We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place- You won't be disapointed!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Place- You won't be disapointed!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My brother and I booked this trip last minute. We went there just looking for a break from the cold Canadian winters and for some fun. It meet our expectations and we had a blast!!! The hotel is located on a unreal beach and has easy access to everything. We did alot of day trips (fishing, Zip Lining Croc Tours ect.) If you want to surf or buggie board it's only 30 feet away with some of the best waves along the whole beach. Shannon from the Resort is very very acomidating and provides outstanding service. We got a disk with pictures of our Zip Lining trip and when we got home the disk was corrupt. I emailed her a month later and she totally went out of her way and got us a new disk from the Zip lining company. She is a great asset to the resort and just a really nice person to deal with. This is even before the disk issue. Great Value for the money for SURE!!! This is a great place to stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room closest to the beach. Bartender at the back pool is outstanding (believe his name is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffsalamone, Manager at Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We are pleased that you and your brother enjoyed our Resort! we are glad to report we are making improvements for next year so we hope to see you both again! Its a blast when people come to have a great vacation and not look to complain about everything and anything!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    117
    83
    36
    25
See reviews for
55
119
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escazu, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The hotel is clean but a little run down. This place would have been awesome in the 80's! But it is lacking in today's era. The rooms are average, but clean. We did not get towels in the room, we had to ask twice. The pool is nice, lots of chairs. They have a casino which was a bonus. The beach is gross, not a place to swim lots of garbage. The restaurant is ok, they had a buffet in the morning. They do need to update the door locks because they only had a door handle lock and they would be easily picked if someone tried. I would stay again, if they fixed the doors.
Not at the top of my list but I would stay again.

Room Tip: Get one away from the bar it's loud
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Do you like dirty toilet bowls? Green slime in the pool? Watching the shower fill up with water because it doesn't drain properly? Do you like to eat with your hands? Well then this is the place for you!

I've stayed in many HOSTELS that are cleaner and better maintained than Morgan's Cove!

I am well aware that this is a three star resort but there are some things that are just completely unacceptable-even for a 1 star!

Here's the disappointing things we encountered:

No forks during most meals. Imagine yourself standing with your hot plate of food and asking the cooks every day for a fork. Or how about drinking wine out of a coffee mug because they were always running out of things and no one was replacing them. The tiny buffet that is provided often runs out of things. Another patron apparently asked the owner where the toast was for breakfast and his response was get to breakfast earlier?! I only heard this secondhand but I believe it to be true. All you can eat here means first come first serve. Be first to all meals and even then the food was good to poor.

Half of the lounge chairs are broken and they aren't exactly in abundance. The ladder to get out of the main pool is broken (not completely but there is a definite accident waiting to happen). The pool had green slime around the sides-disgusting! Also don't expect the pool bar to be open 7 days a week-the only employee that runs it is off on Tuesdays so the bar is closed. Even when he is there, he is often running to get food and on the few days we were at the pool we had to wait 20-30 minutes to get a drink. Some customers started serving themselves because he was gone so long!

Rooms: I expected them to be outdated but I also expected them to be clean which they were not. The toilet bowl was stained and cracked, the shower did not drain properly and would quickly fill up and poured out onto the washroom floor. We complained about this for three straight days. Each time we returned to our room there was dirt where the repair person had walked with their shoes (over the towels that were soaking up the water) and the drain was left out. Each day we complained we had to go back and ask for a cleaner to clean up after the repair person, replace our towels that were soaked and dirty and the results were the same. DISGUSTING!!!!
The air conditioner was a window rattler! It was so loud that every night my husband would stuff a facecloth between it and the window to try and quiet the noise. The sheets were not changed the entire week.
The resort claims to be going green. This is the worst green washing I've ever seen. They claim to change the towels only every other day and not to replace your shampoo in an attempt to be greener. The bar serves drinks in disposable cups and the owner drives an Escalade! There is nothing 'green' about this resort but there is a lot 'cheap' about it.

We saw a girl crying near the beach on our second day saying she hated the place and didn't want to stay another night. We didn't see that couple the rest of the week. You know the resort is bad when....

We rented a car and toured around, staying at the resort the least amount of time possible and laughed (because what else can you do when you buy an orange and end up with a lemon).

Some folks were excited about the sandwich maker in the casino if that tells you anything about the quality of food there. I haven't been excited about a sandwich maker since my University days.

The staff were overworked and underpaid. The front desk staff complained to us that they were tired, told us about their long working hours and I saw many staff yawning throughout the week. Ethically I could never go back here and support this place. I feel so sorry for all the employees that are being taken advantage of. Expats that come to Costa Rica and set up a business have an ethical responsibility to treat the people and the land with respect not take advantage of them.

So what was good?

The restaurant overlooks the ocean so every meal you eat is oceanside. The wildlife on the resort was fantastic: crocodile, macaws galore and every species of gecko, lizard and iguana you could imagine. The location is close to the town of Jaco and it is safe to walk around at night and inexpensive to take a taxi (~$2).

Costa Rica is beautiful. There are lots of things to do and places to eat off the resort. This was our third time to Costa Rica (first time at Morgan's Cove) and I can honeslty tell you that there are a lot of beautiful, well maintained, inexpensive places to stay if you shop around. Don't stay here!

Room Tip: Ask for one that has a shower that drains properly. Nothing is more disgusting that a bubbling drain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffsalamone, Manager at Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
We are very concerned about your comments and have absolutely no records of any complaints of these kinds in our reception or in Customer relations, which is very suspicious. Our rooms are cleaned everyday, and find it hard to have any faith in your comments. If clients take all the glasses from the restaurant area back to there rooms or out to the beach or break them, its hard for the restaurant staff to maintain a stock of wine glasses. beyond our control. Staff at Morgan's Cove Resort are among the best payed in the area, and find it insulting that you make comments on something you know nothing about. Our Employees are very happy working here and there are no chains and balls keeping them here. We are sorry to report if you do not respect hours of buffets they will be gone. That is the whole reason of having certain hours. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just returned after a week in Jaco Beach, the resort was your basic 3 star but is working towards improvement which we noticed every day. One major problem is the GM Shannon, she tends to hide from the guests, tells them she will " see what she can do" when confronted with a request and then proceeds to avoid them at all costs. I recommend she be a little more upfront and say " it is what it is". Rooms varied between fairly nice to needs work but were clean, sheets should however be changed more than once during a 7 day stay, the mattresses need to be replaced but I believe they are working on this. Food was your standard all inclusive, I find the wasteful and flippant attitude of guests strange just because it is "included" doesn't mean you should overload your plate and leave half uneaten. This is rude and wasteful not only to other guests but the resort itself. Pools, ocean, beach were wonderful and the location could not have been better. We will definately be coming back and bringing guests. I would recommend making your casino a little bit smaller and putting in a convenience store with extras to purchase ranging from suntan lotion, hats, kids pool stuff, medical supplies such as tylenol, tums, to potato chips , cold beer and drinks for purchase and local gifts to buy, we wanted to buy 4 of the resort T-shirts on the last day and did not realize you could only purchase from the casino which did not open until 2 pm...also a great idea would be to have the front end staff oversee a 6 am coffee/orange juice and muffin station in the lobby for all those early risers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Recenty stayed at this resort during prime season. Beach Front property with two pools, a nice bar,and outdoor seating at the restaurant. Very much enjoyed having breakfast with an ocean view and a nice breeze. The staff is friendly and they do a great job keeping things clean.

Drinks are reasonably priced and the beer is kept cold. Bartenders and staff in the Casino are very friendly. Taxi's are plentiful and don't seem to mind the short trip to local bars and restaurants even though most things are within a 10 minute walk.

This is not a fancy place, and the price reflects that. Great location and reasonable accomodations and amenities. My only criticism is that they don't have enough beach loungers. Probably could use another 50 of them. I thought I heard a guy who may have been the owner tell a guest that they have some on order....maybe another reviewer can provide and update in a few weeks.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffsalamone, Manager at Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
We are Glad you enjoyed your stay with us: Your observation of the Beach Chairs was addressed we did buy more chairs that were installed around the pools and a few more beach front. Thank you and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. It's a budget resort. The food was good on some days and not much of it anyways. Don't expect anything fancy but its quiet and you can do the tours and also you can go to the casino for the drinks and play a few slots. The guys at the bar were so nice. Please tip them. The BBQ day needs to improve as it needs more heat to cook through. The Italian food day was the best. There is something to get by for everyone. More choices of bread at least is needed. Remember once again you get what you pay for. Very basic and towels and bed sheets were never changed but turned over. I hope it will

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, ON, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were there from Feb. 5 untill Feb. 19.
We had a great time at this resort. It is kept very clean and the location in town can't be beat.
It is on the nicer section of Jaco beach and very nice for playing in the ocean. We had room 2 and it was awesome. We were just steps away from the ocean and the pool and best of all the bar. The food here is good. Its not a big resort so don't expect a large selection. Every night they had a different theme. eg: seafood, italian, bbq, costa rican etc. You will not go hungry. If you want a change you are just minutes away from some very good restaurants in Jaco.To the owners - Shannon the GM - the bartenders and waiters and Maria the housekeeper we thank you very much for a great holiday and hope to see you next year!!!
If you go with an open mind you will love Costa Rica and the Morgans Cove Resort

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffsalamone, Manager at Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Great to hear from you and we hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Address: 150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgan’s Cove Resort & Casino located Beach Front in the quaint surf town of Jaco, Costa Rica. This bustling seaside village has restaurants, clubs, bars, casinos, and gift shops making it the most popular destination in all of Costa Rica. Adventures within minutes from the Resort include Sport Fishing, Zip Line Tours through rain forest Canopy, ATV tours, Horse Back Riding, Surfing, Golfing, River Rafting and Hiking the most popular Parks of Costa Rica, Carrera and Manuel Antonio National Parks. Relaxing around the two pools or sun tanning on the warm sand of the Pacific Ocean are a favorite past time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan`s Cove Resort And Casino
Morgan`s Cove Hotel Jaco
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.