We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Hayden, Idaho
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I was staying at MC with a high school EF Tour group. The room was actually OK, A/C worked well, room and bathroom clean, adequate hot water, not sure if there was maid service (no new towels, I straightened up my own bed); food however was just so-so; drinks overpriced, beach was dirty. I would not return for a second visit. I would not wander around outside of the complex at night

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    97
    70
    30
    23
See reviews for
46
108
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I booked this resort for 4 days and ended up staying 2 weeks. The food , staff and beach was just Fantastic.... anything I needed was there or there was someone to arrange it for me . cant wait to go back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeanpari
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

I came here again because I had such a great time on my last visit. Again, Morgan's Cove did not disappoint. The food was delicious! We had a great time at the pool and the beach. We wanted to go fishing and everything was set up for us on the spot at a great rate. We did not want to leave and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I'm trying hard to be diplomatic in my choice of words. I'm sure this was a great resort back in the day, but it has gone downhill since. Way downhill. The rooms are dingy and reek of urine, mold, and nicotine. Smoking is not permitted in the rooms now, but the many years of allowing smoking has built up in the walls and furniture. Be very careful selecting your lounge chair by the pool. Almost all of the chairs are ripped and falling apart. The hotel has a casino and many of the rooms back right up to it. The thump, thump, thump and loudspeaker noise of whatever was going on in there went on late into the evening. In e room next to us was what we think is a long term resident, based on the number of animals and the welcome sign outside of her door. Not sure what was going on over there, but what we heard was spank, spank, giggle, giggle, woof, woof. You draw you're own conclusions. I would not stay here again, even if it was free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffsalamone, Manager at Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your reply and we are very sorry that you did not come to the front desk, we would have gladly changed your room, there were several more available during your visit. We Investigated your comments and did find that there was a client smoking on the front patio during their week stay a day just before your arrival. They did tell us they did not smoke in the room and loved the room, but we do understand the possible air contamination. We are also addressing the sound problems of the Casino which also was found to be on three rooms in that area, fixing that problem. As Advertised we are a pet friendly Hotel, If for any reason that offends a client we will gladly move you to another room with out question if available. The Rooms however do not reek of any smell of mold or urine, we do believe that confusion came from a Costa Rican Crawling Tree that was directly in front of this room the moisture and smell is coming from this tree and we are addressing that issue as well. Thank you and we do hope to see you again. Cleanliness and Service is our very first mission, Please do not hesitate to ask for anything that we can help with.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time I stay in this resort and have to admit that I always receive a great service; it's  been a pleasure for me and no regrets about it. Also, I have to highlight that I love the breakfast they serve, it is huge and delicious!! 

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Morgan's cove was beautifully centered ocean front with great views and friendly people. Not to mention its own casino ,there was even a surf instructor to assist the great waves ...But most of all the shopping areas were just a few blocks away. I would Deffinatly go back .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Paid $80 for one night, which is the average is in the area. Hotel is ok i guess, rooms smell moldy and beds aren't so comfy. Food is good and Didier at the wet bar goes beyond his way to give u a good service. Rate includes breakfast buffet, but i wouldn't stay here again though.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffsalamone, Manager at Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We thank you for your stay with us, and are happy you found our hotel Satisfactory in Service, Cleanliness and location. This time of year there is alot of rain and Seabreezes that enter from being on the beach, the combination of the two do give a moister atmosphere and humidity also. All our rooms are tiled floored making it very hard for Mold to be anywhere. This is a common misunderstanding from being at the foothills of the Rainforests and the location in front of the beach. Thank you and we do hope you visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Address: 150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgan’s Cove Resort & Casino located Beach Front in the quaint surf town of Jaco, Costa Rica. This bustling seaside village has restaurants, clubs, bars, casinos, and gift shops making it the most popular destination in all of Costa Rica. Adventures within minutes from the Resort include Sport Fishing, Zip Line Tours through rain forest Canopy, ATV tours, Horse Back Riding, Surfing, Golfing, River Rafting and Hiking the most popular Parks of Costa Rica, Carrera and Manuel Antonio National Parks. Relaxing around the two pools or sun tanning on the warm sand of the Pacific Ocean are a favorite past time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan`s Cove Resort And Casino
Morgan`s Cove Hotel Jaco
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.