We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Morgan's Cove Central” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Best Deal on Jaco Beach
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Langley, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Morgan's Cove Central”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our two criteria for travel: within budget and sun. Others include: clean, safe, well kept. We stayed one week in one of the cabins. All criteria were met well. There was a noisy night club on the main strip behind. But ear plugs were not used and we slept well!

We stayed mainly at the resort. It is beautiful, well maintained, and clean. Walks at sundown along the beach just 200 meters away were great and safe.

We took none of the pricey tours. We used the local bus, Pick pocketers are active.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    96
    69
    29
    23
See reviews for
46
107
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

A 1.5 hour bus ride from airport, but very scenic and the tour rep gave us our orientation meeting which was a great time saving idea.

Rooms:
We stayed 14 days. We changed after one week to room 24 which had newer mattresses and were much better. Room was freshly painted and cleaned everyday by competent maid service. We had a coffee maker and a TV with plenty of channels. WiFi for the most part was ok except during our stay a new secured system was being installed so we had some days with glitches.

Food:
The buffet was good, each meal had at least three types of protein and there was always a great salad bar. They varied the theme sometimes Italian, seafood or Mexican. You helped yourself to wine. Desserts were available only in the evening and there was only one choice and it often ran out. You could ask for ice cream. Thursday night they had an Al a Carte menu and Sunday night was BBQ night. Watch those burgers and chicken off the BBQ though they should not be medium rare.

Beach:
The beach was fun and the waves safe enough as long as you stayed within your depth. When the tides were right the surfers were out in full force. There is a surf instructor on the resort. Two things that were very annoying about the beach. Only 19 loungers available and several of those were broken and you needed to be up at 7am to snag one! The locals walked their dogs on the beach and didn't clean up after them. We witnessed this on many occasions on our beach walks. I read that Jaco beach was having problems with pollution and they were blaming the several creeks and streams that empty into the ocean, but I am sure this dog poo situation does not help!

Tours:
We went to Tortuga Island on the speed boat with Nolitours and it was excellent.

All in all a great vacation with excellent hot weather a friendly hotel with friendly helpful staff and management that are present and willing to listen to your concerns and suggestions.

Jim and Jose keep up the good work. We will be sure to recommend Morgans Cove to our friends and will see you again.

Hong Kong Luois says hello!

Room Tip: beach front rooms are extra ask for pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked at a very cheap price 1520 for the two of us so I was not expecting too much. I read the reviews and decided to give it a try. It is a very small resort. The rooms were clean but older.We were quite satisfied with the rooms. Ours was right by the pool and we liked that. The food was quite good but because it is small the variety is not that great. The staff were very friendly and did their best to make you happy. I wished they would have served coffee before 7 but they did not and also there are not alot of snacks in between. The resort is right on the beach which is nice but they need more chairs. It is very hot in that area so if you like it warm that is the place to go. You can walk into the town which is safe and that is great. anyone wanting to know more email me at scarnold@rogers.com and I will be happy to give you any info that would help you out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sorrento B.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

stayed at morgan,s cove central in town which is 30ish rooms. manager named johnny was great. rooms are being improved as property was purchased at christmas. food was very good not a lot of choice but i rate 8 out of 10. noisy nightclub behind resort so take earplugs. staff were exceptionally professional and friendly. good simple clean friendly central to town place with good a.c. food and pool thanks johnny and alihandroh forgot to say you can also use m c resort and casino facilities on ocean

Room Tip: rooms away from main st are quiet and cabins were nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino is a great choice for your vacation in Jaco. It truly is a solid 3 star resort and will be a 4 star as they continue to do their upgrades.

As other Trip Adviser contributors suggested... An upgrade to Beach Front Rooms makes the stay even better ... the modest upgrade cost is well worth it .... Email Shannon prior to your vacation to make arrangements.

The scenery & view in and around the resort is wonderful ..... seeing the Scarlet Macaws most days as they flew from tree to tree looking for food is a memory I will always enjoy !!

The closeness of the resort to Jaco is great!! ... just a short walk or quick taxi ride & your there. The town offers lots of souvenir shops, restaurants and a great bakery

The excursion representatives on site are great or book thru Jackie (Nolitour Rep) and enjoy all the wonderful sites of Costa Rica !! ...

I am sure you will be pleased with Morgans Cove Resort & Casino as long as you keep in mind it is not a 5* RIU ...

R&J

Room Tip: Beach Front Rooms a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, IL
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We chose Morgan's Cove for its location on the beach and its price, far cheaper than similarly sited hotels in Jaco. But before we move on: You must stay in the beachfront rooms. They're a bit more expensive than the cheapest rooms in the high-rise but there is NO COMPARISON. We stayed in one of those rooms for 1 night, it was awful. We moved to the beachfront, it was heaven (and not THAT much more $). Our room was lovely, bed was comfy. The breakfast that was included was excellent. The pools are wonderful. And, not to exhaust this topic, the location allowed for sea-gazing whenever we wanted. We had one issue during our stay and when we talked to the manager (and definitely talk to him if the clerks cannot help you out), everything was promptly made right. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and myself just got back from a well deserved holiday at the Morgans Cove Resort and Casino. We had a great time there with all the friendly staff at the resort. We upgraded to the ocean view area with the help of Shannon who was very friendly and informative for area interests. You could watch the waves crashing on the beach then turn around and see the mountains behind you.We had daily visits from the Toucans and Scarlet Macias. The owner and manager were very friendly and would not hesitate to stop and talk to you. The food was good and the drinks were great. We recommend Manuel Antonio Park to see the monkeys,sloths,raccoons,birds, crabs and have a nice swim at the beach. Tortuga Island is another great destination to check out. From the resort it is about a 10 minute walk in to Jaco or a $2 taxi ride, there are many shops to interest everyone. The sunsets are breath taking from Black Beards Restaurant on the resort. We felt very safe there any never had any problems. Check it out you will enjoy this destination. R&M T.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to the Ocean View area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Address: 150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgan’s Cove Resort & Casino located Beach Front in the quaint surf town of Jaco, Costa Rica. This bustling seaside village has restaurants, clubs, bars, casinos, and gift shops making it the most popular destination in all of Costa Rica. Adventures within minutes from the Resort include Sport Fishing, Zip Line Tours through rain forest Canopy, ATV tours, Horse Back Riding, Surfing, Golfing, River Rafting and Hiking the most popular Parks of Costa Rica, Carrera and Manuel Antonio National Parks. Relaxing around the two pools or sun tanning on the warm sand of the Pacific Ocean are a favorite past time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan`s Cove Resort And Casino
Morgan`s Cove Hotel Jaco
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.