We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Barrie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We booked at a very cheap price 1520 for the two of us so I was not expecting too much. I read the reviews and decided to give it a try. It is a very small resort. The rooms were clean but older.We were quite satisfied with the rooms. Ours was right by the pool and we liked that. The food was quite good but because it is small the variety is not that great. The staff were very friendly and did their best to make you happy. I wished they would have served coffee before 7 but they did not and also there are not alot of snacks in between. The resort is right on the beach which is nice but they need more chairs. It is very hot in that area so if you like it warm that is the place to go. You can walk into the town which is safe and that is great. anyone wanting to know more email me at scarnold@rogers.com and I will be happy to give you any info that would help you out.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    117
    82
    36
    24
See reviews for
55
118
24
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sorrento B.C.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

stayed at morgan,s cove central in town which is 30ish rooms. manager named johnny was great. rooms are being improved as property was purchased at christmas. food was very good not a lot of choice but i rate 8 out of 10. noisy nightclub behind resort so take earplugs. staff were exceptionally professional and friendly. good simple clean friendly central to town place with good a.c. food and pool thanks johnny and alihandroh forgot to say you can also use m c resort and casino facilities on ocean

Room Tip: rooms away from main st are quiet and cabins were nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino is a great choice for your vacation in Jaco. It truly is a solid 3 star resort and will be a 4 star as they continue to do their upgrades.

As other Trip Adviser contributors suggested... An upgrade to Beach Front Rooms makes the stay even better ... the modest upgrade cost is well worth it .... Email Shannon prior to your vacation to make arrangements.

The scenery & view in and around the resort is wonderful ..... seeing the Scarlet Macaws most days as they flew from tree to tree looking for food is a memory I will always enjoy !!

The closeness of the resort to Jaco is great!! ... just a short walk or quick taxi ride & your there. The town offers lots of souvenir shops, restaurants and a great bakery

The excursion representatives on site are great or book thru Jackie (Nolitour Rep) and enjoy all the wonderful sites of Costa Rica !! ...

I am sure you will be pleased with Morgans Cove Resort & Casino as long as you keep in mind it is not a 5* RIU ...

R&J

Room Tip: Beach Front Rooms a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, IL
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We chose Morgan's Cove for its location on the beach and its price, far cheaper than similarly sited hotels in Jaco. But before we move on: You must stay in the beachfront rooms. They're a bit more expensive than the cheapest rooms in the high-rise but there is NO COMPARISON. We stayed in one of those rooms for 1 night, it was awful. We moved to the beachfront, it was heaven (and not THAT much more $). Our room was lovely, bed was comfy. The breakfast that was included was excellent. The pools are wonderful. And, not to exhaust this topic, the location allowed for sea-gazing whenever we wanted. We had one issue during our stay and when we talked to the manager (and definitely talk to him if the clerks cannot help you out), everything was promptly made right. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and myself just got back from a well deserved holiday at the Morgans Cove Resort and Casino. We had a great time there with all the friendly staff at the resort. We upgraded to the ocean view area with the help of Shannon who was very friendly and informative for area interests. You could watch the waves crashing on the beach then turn around and see the mountains behind you.We had daily visits from the Toucans and Scarlet Macias. The owner and manager were very friendly and would not hesitate to stop and talk to you. The food was good and the drinks were great. We recommend Manuel Antonio Park to see the monkeys,sloths,raccoons,birds, crabs and have a nice swim at the beach. Tortuga Island is another great destination to check out. From the resort it is about a 10 minute walk in to Jaco or a $2 taxi ride, there are many shops to interest everyone. The sunsets are breath taking from Black Beards Restaurant on the resort. We felt very safe there any never had any problems. Check it out you will enjoy this destination. R&M T.

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to the Ocean View area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I am just back from a 14 days stay at the Morgan's Cove in Jaco Beach. I was part of a 50 people group. We were there for specific purpose on the beach and we really did enjoy our stay!!!

We have been really well welcomed during the whole trip. Since the people of the group were really hard working all day long we were in bed early, since the resort is peacefull and quiet, we had no problem at all sleeping. The staff was really nice with us, specially Shannon, the manager and Didier, the pool bartender who have been really nice with us.

We were there on the new year evening, the hotel provide a great fireworks Show, probably the best of the whole city.

Thank you all for having us, we hope to be back next year!

Mathieu

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

In the middle-class hotels, Morgan's Cove is excellent. The personnel is exquisite and very helpful, the rooms are clean, simple, with air-conditioning, full TV channels (never seen such a large offer in the regular offer), the buffet has variety and is of good quality. When you have an all-inclusive offer (which is very very cheap), you also have access to beverages / cocktails for free. The swimming pools have a good size, and with the bar it is delightful.
The hotel is also directly on the beach which gives access to endless promenades, with a 30° sea. Lot's of surf schools.
From the hotel, downtown Jaco is 10 mn walk.

Room Tip: Ask a room around the swimming pools either ground floor or first floor, no matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Address: 150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgan’s Cove Resort & Casino located Beach Front in the quaint surf town of Jaco, Costa Rica. This bustling seaside village has restaurants, clubs, bars, casinos, and gift shops making it the most popular destination in all of Costa Rica. Adventures within minutes from the Resort include Sport Fishing, Zip Line Tours through rain forest Canopy, ATV tours, Horse Back Riding, Surfing, Golfing, River Rafting and Hiking the most popular Parks of Costa Rica, Carrera and Manuel Antonio National Parks. Relaxing around the two pools or sun tanning on the warm sand of the Pacific Ocean are a favorite past time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan`s Cove Resort And Casino
Morgan`s Cove Hotel Jaco
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.