We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value and base for exploring Central Pacific Coast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Kingston, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent value and base for exploring Central Pacific Coast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We loved Morgan's Cove and would highly recommend it to anyone wishing to spend their days exploring Costa Rica and their evenings/nights in a clean, safe and peaceful resort. Not for anyone who wants to spend a week in a resort-bubble being pampered and eating 5 star meals for sure, but a perfect place for a comfortable room, good fresh meals, a gorgeous sunset, great pools, yummy drinks and and a cool public Costa Rican beach! Check-in was the easiest we have ever seen: One person handed you a drink, another put on your bracelet, another asked your name, gave you your key and pointed you in the direction of your room. Took about one minute to check in...perfect! The Costa Rican beer was great, the wine was FuZion from Argentina (which is sold here at LCBO) and all of the mixed drinks were blended in front of you, not coming out of a machine like other larger resorts. The meals were fine, fresh, varied, and served by resort staff at the buffet, so there was none of the buffet-trough gluttonous feelings of larger establishments. The small resort feel was great. Most visitors spent their days on tours, or independent travel, and would exchange stories in the evenings. We loved the ATV tours booked privately in Jaco, which was an easy 15 minute walk away. Fine walking around the town of Jaco in the day - no worries at all. Lots fun and affordable local crafts for souvenirs/gifts. Crocodile living 10 metres from the open air restaurant was just a cool bonus. Lots of dogs everyone (from owners' dogs at the bars as mentioned by another visitor, to mutts catching frizbee on the beach). Local boys playing "football" in the dark wet sand, surfers etc...etc... you really felt like you were in Costa Rica - not just at a resort. Water was clear and super warm...we were wary of the rip tides however and were careful. We travelled as two couples. All of us like to try new places and have travelled extensively, but all have agreed that we would return to Costa Rica as there is so much to see. Had so much more fun that trips to the Carribean. Morgan's Cove was excellent and made it so affordable - full of Canadians too! Highly recommended - especially for the price!!

Room Tip: It is such a small resort that there are no bad rooms...we were right in front of the pool with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    97
    71
    30
    23
See reviews for
46
109
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I love Costa Rica! This resort is perfect for people who aren't all uppity and snobby and just wanna get down to the business of having an awesome time in the best country on an awesome beach with some sweet people. Rooms were good, the pool and bar were awesome, the crocodillo in the estuary was rockin', the iguanas were always making you feel creeped out, but in the best way, like dinosaur squirrels. The owner's dog sat on the chair beside him at the bar and was hand-fed dinner, i loved that. Lots of parrots flying around, in pairs... so romantic.
If you want the best thing ever, get yourself a seat at the bar around six, order some drinks and watch the sun set through the palms and into the ocean, and kiss the person you're with. You'll swear your in a postcard, it's so beautiful.
Surf was good and Captain Jack, aka Mike, was ripping it up and gave me a couple of helpful pointers, and while i surfed, my gorgeous girl rocked that pool and all the pina coladas like a pro! She was so dark after a couple days of perfect weather that all the locals spoke to her in spanish before they realized she was a gringo!
If you get tired of the food, order a pizza from Big Ron's in town, it's awesome, real New York style pizza, made from a guy from Jersey, who calls them 'pies'. How cool is that? If you have to buy anything, like sunscreen, go to the supermarket in town and not the drug stores or convenience stores. You'll save some money that is better spent tipping the ticos who are making your vacation funmazing. They work 14 hours a day, six days a week for not a lot of money. Remember that when you don't get your coffee refilled as soon as your mug is empty.
The skinny is that this is an awesome place for people who don't care to be fawned over, who are with people who are down with fun. So grab your beautiful woman, pack your positive attitude and 70 spf sunscreen, and live the pura vida for a while. One more wave, one more cerveza, one more sunset. You'll never want to leave.
And to my french surfing brother, i will see you in another life.

ps. try not to go the week after a pop icon dies, you'll hear their music non-stop. AND I-E-I... WILL ALWAYS LO- UH- HUV YOU- OO-OOO-OOOO.....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We had such a lovely time, the boys enjoyed the pool and the beach....jumping in / out /through the waves.
Beautiful sunsets.
Resort was just the right size to get to know some fellow holiday makers.
The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful.
We had fun ziplining and enjoying the wonderful nature.
Excellent value, good food ,clean and good fun.
Special thanks to Shannon for the rescue !...above and beyond the call of duty.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

Summary: 
Discount all of the extremely negative reviews and believe all of the specific good points mentioned by reviewers. Stars, in this case, are somewhat meaningless. It’s a five-star if you want a clean, cheap, decent place from which to stage excursions to interesting locations like Manuel Antonio Ntl. Park or Arenal volcano. It’s a one-star if you just want a week of sun, sand and good food at a luxurious resort. There is no luxury to be found here, but if can get a good deal and your expectations aren’t high for amenities or food variety, you will have a great vacation, as we did.



Writer's background: 
I'm a journalist and I've traveled to every continent except Antarctica. I’ve spent a lot of time in Africa and countries like Afghanistan so I'm no prima donna. I'm comparing Morgan's Cove to the other all-inclusive hotels at which I've stayed in the Caribbean and the Americas.



The Good:

-located right on the beach, great sunsets, and the dining is almost on the beach with an unobstructed view of the sea. I always wondered why more resorts didn’t do that.

-clean, security was never a concern

-the town of Jaco is a short walk away… it is not the “armpit” described by many reviewers but you’ll have to go further afield to find “authentic” Costa Rica

-local transportation is easily available (and cheap). My strong recommendation for the mildly adventurous: eschew the organized and expensive tours to places like Manuel Antonio or Arenal and either take the local transpo or rent a car. You will save a ton and it’s much more fun. The roads, while often steep and winding, are excellent.

-very good Wi-fi from all over the compound, though it is intermittent in the upper rooms.
–staff are very friendly and helpful and the American owner is onsite
-the local beer Pilsen is delicious



The Bad:

-beach is quite rocky

-drinks *are* either watered down as many claim, or else made with really weak booze

-while many of the meals like the mahi mahi and the fried chicken are tasty, there is very little variety (only about five total bins in the buffet) and are often repeated. There are no alternatives on-site, though there are plenty of decent restos in Jaco which range from American fast-food to local cuisine

-very few organized facilities onsite. Everything is quite primitive, no hints of luxury. Pool tables broken, etc. It is a very simple resort... I wouldn't want to spend too much time there. 

-towels are mysteriously at a premium.
All are mild-annoyances rather than deal-breakers


I have no desire to return to Morgan's Cove specifically, but it was a perfectly adequate base camp for what was a beautiful week in gorgeous Costa Rica and if I found myself in the same area again and could get a similar deal I’d have no hesitation going back.

A final word if you’re thinking of booking: we got a great price by booking last-minute. The people who waited even longer to book paid almost a third of what we paid. If you’re not fussy about where you’ll be and aren’t heart-broken if things fill up, you can get a spectacular deal by waiting to book till a couple of days before you plan to leave.

If you have any specific questions I’m happy to answer messages.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

It’s already been said that Morgan’s Cove Resort gives you a lot of bang for your buck, and I totally second that. I stayed there for seven nights in February 2012. I have to say the thing that most surprised me about MC was the food. Although there isn’t a big selection, the food was consistently good and the chefs always incorporated authentic Costa Rican cuisine into each meal’s offerings. The resort itself is pretty small compared to a typical all-inclusive joint, but this definitely worked to its advantage. The staff was very helpful, friendly, and welcoming. They were even able to inform us about local social events such as beach bar parties and club nights on the strip. Our room was both clean and comfortable; however, the air conditioner wasn’t as cool as we would have wished, but that definitely didn’t affect how impressed we were with MC and its service (I’m pretty sure it was just our room with that problem).
Another great aspect of Morgan’s Cove is its location. From the restaurant, you can literally see the beach. We spent most mornings and afternoons dining alongside the sunrise or sunset. The beach is less than a minute’s walk away from the resort, and, though it’s not your typical white sand, blue-watered beach, it was equally beautiful and picturesque (especially the sunsets).
Jaco is known for surf culture because of the waves so the beach and strip are pretty heavily populated with equal numbers of tourists and locals. The strip which is a five minute walk away from the resort boasts many cute souvenir shops, a couple restaurants, and some bars. The lifestyle in Jaco is clearly very laidback. It’s a great way to immerse yourself in a bit of Costa Rican culture. Very nearby you can go both ATV-ing and zip-lining. TIP: book these tours outside of the resort i.e. at tour services on the actual Jaco strip and it can save you up to $60 because they offer you combined packages.

All in all, Morgan’s Cove provides a very clean, friendly and cozy atmosphere for tourists who want to kick back on the beach, be immersed in local surf culture, and be close to convenient adventure tours.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has a working air-conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Get the real deal...WOW what a clean and cheap resort...
we were 3 friends from Montreal had the time of our life
the staff R so friendly & helpful .Free wireless internet
Tennis court security at all time.we were there for St
Valentine what a great meal .....thanks to the chef.
I will be going back the end of March....
This place is breathtaking .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

nice location for this resort.. mins from the beach - in which my option is a black ash beach full of rocks - but some seem to like that as an idea of a beach!! not me!

The town centre had alot of shops both to eat and buy gifts.. also a KFC which had wings that are not found in the US or UK... a taxi form the resort is less then $1.50 which is good if you don't want to do the 10 min walk...
staff at the resort were very friendly - nice and accommodating..

the food thou was not up to standard.. the "buffet" well i would not call it a buffet.. however for my vegi g/f they did make special meals upon request...

Overall i would say 6/10 resort....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Address: 150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgan’s Cove Resort & Casino located Beach Front in the quaint surf town of Jaco, Costa Rica. This bustling seaside village has restaurants, clubs, bars, casinos, and gift shops making it the most popular destination in all of Costa Rica. Adventures within minutes from the Resort include Sport Fishing, Zip Line Tours through rain forest Canopy, ATV tours, Horse Back Riding, Surfing, Golfing, River Rafting and Hiking the most popular Parks of Costa Rica, Carrera and Manuel Antonio National Parks. Relaxing around the two pools or sun tanning on the warm sand of the Pacific Ocean are a favorite past time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan`s Cove Resort And Casino
Morgan`s Cove Hotel Jaco
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.