We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Palm Hotel

Save Saved
You added Blue Palm Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Blue Palm Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   350 mts Este de la Pops Ice Cream Store, Jaco 75548, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Value, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

If you are expecting an American beachy hotel you can forget it. This is Costa Rica and although the rooms are small, it was very safe and comfortable. We enjoyed our stay very much. The pool was the cleanest pool around and the grocery store is a five minute walk. Don't expect huge rooms with HDTVs. This is South America, not Florida.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    17
    12
    11
    10
See reviews for
6
23
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montréal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights in March 2012. The place was OK. The area looks a little odd but good overall location not too far from the main street/beach (a few minutes walk). The room was OK but air conditioner was very noisy. Bedding was also very old school. This place is certainly innovative when it comes to energy saving but there are some drawbacks: Rusty old mini-fridge is provided but because there is a motion detector in the room, electricity will shut down after a few minutes out of the room... This may be anoying as there is no bar at the hotel and no restaurant either. There is a nice & clean pool and deck area. The motel manager was very informative. Definitely not a luxury hotel but alright for a budget traveller with low expectations... like me!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night after the Super Bowl. Very clean and efficient. Not recommended for a Honeymoon but a great new and modern place for travelers on a budget.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

This motel is in a depressed area. The beds are uncomfortable, just mattress in wood box frame. Room service only upon request. Noisy air conditioner and much street noise.Deposit needed for towels. Innovative in energy conservation. Clean pool and deck area. Friendly and informative motel manager.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

Very noisy aircon
Rusty old fridge
Bedding looked new but was so cheap I woke up with burns on my skin - like cardboard!
No breakfast
Manky old curtains with holes
Sign in bathroom saying don't put toilet roll in toilet - yuk!
In keeping with Jaco, which is well worth avoiding IMO.

Room Tip: Go to another town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluepalm99, Manager at Blue Palm Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
It is not our fault the guests were not happy with Jaco at all.

One must always keep in mind that this is Central America and it is still a developing country. If you are expecting North American standards you will be greatly disappointed. Some people dislike Jaco like this guest others move here….

There are no sewage treatment facilities in Costa Rica, anywhere. It is standard to put toilet paper in the provided waste basket in Costa Rica. Paper clogs the biological waste septic systems. This is why the signs are posted here and everywhere else in Costa Rica. Our rooms are clean, have good linen, and are in good condition. No holes in the curtains as indicated. As older equipment breaks down it is replaced with new. We are near the Sea and salt air corrodes metal prematurely in this type of environment.

If you want North American standards you will have to visit North America or developed parts of Europe.

If you want lots of Beaches, Sun, and Nature, the simple life, real simple, this is for you.

Please do not expect North American standards in Costa Rica.

Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

First of all I got this hotel for a value of 150 dollars a night but the actual price online was a lot lower. This went for a 3 star hotel while I could hardly call this a 1.5 star. The quality of this place is no shy of being a higher end hostel. The rooms were exteremely dark and small. Bedding was questionable with stained sheets and covers. The shower lacked hot water and the noice level coming from around was unbearable at night. Traffic, neighbors, children just to name a few of the sources of the noice.
The owner was helpful but was not enthusiastic about anything. Some of the professional photos are not true to reality.

One plus is the manager who was extremely friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: Rent an aparthotel that gives you a more cleanly space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluepalm99, Owner at Blue Palm Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2012
This fellow claims $150 night value???? Our rates are $49 to $69 depending on the month and we even have lower mid week lower rates. Totally false information. If he paid $150 it was sure not to us!

All our rooms have flat white ceilings, light beige walls and floor tiles. He says the rooms are dark???? Did this guy even stay here??? These are standard Hotel rooms not suites, except for upstairs double the size. Information again not verified what so ever. Our website has all the photos of the rooms and what you will get, even plan drawings of the room layout. Check it out yourself.

Stained bedding? I don't think so, they use enough bleach here to take the black out of soot! I should know, I buy 5 gallons every week! Same goes with the Hot water showers there is hot water in all the rooms.

Noise of children, people, and automobiles???? I have never stayed in a Hotel that did not have people in it or cars driving by! I guess in the jungle by Golfito there are walk in by trail accommodations, but the Jungle is very loud with birds, monkeys, etc, in Costa Rica. Expect to hear flocks of Macaws, Parrots, even Howler Monkeys here in the morning. The occasional earthquake tremor will wake you up as well, if you are lucky enough to feel one.

This is not a five star Hotel; Stars are based on amenities available and provided, nothing else. We do not portray to be what we are not. We provide clean, comfortable, affordable accommodation with some extra amenities. If you want a $150 per night beachfront condo, we have them available, but not for $60!

Totally fraudulent unsubstantiated information is on this review site. All the reviews on this site are totally unverified or validated good and bad. The reviewers are not even validated of staying at this Hotel or any other one by any owner for that matter. Take everything here with a grain of salt.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We book a night a blue palm hotel and that was enough. The room are very small, may be there is bigger room but the one we had was tinny. Also, there is a pool but the sidewalk around it it not large enough.

As other say all electricity on the room is tied to a motion sensor so after 10 min all power goes down including the AC.

The review of "Adam C"(You get what you pay for...) is all true.

Be careful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluepalm99, Owner at Blue Palm Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Please do not expect anything like North American Standards here in Costa Rica, you will be greatly disappointed.

The sizes of the rooms are visible on the website in detail. We also manage and rent condominiums here in Jaco. Beachfront included. If you want something larger or situated on the beach we can accommodate that, not for the same price of course.

We offer a good value for Jaco with telephone service, AC, Cable TV, WiFi, safe, Hot Showers, a nice pool, and walking distance to the center of Jaco at a reasonable price.

Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Palm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Palm Hotel

Address: 350 mts Este de la Pops Ice Cream Store, Jaco 75548, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Palm Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Palms Hotel offers comfortable lodging at a reasonable price. New and fully equipped rooms. Clean, safe and friendly. All of our rooms are equipped with cable TV, a/c, private bathroom with hot water, comfortable beds, telephone, mini fridge and safe box. The hotel has a private pool on the back, security guard, parking, Wi-Fi for free, laundry service, tour desk at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Blue Palm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Palm Hotel Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Palm Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.