We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tsunami Sushi

Tsunami Sushi
Av Pator Diaz between Calles Las Olas & Bohio | Second floor of the Galeone Mall, Jaco, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 95 Restaurants in Jaco
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Creative!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I really enjoyed the sushi. The fish was fresh and the presentation creative. The first time I went there I made the mistake of taking advice from people I learned weren't really into sushi when they steered me toward rolls that were sweet and cooked (not my preference) . When I went back again and ordered what looked good on the menu - I loved it!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    54
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herradura, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Relaxed Sushi Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were craving sushi and after hearing a good rec from a local, decided to try here. We were seated right away, near the window. Ordered drinks and then miso soup and three sushi rolls to split. Lots of food, very filling. Service was quick and good, and the sushi and soup were average. Loved the ambiance, music played, and location of the restaurant. Would recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Co
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I eat out at a lot of sushi places and was disappointed with the Tsunami Sushi experience. I was hoping for more, but the service is very bad. Nobody stops and says anything when entering, drinks are slow and nobody seems to know or care that you are there. I'm pretty low maintenance too. The sushi is average. Place seems tired and living off there half off Wednesday deals.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rutherford new jerser
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“sushi in jaco”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

it was okay if you dont see an asian with a knife hard to impress or compare as we have so many great sushi places here. would not do sushi again here. would rather go to typical soda

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“I don't even like sushi, but this place was good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Lots of half off deals depending on the night. I don't really like sushi, but the crunchy roll was really good and all of my friends liked this place.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tsunami Sushi also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Tsunami Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tsunami Sushi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.