We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to explore Jaco from!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Harlingen, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
371 helpful votes 371 helpful votes
“Good place to explore Jaco from!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Morgans Cove could be the class of Jaco with some up dating and new mattresses. Large rooms, nice pools, good bars, nice casino, good restaurant and a beach. All of the ingredients are there it just needs some updates and especially new bedding. Great value for the dollar!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    117
    83
    36
    25
See reviews for
55
119
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Hollywood, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My new bride and I stayed in Jaco, Morgan’s Cove & Resort for our honeymoon and absolutely loved it! It wasn't crowded whatsoever. The breakfast was delicious, homemade sausage, smoke bacon,smoke ham and the blended cocktails were made with real fruit! For our honeymoon they set us up a table right on the beach to enjoy the sunset which was unbelievable, gave us a special menu, flowers on the table , the food was out this world. The staff was really friendly and accommodated all our need. Front staff book all our tours for us, came right to hotel. Most of the staff did speak a little English and help you with Spanish you can communicate pretty easily. Jose Rivera the manager is Costa Rican and was always around during the day and gave us restaurant recommendations, upgraded our room, and helped us with our Spanish. He was exceptionally friendly and helpful. We didn't have international calling plans for our cell phones and the hotel had wifi .So we could let our family know we arrived safely .We really enjoyed talking to Marco, the bartender at the hotel restaurant bar. He was very friendly and spoke the best English out of all the Costa Rican staff. he also took 30 minutes out of shift to take some honeymoon photos for us! The bar didn't open at 11:00 but they severed us anyway, so nice to us. The room was cleaned everyday, We rented surf boards from the hotel for $20 a day, and whenever we asked anyone to call us a cab it picked us up within 5 minutes. Overall we both loved the quiet atmosphere with beach on one side, rainforest on the other, and a $2.00 taxi ride to anywhere in town. Many of the other hotels we saw looked dumpy and rundown. We would definitely like to return to Jaco and wouldn't hesitate to stay at Morgan’s Cove again! Love you guys

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Morgan's Cove Resort last week and we were very impressed with the staff and our poolside room. The owner was at the restaurant and was very hands on with the staff. He was aware of some negative reviews on trip advisor and was working very hard to get the meals and drinks perfect. Every meal we ate was excellent , the fish ceviche was unbelievable with home made plantain chips. The grounds are well kept and the pools are very clean. Every evening we watched the sun go down from the bar and couldn't believe the red sky's. Our room was very spacious and clean and when ever we needed extra items the staff was there to help. I would recommend this hotel to anyone its perfectly placed for all local tours and only 1 hour away to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

So we wanted to get away for the weekend, and came up to this hotel, it was close to the beach, it was close to downtown, a couple of pools and a restaurant bar casino on property. All seems good right? Well, as it turned out, the casino is unofficially known as Hard Rock Casino, but nothing to do with the Hard Rock Brand, then, the bar is pretty basic, we ordered a few drinks but they did not have the ingredients, so we ended up changing our drinks a few times, but what really made the bar stand out, and not in a positive way, was the fact that the server/bartender/host, charged us whatever he wanted basically, and did not provide us with receipts, it was until we asked for them that he started to fumble and come up with receipts that had our drinks, and the prices didnt quite match, it was then that we could tell that there was something up when the place. The restaurant is ok, food ok, service ok, view ok, it seems nothing really made it stand out, except for the fact that they do accept pets, which is fine, but they seem to be feeding stray dogs just outside the restaurant, so it is not so nice to sit and eat while the server dumps food on the ground for a stray dog.

So if you go, be aware that the rooms are small, the air conditioning kind of Works and that the rooms and bathrooms are poorly lit, probably to hide their true state. Other than that I must say that they did do a good job taking care of the pools.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you book it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at several hotels during our stay in Costa Rica August 24-31/2013 and loved all of them for different reasons. Morgans Coves was our favorite and we wish we had spent more time there before leaving. Although the hotel is not the Ritz Carlton, it is a slice of authentic Costa Rican hospitality, charm and authenticity. The rooms were of modest décor, clean, with hot showers, comfortable beds, great air conditioning, and the rooms were twice the size of any of the hotels we had stayed. We stayed there on a Groupon all-inclusive certificate which included meals and alcohol. The menu and food was excellent,( a little something for everyones taste) the menu was alacarte for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a good selection of choices and all of the food we ordered was excellent, all of the service from the restaurant and bar was outstanding, all of the servers were helpful and friendly, spoke English and Spanish, and went out of their way to satisfy your needs.
the hotel is beachfront and the dining area overlooks the ocean, for oceanfront dining and is a great place to catch a beautiful sunset in the sleepy little surf town of Jaco. The hotel is located at the end of the shopping area which can be walked to within 10 min from the beach or surface streets. The hotel offers several amenities to include several pools, a small casino, wifi, cable tv in both Spanish and English, as well as excursions for surf lessons, horseback riding, sport fishing, boat trips to Tortuga island for snorkeling, white water rafting, ziplining, crocodile excursions to Tarcoles, as well as trips to Manuel Antonio National Park. We decided to drive a rental car from the airport in Alejuela to Jaco. Driving a car in Costa Rica is an excursion on its own, we would recommend driving only if you are an adventurous type of person, be advised Costa Rican roads are not clearly marked by road signs as Costa Ricans drive by landmarks (although the tourist highway route 27 to the beach and 34 along the beach do have good signage, be advised there are 3 toll stops along the tourist highway and you will pay a couple of bucks when you pass these stops and US currency is taken as well as colons) However driving in the towns can be challenging as there are no street signs and many one way streets, some single lane bridges. We drove to Manuel Antonio National Park which we highly recommend you visit while in Jaco it is about 1 hour an 5-10min away from Jaco. The park is full of wildlife and numerous plant species and has picturesque views of the white sand beach and jungle. it costs $10.00 US to enter the park per person and parking is around $6.00, if you decide to go we would you hire a guide from the park ( only) as these guides are young English speaking naturilists students and rangers with new equipment (telescopes for spotting wildlife and taking pictures) they have excellent knowledge of the park and its wildlife and will point out the multitude of reptiles, mammals ie monkeys and sloths and geologic history of Costa Rica. Money collected by the park is used to maintain and preserve the park for future generations.
Regarding the town of Jaco, we were in the town during the day as well as the early evening, shopping all over to include the market and never felt threatened or unsafe, most of the local merchants and people of the town were very friendly and helpful. We would highly recommend Morgan Cove and Jaco to anyone who loves the beach and would like a great place to relax and unwind, party if you like, with something to offer for all ages.

Room Tip: The hotel is constantly working to renovate and improve the hotel so most rooms are all good, would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I purchased this Groupon for my girlfriend's birthday with pretty standard expectations (especially after looking at the beautiful pictures and reading a few reviews). Little did I know, when I arrived at this hotel I was in for a surprise. The rooms were very much like the photos, so those didn't disappoint. I just felt that the rest was rather exaggerated. The buildings were very rundown, our back door let to some weird open concrete space and from there all sorts of loud carpentry and construction work could be heard. The first night we didn't fall asleep till late because it was so loud and obnoxious. Though that is not even the worst of it. Approaching the woman at the front desk, my girlfriend requested a single bedroom as opposed to the double (which I accidentally booked, much to her dismay). The woman smiled and said, "of course! I will let you know by tomorrow. We are so very booked this week." My girlfriend seemed to take this okay so we proceeded to the room. After that we had a look around. The beach was not at all like we had seen in pictures. It was grimy and unkempt (I was a little weary to walk around there was so much debris). That was a major disappointment--being STEPS away from the beach was a main attractive point for booking this hotel. Already, our visit to the hotel slowly put a damper on the trip as we realized this was where we would be spending much of our time. After an OKAY meal my girlfriend just wanted to go to bed. There was a grand surprise waiting there as well: sand in the sheets as well as hair that wasn't ours. Clearly the sheets hadn't been cleaned at all. We were pretty peeved at this point. I mean, I understand the gorgeous pictures for the purpose of selling the hotel, that's fine, it happens pretty much everywhere. But having dirty beds? I had to convince my girlfriend it would be fine to stay here one night. The lady at the front desk was going to get us a different room anyways. The dirty sheets are unacceptable, however. Needless to say, the woman at the front desk never followed up with the room check. We originally planned to spend a large amount of our time enjoying local Jaco and the hotel (being all-inclusive and that) but we were forced to rent a car to escape from the hotel. This hotel experience put such a damper on our trip that we went so far as to book another hotel for our last night stay. So not only did we stay for only 3 nights, we slept in dirty beds (they did not clean it the first day so we stripped the bed ourselves before we left one morning so that they would get the hint), ate not so great food (they gave my girlfriend salad topped with a "dressing" that was straight up ketchup mixed with water), were kept up late but construction work, and were let down by several service issues. Almost every person we saw at the bar some nights (everywhere else was empty) looked miserable--except the owner who smoked a copious amount of tobacco in front of the large NO SMOKING sign. If I have one thing to say it is that I wish I would've left this hotel earlier.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Springs, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Just returned from 5 days at Morgans Cove Resort and Casino. Staff was outstanding and facility clean and classic Costa Rican style. All inclusive menu and drinks with plenty of selection,pools clean and ocean front inviting. Town safe during the day (didn't leave resort after dark-but didn't really need to)
Activities plentiful and front desk staff very helpful in arranging. Bar's were easily accessible and if you are lucky you can even have a drink with the resort owner!

Room Tip: Rooms closer to ocean side were conveniently located to all amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Address: 150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgan’s Cove Resort & Casino located Beach Front in the quaint surf town of Jaco, Costa Rica. This bustling seaside village has restaurants, clubs, bars, casinos, and gift shops making it the most popular destination in all of Costa Rica. Adventures within minutes from the Resort include Sport Fishing, Zip Line Tours through rain forest Canopy, ATV tours, Horse Back Riding, Surfing, Golfing, River Rafting and Hiking the most popular Parks of Costa Rica, Carrera and Manuel Antonio National Parks. Relaxing around the two pools or sun tanning on the warm sand of the Pacific Ocean are a favorite past time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan`s Cove Resort And Casino
Morgan`s Cove Hotel Jaco
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.