. would rather go to typical soda

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“I don't even like sushi, but this place was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Lots of half off deals depending on the night. I don't really like sushi, but the crunchy roll was really good and all of my friends liked this place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsunami Sushi also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tsunami Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tsunami Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.