We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money at all” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Save Saved
You added Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Deal on Jaco Beach
Ranked #19 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Laurel, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not worth the money at all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Overall not a terrible place to be but I don't think it's worth the money. I had problems with the toilet not draining at 8pm and the desk told me that the maintenance staff were not there at night. We had an all inclusive package and the food wasn't that great. One night we splurged and paid a decent amount for a really great meal and ordered off the menue. HOwever, between the school group that took over one area of the dining area, and the bar that has a manager of some sort that yells at the staff and smoke cigars while you're trying to eat it's kinda hard to find a comfortable place to eat. The staff and the kitchen manager are all very friendly and helpful. The service is pretty slow though and either they don't have enough servers/bartenders or they're not well enough trained. There are times when the bar isn't manned at all.

The photos on the website oversell it a little. Thin sheets that you can see the mattress through, lack of chairs by the pool etc are features that definitely need upgrading. We had quite a few cockroaches in our room. Our room had AC but it only pointed down so it didn't cool the whole room very well.

Aside from all this, the hotel is kind of away from Jaco and all the activities there. You would need to have a car, take a cab or walk a distance (which could be nice - but not in the rainy season).

Overall, not too much good to say about this place. It is a safe gated community. The pool bar with limited supplies was nice, but had very limited hours. It is a pretty place and the grounds people do a really nice job.

Room Tip: Up to chance, we had a good room till very LOUD neighbors checked in our last night. The front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    91
    64
    26
    19
See reviews for
41
100
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed two nights, and took advantage of a 50% off deal. Clean, good a/c, and nice location right on the beach. The staff allowed us to hang out after checkout and held our bags to get one last surf session in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atenas, Alajuela, Costa Rica
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

First of all, there are two Morgan's Coves in Jaco, so this is about the Central one. The location is right in the center, which is great and the staff were very nice and helpful, but the rooms are small and need updating (our sliding glass door was off the track and it took two of us to lift and slide it shut and the bathroom door was covered in mold). The rooms are very small. But for one night, we didn't mind too much except the bar and restaurant are in an open-air rancho and there was very loud music and karaoke until late in the night (they might as well just given us hammocks as the rooms all surround this bar) and then cat fights at 4 in the morning, so we didn't get any sleep at all. If you want a party hotel, where you meet locals and don't really need to sleep, this could be okay, but if you actually want to sleep, forget it.

Room Tip: I know they had cabins/suites as well and they might be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Clean, comfortable hotel with a great pool and lovely location right on the beach. Restaurant overlooks the very scenic beach area and sunsets are spectacular in Jaco. Menu was limited but all meals were excellent and beautifully presented. Staff in the hotel were without exception courteous and helpful. The beach wedding I attended there and the reception that followed were absolutely outstanding. What a fairytale location for a beach wedding! The hotel is relatively close, about a 10-15 minute walk, to the main street of the town which has a good selection of restaurants and gift shops. The only thing I felt needed big improvement was that the bathroom in my room could use an update, sink and shower especially but there was hot water! Also if you have an early morning flight out from San Jose be sure and check well in advance if you will be able to arrange transportation there from Morgan's Cove in the middle of the night. I have wonderful memories of my time at Morgan's Cove and would definitely return there in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The staff is really friendly and helpful, especially Shannon, Mariana, Hector and Tatiana to name just a few...The resort is medium size so it's easy to get around, which was what I was looking for but remember that this beach is for surfers! It was nice to get around the town and so on to find restos and gifts shops. Enjoy the relaxing Pura Vida of Jaco Beach!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is not a fancy 4-5 star all inclusive with multiple restaraunts. only 1 resaurant but the food was fresh and good,something different each day with 2 Macaw's that often join us for breakfast.
The rooms are not fancy but clean and the grounds are kept very nice. One of the best beaches we have ever been to, great for walking. An easy walk into town, lots of local craft shops and good ice cream. My husband learned to surf while were there, the instructor was fantastic located on the edge property next to the beach. One of the best parts of the day was having a coctail on the beach as the sun set, the sunsets here are pure magic!! the only negative comment is that we had requested a King size bed as we are both tall when we got there we were told by the front desk they did not have any, but later seen that they did and at no point when one was available did they offer to move us. I think part of the problem was the langauge barrier. We would definately go back there, very relaxing!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had my wedding reception at Morgan's Cove on April 12, 2013. I am from the US and my husband is from Jaco, Costa Rica. There were about 35 people from the US that stayed there and we had about 85 people in total for the reception. It was wonderful!!! Shannon was SO helpful over the last several months. She always responded quickly when I emailed her and accommodated all of our requests. She promptly handled any issues. A couple folks requested room changes and they were promptly accommodated. The rooms are pretty spacious for that area (Jaco) and the air conditioner in our room worked better than any place I have stayed in in Jaco (I have stayed in at least three other hotels in that area). The food was very good and the staff was extremely friendly, especially the ladies at the front desk. The food for the reception was especially good (the squash soup was the best I have ever had). The tables had wonderful centerpieces and since it was VERY hot the manager brought out fans for us. The owner has even promised us a free stay on our one year anniversary (hope he remembers!). The pools are fabulous and you can't beat the closeness to the beach and town, especially at the price. All of my guests loved their stay and said they have never felt so relaxed.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are not facing the beach but they are close to the restaurant. I prefer the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Address: 150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgan’s Cove Resort & Casino located Beach Front in the quaint surf town of Jaco, Costa Rica. This bustling seaside village has restaurants, clubs, bars, casinos, and gift shops making it the most popular destination in all of Costa Rica. Adventures within minutes from the Resort include Sport Fishing, Zip Line Tours through rain forest Canopy, ATV tours, Horse Back Riding, Surfing, Golfing, River Rafting and Hiking the most popular Parks of Costa Rica, Carrera and Manuel Antonio National Parks. Relaxing around the two pools or sun tanning on the warm sand of the Pacific Ocean are a favorite past time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan`s Cove Resort And Casino
Morgan`s Cove Hotel Jaco
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.