We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll return!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Save Saved
You added Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Deal on Jaco Beach
Ranked #20 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Barrie, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We'll return!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

It was a last minute trip, we weren't sure what to expect but were blown away. The staff, the rooms, the beach, the entire experience was incredible!! We're already planning a return trip for next year!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    90
    64
    25
    19
See reviews for
39
99
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This resort is under rated. Great value for the dollar, decent food, great staff. Owners are on site and are very concerned that the guests have a great experience. Thanks Jim, you are great!! Even the Iguanas are friendly!! Easy walk into town and great access to the beach. I'm going back as soon as I can...................................................

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We have stayed a number of times over the last few years and have always found the staff friendly and helpfull. The rooms were clean and well maintained. The food was great. People have to understand that running a hotel can be difficult, expecially when it is going through a transition, so there can sometimes be some problems. We have found that if we had a problem it was always addressed. As far as certain smells, first of all you have to understand that most people on the river upstream dump their grey water( sewer) into it, so sometimes you get a bit of a smell from it. This is common all over Costa Rica, so sometimes people have to realize it is not all like home. The walk to downtown is only 10 minutes, I guess for some people thats long. A cab is only a couple of bucks if you cannot walk.

Room Tip: room #6 seemed good, by the pool and facing the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I went their this past March St. Patty's Day and I had a good time. It was not like some of the places I have been in but the atmosphere was nice, clean and good food. We had a room on ground floor in front of the pool with pool bar it was great! Hardly any body on grounds during the day (out on tours) so we had the pool to a few of us that just wanted to take in the sun and relax. We met some of the other guests and went to town a couple times. Friendly in town, short walk or $2 cab ride. They have a cassino on site and a great bar their with some great people very friendly and the owner gave a few tips and what to check out. It could have used some dance or entertainment on grounds. We took the side trip to Tortuga Island (owner's recommation) and OMG! it was beautifull there and the boat over was great we seen a sea turtle, dolphins and a whale! We were very lucky that day great weather! We went zip lining too and that was a blast. I would go again.

Room Tip: Ground floor pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights at Morgan's Cove. Jaco was very busy for some reason and it was one of the few places I could find a room.

Positives:

Air conditioning in the room worked excellent
Staff was extremely friendly especially in the restaurants, front desk and casino
Rooms were better than expected from reading these comments
Pool area was decent
Hot Water no issues and housekeeping was there every day

Negatives

Beach area was not that clean
A bit of a walk to the main area of Jaco with restaurants and bars

All in all Morgan's was a good option for my short visit to Jaco. I would have no problem staying here again. Probably would choose someplace in the center of the main strip, but for those looking for a little value, this place is well priced.

I will say it again, the staff was very friendly. I am learning Spanish and they were very helpful in pointing out some flaws and keeping me entertained as the hotel was a little quiet.

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Oaks, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Hotel hasn't been updated in 40 years. Old, dingy, & smelly.
We checked in, took 1 look at the room, & got back in car & stayed somewhere else.
They would not even consider giving refund back.
They wanted us to stay by offering a free dinner.
No Thanks.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffsalamone, Manager at Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
We are sorry for your dismay, our hotel is being updated and remodeled every year. The resort is only 25 years old and is one of the best Jaco has to offer. Naturally being on the beach with the sea breezes and the close proximity of the rain forests along with the 80% or + humidity you will experience the feeling of being in Costa Rica no matter where you go. Here at Morgan's Cove Resorts we offer great service, clean rooms, and a tropical setting located directly on the most popular beach in Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petit Lancy, Switzerland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel is very good located, near the village center and close to the beach (although the beach that is closer to the hotel is not the nicest one). Rooms are very basic. The shower was always flooded, even if we reported it several times. Staff is friendly. Breakfast keeps changing every day, it seems it depends on the number of guests: sometimes it was buffet, sometimes it was à la carte, but we knew every morning.
The restaurant was empty most of the time, prices are really expensive, taking into account that you can find the same average food in the village for a cheaper bill.
Jacó is plenty of all kind of restaurants. We used to go walking every night to have dinner, returning in a taxi, that is really cheap (7 colones top).
The place is very quiet and stress-free. They have a big swimming pool (most of the time with nobody) and two small pools.
I wouldn't return there. There are so many options in Jaco, closer to nicer beaches, with the same basic services but cheaper.

Room Tip: Try to get a beachfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Address: 150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgan’s Cove Resort & Casino located Beach Front in the quaint surf town of Jaco, Costa Rica. This bustling seaside village has restaurants, clubs, bars, casinos, and gift shops making it the most popular destination in all of Costa Rica. Adventures within minutes from the Resort include Sport Fishing, Zip Line Tours through rain forest Canopy, ATV tours, Horse Back Riding, Surfing, Golfing, River Rafting and Hiking the most popular Parks of Costa Rica, Carrera and Manuel Antonio National Parks. Relaxing around the two pools or sun tanning on the warm sand of the Pacific Ocean are a favorite past time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan`s Cove Hotel Jaco
Morgan`s Cove Resort And Casino
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.