We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite pizza place in jaco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pizza Shop

The Pizza Shop
Paseo Las Americas | #3 200 meter south of Subway, Jaco, Costa Rica
+506 2643 2643
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 93 restaurants in Jaco
Price range: $4 - $22
Cuisines: Pizza, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: New York Style Pizza in Jaco Beach Costa Rica. We offer whole pizzas, pizza by the slice, sandwiches, ice cold beer, and run weekly specials. We make our own dough and sauce in the shop from scratch, and use only the freshest and finest ingredients available. Great for a quick lunch, or sitting down with the family for dinner. Open late on Fridays and Saturdays. Check our Facebook page for weekly specials!
Basel, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“My favorite pizza place in jaco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The pizzas are the best in town, and the Italian Sub is just amazing. Good price and I enjoyed hanging out there, the people who work there are super friendly!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe S, Owner at The Pizza Shop, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
We appreciate the review, and are glad you enjoyed our food as much as hanging out at the shop. Hopefully we'll see you around this neck of the woods soon.
-The Pizza Shop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    59
    21
    2
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Some of the best pizza anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

New name,new owners-same great pizza. We ate there last year and it was great. We have been four times so far this visit and it has been excellent each time. Sauce is just right and I even eat the crust-something I don't usually do. You can even talk a little hockey with Joe if you start to miss it. Make it a stop at least once, you will be glad you did!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe S, Owner at The Pizza Shop, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Glad we were there to fill the pizza void for you folks while you were visiting. We'll be here making some great pizzas for your next trip down! Stay warm up there.
-The Pizza Shop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Julian's, Malta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really bad”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Worst pizza in town, and pizza in Costa Rica is bad to begin with. Plus it is fairly expensive (although they do have a half off night).

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe S, Owner at The Pizza Shop, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
We thank you for your time in writing a review. We are sorry that your experience did not live up to your expectations. As you are aware we are making pizza in a third world country. This makes some ingredients very cheap and others worth their weight in gold. We try to pass on as much savings to the customer as possible. Hopefully on your next trip through Costa Rica you will give us another opportunity to show you what great products we have.
-The Pizza Shop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great pizza! One of the owners was from Wisconsin and very down to earth and friendly :) I definitely give this restaurant a 10 - great pizza and cold beer!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe S, Owner at The Pizza Shop, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your experience at the shop during your visit. The best come from the midwest! See you next time.
-The Pizza Shop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“1 of 2 Great Pizza Places in Jaco Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Kevin and Joe run and own this place and they could not be cooler guys - great New York Style pizza and they have a great lunch combo

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe S, Owner at The Pizza Shop, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thanks for the kind words. We appreciate the review and hope to see you at the shop soon.
-The Pizza Shop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Pizza Shop also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to The Pizza Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pizza Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.