We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Best Deal on Jaco Beach
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Ok!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. It's a budget resort. The food was good on some days and not much of it anyways. Don't expect anything fancy but its quiet and you can do the tours and also you can go to the casino for the drinks and play a few slots. The guys at the bar were so nice. Please tip them. The BBQ day needs to improve as it needs more heat to cook through. The Italian food day was the best. There is something to get by for everyone. More choices of bread at least is needed. Remember once again you get what you pay for. Very basic and towels and bed sheets were never changed but turned over. I hope it will

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    96
    69
    29
    23
See reviews for
46
107
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowmanville, ON, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We were there from Feb. 5 untill Feb. 19.
We had a great time at this resort. It is kept very clean and the location in town can't be beat.
It is on the nicer section of Jaco beach and very nice for playing in the ocean. We had room 2 and it was awesome. We were just steps away from the ocean and the pool and best of all the bar. The food here is good. Its not a big resort so don't expect a large selection. Every night they had a different theme. eg: seafood, italian, bbq, costa rican etc. You will not go hungry. If you want a change you are just minutes away from some very good restaurants in Jaco.To the owners - Shannon the GM - the bartenders and waiters and Maria the housekeeper we thank you very much for a great holiday and hope to see you next year!!!
If you go with an open mind you will love Costa Rica and the Morgans Cove Resort

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffsalamone, Manager at Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Great to hear from you and we hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I recently just completed a 4 night stay at Morgan’s Cove, some friends and I were celebrating out 30th birthdays. The hotel is clean, the staff is very friendly/helpful, and very accommodating. If we do return to Jaco we would most definitely stay there again. It’s a great value for the money, and I would highly recommend staying there for any age group.

I chose this hotel based on the previous reviews. Being an experienced traveler, and having traveled to various countries, I know which reviews to disregard, and which ones to take into consideration. When seeing others complain about amenities, age of the property, etc… You don’t travel to a country like this, choose a budgeted amount to spend on a hotel, and expect the Ritz. Hope others find this review helpful and would decide to stay at Morgan’s Cove.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambrdige
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

To start - I'm sure other people had their own opinions of this resort - some better or worse but this review is just our own opinion, as we just returned a week ago. Also just to put it into perspective we have traveled to many resorts in Mexico, Dominican, Columbia, Cuba, El Salvador - ranging from 3.5 to 5 star resorts by which we can compare. We are not picky folks - after all you are on holidays so we tend to focus on that and enjoy and as such we think our impression is reasonable and unbiased.

Costa Rica- incred. beautiful and we enjoyed it completely. Beautiful beaches, hotter than hot, sunny skies, incred. scenery, wild life, plants etc. So much so that we will definitely return.

Town of Jaco - It was fine - you could see a fair amount of more North American development there - ie the Kentucky Fired Chicken, Subway, Piazza Hut etc. It also had a number of really nice restaurants - We specifically enjoyed the Poseidon - great price and wonderful food.

The resort - I'll try to break it down somewhat to describe our experience. The reason we have rated the resort quite low is not due to one main thing but a lot of little things that lessened our enjoyment. It is quite small. and is in need of some TLC and a face lift.

It took approx. 2 hours by bus to get there from the San Jose airport - we had to drop some folks off at two other resorts - we enjoy seeing the country so this was no problem for us.

The check in was fairly quick - however all of our room requests forwarded to the resort at booking - ie ocean front and king size bed were not available. No problem we thought - Got to the room and the A/C was not functioning - our fault though as it could only be controlled by the remote which we couldn't find initially. Two twin beds that could not be pushed together for a make shift king size bed. The second bed had a broken leg. There was not fridge in the room despite it being 95 degrees F or 35 degrees C. The bathroom taps were leaking and there was some muck running down the sink that my wife cleaned - We were at the rear of the resort away from the ocean and right beside the road ( which really didn't become the problem we thought it might)

However, we approached Shannon, the manager and asked to be relocated - she said that the resort was full and wasn't sure if we could be relocated immediately or at all but that she would look into it and call us back. Several other couples were also complaining and looking for room changes. Despite three return visits to see if anything could be done - Shannon was never available again and we never did receive a call from her or anyone - This really didn't impress us

Food - we knew from previous reviews that the food was not highly rated and apparently lacked variety but we have never have gone hungry so we thought we would be okay. The food we found did not have much variety which was okay but the quality was all over the map - some good - mostly only fair. A big complaint i had was that if you were abit late for supper - ie 7-7:30 (supper started at 6 pm) things seemed to have run out - ie breads/buns/butter, some of the dishes offered etc. Did we go hungry? - no - we didn't but after two days we decided we needed to eat out to get a better meal either at lunch or supper. Plus this was the only all inclusive resort we have been to that you could not get food basically throughout the day or evening when you wanted to, but only when the resort established their meal times. This can be important and problematic if you sleep in late or are getting back from tours, shopping etc and you don't fall in the designated meal times.

There are three bars on site - the pool bar closes at 5 pm., the main bar at 9:30 and the only other bar after 9:30 is in the Casino - any brand name liquor was at an additional price.

The beach in front of the resort was very nice - and the waves and tides something to experience and fun to enjoy - although you might notice some undertow

Staff - Like a number of reviews, we found that some staff were quite friendly and others not so much - But this didn't impact our vacation greatly -

Tours - Since we didn't really want to spend the whole week at the resort we decided to take a number of tours - all of which were great - The Croc and Bird watching tour, Manuel Antonio park, Irazu volcano and the Monte Verde Cloud Forest. All amazing !

In conclusion, would we go back to Costa Rica - definitely "Yes"' - Back to Jaco - not sure but primarily since we have already been there probably not - Back to the Morgan's Cove Resort - a very definite no !! - too many better resorts for comparable or better prices.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We just came back from a week at Morgan's Cove and are completely satisfied. The staff are friendly and the hotel is located within a very short walk of the town of Jaco and is right on the beach. There is not a huge choice of food - but the food is tasty and there's plenty of it. There are two bars (we stayed mostly at the second bar near our rooms) and while the place is bustling during the day, it's quiet at night.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room (114) in the back that was quiet and had an excellent air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Not the best place in the world. Room was clean but dated (not a big issue, don't really care about the decor of my room at the beach). Towels were replaced daily etc, sheets were not changed for 6 nights.. The bed was the MOST uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on, comparable to a pull out couch. Food was terrible. We stayed in Costa Rica last year and the food was very good, Morgan's Cove needs to hire a chef. Was never sick, just did not enjoy what was offered. The location is amazing. Jaco beach is very nice, I recommended a 15 min walk to the far south side to watch the sunset, the ambiance is wonderful. There was a surfing competition mid week for us with many people on the resort and huge grandstand type structures on the beach for 2 days. We supplemented this by going on tours. Loud music one night which woke us up but actually a pretty good live band of you were into that, just pretty disruptive. The service was terrible. Some staff were somewhat friendly where as other especially at the bar were very rude. I tipped very well and on a number of occasions was flat out ignored or pointed to the pop machine where I could get club soda instead of ginger ale since it was rarely full of syrup. The resort had a sleazy impression to it with what appeared to be numerous people who lived there (one room had 3 cats in it....) Although we felt generally safe, there were some questionable characters and one night after having a strange guy scouting out our room and checking out my girlfriend, we put the dresser in front of the door as the doors seemed very flimsily and easily kick-inable. The pools are clean and warm. The one swim up bar closes at like 5 but you can still go to the other bar.. the resort is relatively small. Pet friendly which is nice since we are animal people. Lots of dogs running around which we enjoyed. Definitely check out Tortuga island. Shout out to Carlos and his crew, what a great day. Also Vila Caletas is about a 20 dollar cab ride each way and is recommended to go check out a sunset or for an extra 20$ each spend the entire day( quick recap: villa Caletas is a 5 star resort with exceptional service and great food perched ontop of a 1200 foot high hill overlooking the pacific with an infinity pool and a private beach accessed by a shuttle).. Overall great trip, just wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kamloops b.c.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

just got back from 14 days at morgan's cove.. right from the staff, to ownership, these people go out of way to make your stay the best it can be. from the transat rep, to the front reception staff, always doing their best. management is in the process of starting to renovate as money allows. easy 10 second walk to the beach from the buffet, can't ask for a better combination. the 2 pools were great, with 1 having a pool bar, the other is a walk up. great value, and a great stepping point to excursions, or enjoying the ocean

Room Tip: most rooms on resort look over either pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Address: 150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgan’s Cove Resort & Casino located Beach Front in the quaint surf town of Jaco, Costa Rica. This bustling seaside village has restaurants, clubs, bars, casinos, and gift shops making it the most popular destination in all of Costa Rica. Adventures within minutes from the Resort include Sport Fishing, Zip Line Tours through rain forest Canopy, ATV tours, Horse Back Riding, Surfing, Golfing, River Rafting and Hiking the most popular Parks of Costa Rica, Carrera and Manuel Antonio National Parks. Relaxing around the two pools or sun tanning on the warm sand of the Pacific Ocean are a favorite past time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan`s Cove Resort And Casino
Morgan`s Cove Hotel Jaco
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.