We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will be back!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Best Deal on Jaco Beach
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Will be back!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

This resort is a small place with a great feel,met the owner the first night there,he and his management staff were all excellent!! We also met Shannon which will take care of any issue you have,this place is a smaller resort but right on the beach,clean,and the food was great.
It isnt downtown but a $2 cab ride or a 15min walk and your surrounded by nice shops,restaurants,nightclubs etc.You have to leave the resort and get the feel of downtown Jaco beach...all day trips can be booked at the resort,and any problems will be taken care of...our air went down and it was fixed in a couple hrs.they have a casino with a nice bar,not too busy and also a nice feel from the staff there.they have a wide selection of premium spirits as well as many good local beers....make sure you greet "JOSE" who is the manager as he is a great helpfull gentleman,you will know who he is....If you want a nice relaxing place to stay with a beautifull beach,parrots flying over you, not too crowded? this a the place to be....we will be back!!!!..."pura vida".

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    95
    66
    29
    22
See reviews for
45
103
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We have spent an enjoyable week in Jaco. Total cost for both of us was ridiculously low $1,338.65. That included our flight, transfers from and to the airport, hotel room, all inclusive food and local alcohol package and all the taxes including Costa Rica departure tax.

We find it difficult to understand most of the complaints.

1. Location: This property sits at the best stretch of the beach.

2. The beach: Beautiful reddish brown sand with black streaks. Retreating waves created beautiful patterns on the sand we never tired of watching. There were stones at the upper part of the beach but most of it was walkable barefoot. At the low tide, to our delight, we gained from 50 to about 80 meters of flat and stone-free beach. It was perfect for long walks.

3. The room: We stayed in room #118 at the ground floor. It was quite sizeable with a big bathroom. Yes it was old, but kept reasonably clean. Our maid did an outstanding job. As we entered our room for the first time we were greeted with a musty smell. We turned the air-conditioner on and, in about one hour, it was gone for the remainder of our visit.

4. The food: We found the food tasty. The selection was limited (so what?!?!). What we liked very much was the fact that the food was dispensed by the servers. It did not afford the inconsiderate tourists the chance to turn the serving trays into some unappetizing mess. Local beer was not bad and there were four to choose from. Wine was Chilean and better than in most Caribbean 3 or 4* all-inclusives, the reds were served quite warm though.

5. The service and the staff: We were amazed at the FIVE STAR service at meals and at the bars, however, the resort was quite understaffed during the last 3 days of our stay and the servers were simply overwhelmed by the number of customers they had deal with. In general, all the staff were courtieus and helpful without being subservient. We do not see any value in being served by people with stupid or false grins on their faces. We saw a lot of random and appropriate-to-the-situation smiles in Costa Rica.

In short, we've got at leat twice the value for our money.

Room Tip: If you like to keep your curtains open all the time and keep your privacy, request a room on the sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

It is an ok place for the price. We had the same buffet all week, but everything was good. New hotel for international customers, it was a hotel for the locals. I am not sure that all the staff is happy about these changes, they don not smile much. One very very nice guy called Francesco does a wonderful job. Please tel him know that he does a great job.
The beach is wonderful, hotel is at walking distance from Jaco centro, great.
One thing that no one has said anything about, is that travelers can bring their dogs. Weird, near the pools and stuff.
Rooms are old, but ok. Not sound proof.
For the same price, I would go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St-Pie
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

My husband and I went there for an all inclusive vacation (1 week). We paid 750 $ (including flights, transportation from/to airport, food and drinks). Since it was very cheap, I cannot complain too much, but I have to admit that the rooms are quite old and smell weird, there were a couple of bugs as well (but hey, it's a tropical country, so I guess it's just normal to have a few visitors during the week...)...
About the food, don't be picky : there isn't much choice (rice 3 times a day, 1 fish, 1 meat and vegetables, that's IT!)... As for the staff, you have to work hard to get them to « like » you... Most of the employees there were not very friendly - i felt bad/shy everytime i had to ask for something. But once you get one employee to be friends with you, you can pretty much ask for anything, and he/she will be happy to get you what you want.
What I would say is that if you don't expect too much and go out of the hotel, it's a nice place to relax. Remember that it's NOT a 5 star hotel...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

this hotel has room for improvement. Room wasnt terrible; Smelled musty and dank but ours was close to the beach so it made it more tolerable. I thought the hotel staff was not at all friendly. Maybe if you were a local but certainly not to us. The reception desk as well as everyone in the casino did not smile once. No exaggertion. Felt like whatever hospitality i did feel was very forced. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London U.K.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

My wife and I live in Costa Rica and this hotel is just over an hour from our home.Sometimes we just like to getaway and relax on the coast. We arrived and liked the layout ; we had a room near the beach and were impressed with its cleanliness ; and throughout our stay found the staff very courteous. Restaurant food was quite good and a couple of times we had our meals at the bar conveniently located by the restaurant. Well equipped Casino also with a bar!! When we need a refreshing weekend we will be back ; that says it all!!

Room Tip: Our room was on the beachfront and it is convenient to the beach,restaurant, bar, and pools.Recommen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

This hotel was better than we expected! We used the shuttle service from the hotel, which was there waiting for us at the airport when we landed. The drive was about 2 hours from the airport to Jaco. The bathroom was great with a nice big shower. The AC worked really well and kept us cool the whole time. The food at the restaurant was pricey but great. The hotel in very close to the ocean and can be seen from the restaurant. If you want to be as close to the beach as you can, reserve a room by the restaurant. It was quiet most of the week until Friday-Saturday. The staff speak English and can make calls for you for tours and whatnot. The pools were pristine and clean. I had no complaints about this hotel and am very pleased about it. It did not have wireless internet in the rooms, which didn't bother me since I didn't need to use the internet but for those who do, you can use the computer in the lobby. The TV has a few English channels with movies and sports.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino

Address: 150mts de la municipalidad de Jaco, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Morgan’s Cove Resort & Casino located Beach Front in the quaint surf town of Jaco, Costa Rica. This bustling seaside village has restaurants, clubs, bars, casinos, and gift shops making it the most popular destination in all of Costa Rica. Adventures within minutes from the Resort include Sport Fishing, Zip Line Tours through rain forest Canopy, ATV tours, Horse Back Riding, Surfing, Golfing, River Rafting and Hiking the most popular Parks of Costa Rica, Carrera and Manuel Antonio National Parks. Relaxing around the two pools or sun tanning on the warm sand of the Pacific Ocean are a favorite past time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morgan`s Cove Hotel Jaco
Morgan`s Cove Resort And Casino
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.