We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good quality / price hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Best Deal on Jaco Beach
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A very good quality / price hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

In the middle-class hotels, Morgan's Cove is excellent. The personnel is exquisite and very helpful, the rooms are clean, simple, with air-conditioning, full TV channels (never seen such a large offer in the regular offer), the buffet has variety and is of good quality. When you have an all-inclusive offer (which is very very cheap), you also have access to beverages / cocktails for free. The swimming pools have a good size, and with the bar it is delightful.
The hotel is also directly on the beach which gives access to endless promenades, with a 30° sea. Lot's of surf schools.
From the hotel, downtown Jaco is 10 mn walk.

Room Tip: Ask a room around the swimming pools either ground floor or first floor, no matter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    95
    66
    29
    22
See reviews for
45
103
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Been here three times in the last 12 months......that pretty well sums it up,the resort keeps getting better,they had a great new years eve party,the food was great.....I would say we are consider the management people here as friends.... they go out of their way to make sure Everythings "fine"....I can honestly say i will not stay anywhere else in jaco....Cheers to Jim,Shannon,Jose and the employees for making our stay "once again" fantastic.thanks and, we WILL see you again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario's Highlands, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Let's start by saying, that I have travelled a lot to mostly three star places so I can easily compare this to the others. I have to say that I loved Costa Rica! It was fabulous, and we didn't stay at the resort unless to sleep or unwind. I booked with Nolitours and explained that I would take any room besides the ones looking at a parking lot. When I got to the resort, guess what room I got? I have to say, they quickly changed our room after I complained. Rooms are not cleaned unless you ask, they don't give out the shampoo/conditioner unless you ask, you have to ask to change your sheets. Ask again if you want water, and they are small bottles, if you want a big bottle, its like asking them to remove their right hand. Doesn't make sense since larger bottles are cheaper. They say its saving on the environment, I say its being cheap. They have no problem running high powered electricity 24 hours a day. Tipping doesn't seem to matter here, we tipped, but still got sour looks. The employes except for one, don't look happy. In fact they are miserable, giving sour looks if you ask them for anything. The food is alright, but its the same exact thing every day. Rice, fried hotdogs, one choice of lettuce, two choices of fruit and fried plantains. The owner sits at the bar every evening and smokes cigars, and drinks. He does not manage but basically entertains his friends and hangs out. Like I said, I love Jaco Beach and would go back again, but if I'm writing a review, people should be aware of what to expect. This resort is in the perfect spot, and so close to Jaco city. This resort could be wonderful, if it was managed better and the food was a little better. Yes, I have stayed at three stars before, but it certainly makes a difference to get a smile, or have people who work there enjoy working.

Room Tip: I asked for no parking lot view, and thats what I got, so I'm not sure what you can do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria,Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is basic with clean rooms with hair dryers and coffee makers, adequate food and great staff and great location. It is not for people who want lots of organized activities, fantastic food and all modern amenities.

It has a good (slightly short) tennis court. The beach is for surfing and the hotel has boogie boards for rent. There is a volley ball court and horse shoe pitch but these were unused during our stay. Bird watching was good right at the hotel and iguanas were everywhere.

We were there for both the Christmas dinner and the New Year's Eve dinner and celebration.
The Christmas dinner was very good and they went all out for New Year's with a good band and fireworks. It was quite amazing considering it is such a small resort (~100 rooms and suites).
Regular meals were okay with little or no dessert. You can ask for ice cream. There is only one restaurant which is the buffet and main bar as well. Drinks,including wine, were self serve.

We walked into town only once. It was very hot so even a kilometre was tiring, but there was no hustling like in similar Mexican towns.

I hated the thumping pool music which runs all day from about 11 am. What about a nice siesta time? Ear plugs helped.
The casino was very quiet and almost unused.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo NY
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Let me start off that my wife and I have the opportunity to travel all over the word mostly in big resort properties , Morgan's Cove was a wonderful deviation from that , small , quiet and quaint..it was almost like "Cheers" where everyone knows your name. The owners Jim and Jeff and their wonderful assistant Shannon were always there and ready to lend a hand no matter what. On New Years Eve our a/c unit blew out primarily because it is running 24/7 one call to the front desk and a a/c company showed up in 1/2 hour and installed a new one. The partenders especiall Lil Jose and waiter Marco were absolutely FANTASTIC as were a majority of the other staff. The only disappointment we had was that of the food 14 days of rice and beans three times a day...but on the plus side downtown Jaco was 10 minutes walk so when they food wasn't to our liking we simply went downtown to eat.

Room Tip: Upgrade to Beach Front room more convenient to beach , pool and most importantly the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It was a last minute trip, we weren't sure what to expect but were blown away. The staff, the rooms, the beach, the entire experience was incredible!! We're already planning a return trip for next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This resort is under rated. Great value for the dollar, decent food, great staff. Owners are on site and are very concerned that the guests have a great experience. Thanks Jim, you are great!! Even the Iguanas are friendly!! Easy walk into town and great access to the beach. I'm going back as soon as I can...................................................

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Address: 150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgan’s Cove Resort & Casino located Beach Front in the quaint surf town of Jaco, Costa Rica. This bustling seaside village has restaurants, clubs, bars, casinos, and gift shops making it the most popular destination in all of Costa Rica. Adventures within minutes from the Resort include Sport Fishing, Zip Line Tours through rain forest Canopy, ATV tours, Horse Back Riding, Surfing, Golfing, River Rafting and Hiking the most popular Parks of Costa Rica, Carrera and Manuel Antonio National Parks. Relaxing around the two pools or sun tanning on the warm sand of the Pacific Ocean are a favorite past time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan`s Cove Hotel Jaco
Morgan`s Cove Resort And Casino
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.