We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed two nights, and took advantage of a 50% off deal. Clean, good a/c, and nice location right on the beach. The staff allowed us to hang out after checkout and held our bags to get one last surf session in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    123
    87
    36
    26
See reviews for
58
123
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atenas, Alajuela, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

First of all, there are two Morgan's Coves in Jaco, so this is about the Central one. The location is right in the center, which is great and the staff were very nice and helpful, but the rooms are small and need updating (our sliding glass door was off the track and it took two of us to lift and slide it shut and the bathroom door was covered in mold). The rooms are very small. But for one night, we didn't mind too much except the bar and restaurant are in an open-air rancho and there was very loud music and karaoke until late in the night (they might as well just given us hammocks as the rooms all surround this bar) and then cat fights at 4 in the morning, so we didn't get any sleep at all. If you want a party hotel, where you meet locals and don't really need to sleep, this could be okay, but if you actually want to sleep, forget it.

Room Tip: I know they had cabins/suites as well and they might be bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Clean, comfortable hotel with a great pool and lovely location right on the beach. Restaurant overlooks the very scenic beach area and sunsets are spectacular in Jaco. Menu was limited but all meals were excellent and beautifully presented. Staff in the hotel were without exception courteous and helpful. The beach wedding I attended there and the reception that followed were absolutely outstanding. What a fairytale location for a beach wedding! The hotel is relatively close, about a 10-15 minute walk, to the main street of the town which has a good selection of restaurants and gift shops. The only thing I felt needed big improvement was that the bathroom in my room could use an update, sink and shower especially but there was hot water! Also if you have an early morning flight out from San Jose be sure and check well in advance if you will be able to arrange transportation there from Morgan's Cove in the middle of the night. I have wonderful memories of my time at Morgan's Cove and would definitely return there in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The staff is really friendly and helpful, especially Shannon, Mariana, Hector and Tatiana to name just a few...The resort is medium size so it's easy to get around, which was what I was looking for but remember that this beach is for surfers! It was nice to get around the town and so on to find restos and gifts shops. Enjoy the relaxing Pura Vida of Jaco Beach!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is not a fancy 4-5 star all inclusive with multiple restaraunts. only 1 resaurant but the food was fresh and good,something different each day with 2 Macaw's that often join us for breakfast.
The rooms are not fancy but clean and the grounds are kept very nice. One of the best beaches we have ever been to, great for walking. An easy walk into town, lots of local craft shops and good ice cream. My husband learned to surf while were there, the instructor was fantastic located on the edge property next to the beach. One of the best parts of the day was having a coctail on the beach as the sun set, the sunsets here are pure magic!! the only negative comment is that we had requested a King size bed as we are both tall when we got there we were told by the front desk they did not have any, but later seen that they did and at no point when one was available did they offer to move us. I think part of the problem was the langauge barrier. We would definately go back there, very relaxing!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had my wedding reception at Morgan's Cove on April 12, 2013. I am from the US and my husband is from Jaco, Costa Rica. There were about 35 people from the US that stayed there and we had about 85 people in total for the reception. It was wonderful!!! Shannon was SO helpful over the last several months. She always responded quickly when I emailed her and accommodated all of our requests. She promptly handled any issues. A couple folks requested room changes and they were promptly accommodated. The rooms are pretty spacious for that area (Jaco) and the air conditioner in our room worked better than any place I have stayed in in Jaco (I have stayed in at least three other hotels in that area). The food was very good and the staff was extremely friendly, especially the ladies at the front desk. The food for the reception was especially good (the squash soup was the best I have ever had). The tables had wonderful centerpieces and since it was VERY hot the manager brought out fans for us. The owner has even promised us a free stay on our one year anniversary (hope he remembers!). The pools are fabulous and you can't beat the closeness to the beach and town, especially at the price. All of my guests loved their stay and said they have never felt so relaxed.

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are not facing the beach but they are close to the restaurant. I prefer the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We visited Jaco Beach in March and stayed at Morgan's Cove for one week. I'll start with the "bad," which really isn't all that bad in my books but is the reality of the place. If you're looking for all night clubbing, five star resort accommodations, or gourmet food, you're going to be sorely disappointed. But I personally think if you're looking for that in Costa Rica, you might as well be in any 5 star in the world.

The charm in Morgan's Cove is in the 30 second walk to the beach, or the short walk down the shore to town. I dislike giant resorts with highrise hotels, so the small property and quiet evenings were great for us. If you want nightlife, you can walk to town, but it's peaceful when you want peace and quiet. The food isn't fantastic, but you won't starve. The staff are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean, not glamorous. You're central to Jaco and an hour's drive to Manuel Antonio park, which is a must-do day trip. You can go ziplining, boating, fishing, snorkeling, hiking, biking... whatever you want is close by. There are beautiful birds singing when you wake up in the morning and a crocodile hangs out behind the main bar building in the river... it's real Costa Rica.

If you're super picky, you probably won't like Morgan's Cove. But if you want to actually experience Costa Rica and maybe be able to afford to do it more often, this place does the job just fine. We had a great time with the other guests, felt safe walking around even at night, and won't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: Get an oceanview room by the pools, closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.6 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
1.0 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico
0.7 mi away
Oceano Boutique Hotel & Gallery
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jaco Beach All Inclusive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Address: 150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgan’s Cove Resort & Casino located Beach Front in the quaint surf town of Jaco, Costa Rica. This bustling seaside village has restaurants, clubs, bars, casinos, and gift shops making it the most popular destination in all of Costa Rica. Adventures within minutes from the Resort include Sport Fishing, Zip Line Tours through rain forest Canopy, ATV tours, Horse Back Riding, Surfing, Golfing, River Rafting and Hiking the most popular Parks of Costa Rica, Carrera and Manuel Antonio National Parks. Relaxing around the two pools or sun tanning on the warm sand of the Pacific Ocean are a favorite past time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan`s Cove Hotel Jaco
Morgan`s Cove Resort And Casino
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.