We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice people, good location, old hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Expedia.com
and 7 more sites!
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 39 hotels in Jaco
Petit Lancy, Switzerland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice people, good location, old hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The hotel is very good located, near the village center and close to the beach (although the beach that is closer to the hotel is not the nicest one). Rooms are very basic. The shower was always flooded, even if we reported it several times. Staff is friendly. Breakfast keeps changing every day, it seems it depends on the number of guests: sometimes it was buffet, sometimes it was à la carte, but we knew every morning.
The restaurant was empty most of the time, prices are really expensive, taking into account that you can find the same average food in the village for a cheaper bill.
Jacó is plenty of all kind of restaurants. We used to go walking every night to have dinner, returning in a taxi, that is really cheap (7 colones top).
The place is very quiet and stress-free. They have a big swimming pool (most of the time with nobody) and two small pools.
I wouldn't return there. There are so many options in Jaco, closer to nicer beaches, with the same basic services but cheaper.

Room Tip: Try to get a beachfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    87
    61
    25
    17
See reviews for
38
94
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hayden, Idaho
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was staying at MC with a high school EF Tour group. The room was actually OK, A/C worked well, room and bathroom clean, adequate hot water, not sure if there was maid service (no new towels, I straightened up my own bed); food however was just so-so; drinks overpriced, beach was dirty. I would not return for a second visit. I would not wander around outside of the complex at night

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I booked this resort for 4 days and ended up staying 2 weeks. The food , staff and beach was just Fantastic.... anything I needed was there or there was someone to arrange it for me . cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanpari
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I came here again because I had such a great time on my last visit. Again, Morgan's Cove did not disappoint. The food was delicious! We had a great time at the pool and the beach. We wanted to go fishing and everything was set up for us on the spot at a great rate. We did not want to leave and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I'm trying hard to be diplomatic in my choice of words. I'm sure this was a great resort back in the day, but it has gone downhill since. Way downhill. The rooms are dingy and reek of urine, mold, and nicotine. Smoking is not permitted in the rooms now, but the many years of allowing smoking has built up in the walls and furniture. Be very careful selecting your lounge chair by the pool. Almost all of the chairs are ripped and falling apart. The hotel has a casino and many of the rooms back right up to it. The thump, thump, thump and loudspeaker noise of whatever was going on in there went on late into the evening. In e room next to us was what we think is a long term resident, based on the number of animals and the welcome sign outside of her door. Not sure what was going on over there, but what we heard was spank, spank, giggle, giggle, woof, woof. You draw you're own conclusions. I would not stay here again, even if it was free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffsalamone, Manager at Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your reply and we are very sorry that you did not come to the front desk, we would have gladly changed your room, there were several more available during your visit. We Investigated your comments and did find that there was a client smoking on the front patio during their week stay a day just before your arrival. They did tell us they did not smoke in the room and loved the room, but we do understand the possible air contamination. We are also addressing the sound problems of the Casino which also was found to be on three rooms in that area, fixing that problem. As Advertised we are a pet friendly Hotel, If for any reason that offends a client we will gladly move you to another room with out question if available. The Rooms however do not reek of any smell of mold or urine, we do believe that confusion came from a Costa Rican Crawling Tree that was directly in front of this room the moisture and smell is coming from this tree and we are addressing that issue as well. Thank you and we do hope to see you again. Cleanliness and Service is our very first mission, Please do not hesitate to ask for anything that we can help with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time I stay in this resort and have to admit that I always receive a great service; it's  been a pleasure for me and no regrets about it. Also, I have to highlight that I love the breakfast they serve, it is huge and delicious!! 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Morgan's cove was beautifully centered ocean front with great views and friendly people. Not to mention its own casino ,there was even a surf instructor to assist the great waves ...But most of all the shopping areas were just a few blocks away. I would Deffinatly go back .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Also Known As:
Morgan`s Cove Resort And Casino
Morgan`s Cove Hotel Jaco
Morgan`s Cove Hotel
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco
Address: 150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgan’s Cove Resort & Casino located Beach Front in the quaint surf town of Jaco, Costa Rica. This bustling seaside village has restaurants, clubs, bars, casinos, and gift shops making it the most popular destination in all of Costa Rica. Adventures within minutes from the Resort include Sport Fishing, Zip Line Tours through rain forest Canopy, ATV tours, Horse Back Riding, Surfing, Golfing, River Rafting and Hiking the most popular Parks of Costa Rica, Carrera and Manuel Antonio National Parks. Relaxing around the two pools or sun tanning on the warm sand of the Pacific Ocean are a favorite past time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino to your Saves list