We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst ever !!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Palm Hotel

Save Saved
You added Blue Palm Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Palm Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 mts Este de la Pops Ice Cream Store, Jaco 75548, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Stavanger
1 review
“Worst ever !!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

This should not be called a hotel, rather a humid, dark, and stinking potato-cellar.
The rooms really smell unhealthy fungus and the aircondition sounds like an airplane taking off.
No fresh air!
Since management mean that all rooms are allright, the faults will probably not be fixed in the nearest future.........
We have been to Costa Rica two times, been there in total 7 weeks, travelled across the entire country and stayed at at least 15 different hotels, This is definitely the worst !!
My advise; keep off !!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluepalm99, Owner at Blue Palm Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Like your friend was told already and at the time, contact your booking agency, we do not give cash refunds when you pay by credit card!

1.) Costa Rica is a tropical location and very hot and humid, especially by the Ocean.
2.) Guests requested a different room but we were full and told them we would change them in a day or two to the second floor. Christmas and New Year’s period is peak season, booked solid months in advance. Jaco fills up on weekends and Holidays so please book in advance to not be disappointed for accommodation.
3.) We do not use chemicals as described, we have an electronic Ozonator ionizer to eliminate odors, smoke, and smells from the rooms, same type used to sterilize hospital surgical rooms. No chemicals.
4.) The guests were told to contact the booking agency about the situation; they refused to do so and demanded cash from us. They paid by credit card to the Agency and wanted us to give a cash refund, not possible sorry. All cancelations, refunds, and changes must be made though the Agency that made the booking.
5.) We have one of the cleanest Hotels around Jaco, well lit with good security, a nice pool, and an eight minute walk to beach side. Close enough to walk to the center of the action and far enough away not to be disturbed from it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    17
    12
    11
    9
See reviews for
6
23
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

worst hotel i have ever seen and ive stayed in some real dumps! this hotel is nothing like the pictures on the website and is nowhere even close to the beach... Dont be fooled by the pictures! we checked in, got to the room and checked back out immediately and we were still charged for one night. the room smelled bad, the matresses were almost non-existant, the bathrooms were disgusting, and the front desk staff made us bring our own towels and tv remotes down to the lobby before they would refund our money. we were booked for three nights and only were refunded for 2. avoid this hotel at all costs!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluepalm99, Manager at Blue Palm Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Please read our website for our cancelation policy, floor plans of the rooms with pictures, and a map indicating our location in the town of Jaco Beach. A reservation must be cancelled before the deadline as indicated on the website. We will charge for the room after that period.

We do not allow unregistered guests, escorts, or noise after 9:00 PM. All visitors must register at the front desk for the security of all Hotel guests. Any visitors after 9:00 PM will incur the additional person charge of $15 to the room during the visitor registration process. We discourage late night noise and visitors and strive for a peaceful stay for all Hotel guests.

If this Hotel policy does not suit your needs, please seek more suitable accommodation for your entertainment, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kopervik, Rogaland, Norway
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Been to a lot of hotels during my lifetime, this one is the worse ever. First time I change hotel without getting any form of compensation from the hotel. We just decided to forget this after one night and ordered a new hotel for the next five days.
REASON: We got two rooms on the ground floor without any natural ventilation. When we entered the room you could smell a very humid air with contents of fungus. We was in fact voried about how healthy it was to breed in this humid air. The owner offered a disinfection of the room but that made the air even worse, now also full of chemicals mixed with the fungus.When we decided to leave we asked the owner for some sort of compensation but that was not excepted at all. Good advice-->don't even consider to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluepalm99, Owner at Blue Palm Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Costa Rica is a tropical location and very hot and humid, especially by the Ocean.

Guests requested a different room but we were full and told them we would change them in a day or two to the second floor. Christmas and New Year’s period is peak season, booked solid months in advance. Jaco fills up on weekends and Holidays so please book in advance to not be disappointed for accommodation.

We do not use chemicals as described, we have an electronic Ozonator ionizer to eliminate odors, smoke, and smells from the rooms, same type used to sterilize hospital surgical rooms. No chemicals.

The guests were told to contact the booking agency about the situation; they refused to do so and demanded cash from us. They paid by credit card to the Agency and wanted us to give a cash refund, not possible sorry. All cancelations, refunds, and changes must be made though the Agency that made the booking.

We have one of the cleanest Hotels around Jaco, well lit with good security, a nice pool, and an eight minute walk to beach side. Close enough to walk to the center of the action and far enough away not to be disturbed from it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa tn 38451
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Checkin was easy. The hotel is located within a half a mile from the beach. There is a contruction site right next to the hotel they are working from 7:00 to 5:00 week-days I asked for a room on the other side of the hotel and got it. as I was the only guest for all but 2 of my 5 night stay. I was handed one towel and 2 keys one for the door and one for the in room safe. It was quiet for me but the security light came in the window above the door and filled the room every night. The hot water was a switch on the shower head the air conditioner made a loud roar when i checked it I found the window was loose and was making the noise packed some toliet paper in the edge and was much more quiet as I was coming back to the hotel the second night I was asked to pay again. I explainded that I had prepaid with Expedia that the night of checkin they found it, but now had lost the Expedia conformation so I emailed them another copy the third night they asked me for a 20 dollar deposit. There was a sign outside offering the same room I had for 29 dollars, 10 dollars less than I paid at Expedia. Not once in the five days did the room get cleaned. All in all not bad for the price in Jaco they did give me back the 20 when I checked out.

Room Tip: good place to eat about a block on the left Soda Garbado I think coffee 60 cents or 300 colones
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Blue Palm Hotel is located perfectly to anyone traveling with a car, it has AC, TV nice reception and a pool.
No one to bug to but no need either, see wild Jaco a day or night and sleep at a safe close by place...

Room Tip: there are 2 types of rooms, take the bigger one for a large group or the smaller one for 2-3 people
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

First room wasnt good : it smelt bad, it was noisy, just in front of some building work, and room wasnt clean enough for what we spent (80usd/night).
Recepcionist, Elvys, had been really kind and helpful and get us another room on day after.

Second room was bigger than first one and celing fan was quite better than a/c machine from first night (such noisy!!). Cleaner and clearer room, thats why we stayed : if we didnt get offered another room, we would have leave the hotel.

The hotel does not have restaurant and i didnt taste the pool.

It is 400 meters far from Jacó main street but need to take your car or taxi : i dont know how are other hotels in town, but i guess it's quite much expensive than other places in CR.

On my opinion, if you can shift Jacó as a place to stay, do it (crowdy and sick touristic city on west CR coast) : pick up some room in Playa Hermosa (5 minutes far from Jaco by car), which is far more worth of it!!

I wont recommend this hotel, but i wont recommend Jacó neither.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Ontario
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

My wife and I are adventure travellers so we really don't care to much where we stay as long as we are well rested for the next day to enjoy our outdoor activities. We booked here thinking it could not be all that bad but really we should have looked elsewhere.

Upon checkin the front desk attendent was more interested in Facebook then us; fine, not a big deal. Upon entering the room we were hit with a bleach smell so strong I had to step back outside. We were then woken at by other people staying there having what sounded like a concert at 1,2,3, and 4; finally we just got up and left. We were suppose to stay two nights but left after one.

The one plus was we contacted the owner who gave us a full refund. A great hotel if you have no intention of sleeping though!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Palm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Palm Hotel

Address: 350 mts Este de la Pops Ice Cream Store, Jaco 75548, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Palm Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Palms Hotel offers comfortable lodging at a reasonable price. New and fully equipped rooms. Clean, safe and friendly. All of our rooms are equipped with cable TV, a/c, private bathroom with hot water, comfortable beds, telephone, mini fridge and safe box. The hotel has a private pool on the back, security guard, parking, Wi-Fi for free, laundry service, tour desk at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Blue Palm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Palm Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Palm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.