We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grounds, few issues.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Green

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Green to your Saves list
Hotel Green
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Quebrada Seca, Jaco Beach, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Fort Payne, Alabama
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Lovely grounds, few issues.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I traveled to Jaco with my husband and mother. When we arrived at the hotel we weren't sure if they were open of not, there was not a soul on the grounds. About 15 minutes after we arrived we were greeted by a female employee who gave us the key to the room and handed me the telephone to speak with the manager of the property. She advised that she would come by in the morning to sign paperwork. I advised that we would be leaving early the next morning for a fishing trip so she agreed to come at 8 pm that night. When we got into the room it was of adequate space and clean, no major issues except that the window wouldn't lock. We decided we would ask to be moved to another room when the manager arrived. We went out to dinner, got back early knowing we needed to get in bed early. The manager arrived around 830 and I went over to meet with her, as we were all exhausted from a long day of travel and the knowledge that we had to get up at 5 am the next day. She met me and advised that she had to get her daughter to sleep before she could meet with me, no bid deal to me. She advised that she thought we were a family with children, however there were only 2 towels in the room? I really couldn't wrap my head around her emphasis on thinking we were a family with children. My being with my husband and mother was a best case scenerio for them, I would have been livid if I had children with me due to the lack on attention from the staff. Either way by the time we actually met with the manager to sign for the room it was too late to worry about asking to move to another room.

The hotel has the potential to be great as it is really close to town, but you feel like you are in the middle of no where when you are on the grounds. The lack of organization by the staff is off-putting and I am extremely laid back and go with the flow of things especially when in Costa Rica

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    9
    0
    4
See reviews for
9
14
1
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I booked a room directly via their website and received confirmation a short while after. Just received an email, only a week before departing for my trip, stating that due to a "glitch" in their reservation system, they are unable to honor my reservation. This has left me in a very difficult position, as most places are already booked. Whereas I thought "Green" meant environmentally sustainable, turns out it just means catastrophically amateurish. I would recommend booking your stay elsewhere unless you want to end up scrambling for lodging at the very last minute due to their incompetent "glitches." P.S. Thanks for ruining my trip!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at Hotel Green, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Maureen, we are very sorry for the change in plans for your trip. We did send you an email 2 weeks before your arrival with a few options in our area for relocating your reservation and offered to make the reservation for you if you confirmed which one was to your liking. If you wish to take advantage of our 15 % discount on your next visit, you would be pleased to see our recently renovated rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have rented rooms at Hotel Green many times but this last time I reserved 6 rooms at the hotel and they refused to honor my reservations and sold the rooms to other people after I had confirmed reservations there. The woman who managed the hotel then claimed they had no way of contacting me but they had my email to be able to send me hotel cancelation notices after we spoke today, These people have lied to me repeatedly and I would not trust them to honor your reservations. I would not personally trust my own safety or the safety of my family with these scam artists never mind how would I ever leave some luggage in their rooms. My advice would be to stay elsewhere in Jaco.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Nice small place only 6 rooms, The BBQ area is nice but looks abandoned. it was a very nice experience very quiet and relaxing, The pool is very nice and you can see a lot of parrots and birds around the place. friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at Hotel Green, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for your review! Enjoy our frequent client discount on your next visit; just ask our reservation team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were welcomed by a lovely french canadian couple who stay on the property. It was very safe because they closed the gate after 7pm. The room was perfect! The lady helping us booked our day trips and she was a great help for everything we needed. Jaco beach is close everything was a taxi ride away for less than 4$ it is better to stay a little outside of the main street of Jaco so this was perfect.

Room Tip: its very small so all rooms are just fine..there are two floors and 6 rooms total.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, General Manager at Hotel Green, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for your lovely visit ! We enjoyed having you here and hope you visit us soon. Happy guests like you make us happy :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I recently spent a weekend at Hotel Green in Jaco Beach, Costa Rica and it was a real "funtastic" experience. The hotel is small, with just a few [very well decorated and spacious rooms], the swimming pool is not that big but, the pool area is filled up with energy from the Sun and is beautiful.
The service was good, the prices are very affordable and there are many bars and restaurants is the area. I recommend this nice green spot in Jaco Beach, Costa Rica.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quetzaltenango
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

It's a nice hotel but I was a bit disappointed by the garden. I was waiting for something bigger. You have to have a car as it's not that close from the beach. The apartment was big and it was great to be able to cook and not go out with a 2 year old son. Staff is friendly and we appreciated the swimming pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel G, Owner at Hotel Green, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Greetings,

Thank you for your feedback. We are at 800 meters from the beach, or 1 (one minute) drive.

Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Green

Address: Quebrada Seca, Jaco Beach, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Green 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ecological Hotel Green is a sustainable housing option, different and comfortable in Jaco Beach, 2 minutes from downtown Jaco by car or a 15 minute walk. Hotel Green has pool area, ample parking, a BBQ area for social events, a truly beautiful garden, in addition to its highly trained and friendly staff (languages spoken: English, French, Spanish). An ideal place to enjoy the beauty of the area, and to do so in harmony with the environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Green Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.