We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great travel expierence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A great travel expierence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Morgan's cove was beautifully centered ocean front with great views and friendly people. Not to mention its own casino ,there was even a surf instructor to assist the great waves ...But most of all the shopping areas were just a few blocks away. I would Deffinatly go back .

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    97
    71
    30
    23
See reviews for
46
109
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

Paid $80 for one night, which is the average is in the area. Hotel is ok i guess, rooms smell moldy and beds aren't so comfy. Food is good and Didier at the wet bar goes beyond his way to give u a good service. Rate includes breakfast buffet, but i wouldn't stay here again though.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffsalamone, Manager at Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
We thank you for your stay with us, and are happy you found our hotel Satisfactory in Service, Cleanliness and location. This time of year there is alot of rain and Seabreezes that enter from being on the beach, the combination of the two do give a moister atmosphere and humidity also. All our rooms are tiled floored making it very hard for Mold to be anywhere. This is a common misunderstanding from being at the foothills of the Rainforests and the location in front of the beach. Thank you and we do hope you visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

So this was not a bad place. but. . . My son and I selected it thinking that it would be the highlight of our trip. The only real drawback is that the maid does not do much in the room. And like a previous review (which I noted that the hotel management did take exception to) we did have problems with ants in the room by the coffee pot. I did tell a lady and a gentleman at the reception that we had run out of coffee cups and water in the room and the maid was not replenishing them, nor was she wiping down the counter where the coffee pot was and we had ants there. We made certain even our little paper plates stayed in the refrigerator to keep the bugs off. The folks in the office did not seem to worried about it. So probably I would not return. It is on the beach but it is so rocky you need to walk down away from the hotel before you get to an area where the beach is clean.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel is on the beach. That's it's only attribute. The room was dirty when we arrived and filled with small black flies. The bed was so unbelievably uncomfortable I actually considered sleeping on the chairs near the bar instead. The staff wasn't particularly helpful. The breakfast was bland and small. There are too many other choices for places to stay in Jaco. Don't bother with Morgan's Cove unless you like being tortured on the rack at night!

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jeffsalamone, Public Relations Manager at Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
This is a very strange review, We have reviewed with all staff in management and Front desk to see if any complaints were made about insects or beds. End result NONE!. No Complaints about the cleanness of rooms either made to house keeping department or personal. All the Beds in Morgan´s Cove are of standard Hotel Issue mattress type and we cannot understand any problems or this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Creek, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

I visited Jacob and stopped here on a whim. The hotel is away from all the hustle and bustle of downtown Jaco, but is walking distance. It right on the beach and the restaurant is open air where you have a view of the beach and the adjoining lagoon.

The food was outstanding! I had the Saturday night special surf and turf. The steak was cooked a perfect medium rare (moat Costa Rican restaurants overcook their beef in my experience). The carribean lobster was grilled to perfection...yes carribean lobster from the other coast of Costa Rica.

My complements to the staff, especially Jose for attentive and friendly service.

At least eat here even if you don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Love this hotel and it's location is the best! Fun vibe casino is clean and nice! Also great for kids and family's! And they mix a strong drink ;)

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us please visit us again!
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We arrived with no reservation just to see the price. The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating. We ended up staying for 2 nights. The beach is rocky in front of the hotel (much like most of the beach in jacó), but still beautiful. The pool areas of the hotel are ample and nice. It is obvious that the hotel has been around for a bit, but the rooms are fairly ample and more than sufficient. The food is a bit pricey (as is the norm for Jacó) but well prepared and high quality. Overall, the hotel was more than adequate, but the staff was great! I would return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Address: 150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgan’s Cove Resort & Casino located Beach Front in the quaint surf town of Jaco, Costa Rica. This bustling seaside village has restaurants, clubs, bars, casinos, and gift shops making it the most popular destination in all of Costa Rica. Adventures within minutes from the Resort include Sport Fishing, Zip Line Tours through rain forest Canopy, ATV tours, Horse Back Riding, Surfing, Golfing, River Rafting and Hiking the most popular Parks of Costa Rica, Carrera and Manuel Antonio National Parks. Relaxing around the two pools or sun tanning on the warm sand of the Pacific Ocean are a favorite past time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan`s Cove Resort And Casino
Morgan`s Cove Hotel Jaco
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.