We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, but nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada to your Saves list
Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada
Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Average, but nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The condos are large and clean and well maintained, and the pool area is nice. Some of the lounge chairs are broken and need to be replaced. There were very few people in residence at the time, which is nice, but also a little creepy. Where is everyone? The property is a long walk from the beach, driving is recommended. The kitchens have the bare minimum for functionality (cake pans, but no mixing bowls?). A/C in all rooms worked great. The maids wash the towels in the unit washer and dryer, but they leave them in the dryer, so if you don't check, you don't know they are there! We used timeshare RCI points to stay, but it wasn't worth the points that we were charged.

Room Tip: Request a pool view condo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salinas, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've read the widely -and wildly- different reviews and must say that I had no serious complaints. Four of the six buildings are complete, but of the 160 completed units, only 15 or so were occupied, some presumably by owners. The AC worked, the daily maid service was satisfactory, there were no cockroaches or mosquitos, and we never felt ill at ease. Service from the reception desk was spotty when we called for assistance.
Work on the complex was clearly ceased some years ago with the economic crisis, but the building we were in was adequately maintained. The grounds are immaculate and the large pool area beautifully maintained every morning. It's a 4-block walk into town or to the beach.
If we were to return to Jaco, I'd have no reason not to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the back of the buildings, facing the pool area provide a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Marque, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

This place is at best a dump!!!! We had to have the AC in the master bedroom fixed 3 times. The bed is a 4" matress on wooden slats. The maid service wouldn't leave clean towels even though we asked for more towels 4 time in 5 days. There is only one tv per condo. the wi-fi that's advertised only works in the office and a little by the pool. The office is open 8-5 and if you need anything after 5 you out of luck til 8 the next morning. If you want to make a call out you can only do it with the office phone, you can't make local calls from your room. And finally, the so called spa is one person in an empty first floor condo with a massage table! Other than that the country is great.

Room Tip: there aren't any good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

First impression of this place was really good, it looks fancy and clean from the outside, but once you get into the buildings everything chances, cracks on the the walls, bad paint jobs, broken elevator buttons, and 4 out of 5 of the A/C's where broken as well.

The ONLY good thing about this place was de pool.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was a disappointment. The unit itself was spacious, but very cheaply furnished. Large cockroaches spotted scurrying across the floor. Strong sewage smell coming from the dishwasher when opened. Reception desk was useless. No recommendations or information about the area provided. Everything about the place seemed bare-bones, excepting the pool. I can't figure out why this property received so many good reviews. Trust me, I'm not picky, and this place was a big letdown. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My wife, daughter, son-in-law and I just returned from our first visit to Costa Rica. We had a wonderful vacation and plan on return visits. Included in our great vacation was a 5 night stay at the Jaco Bay Condos by Ramada. Prior to our trip I did read some of the less than satisfying comments and reviews. After our first night I was wondering what the expectations were of these visitors. This is not the 4 Seasons or Maui Westin in Kaanapali.. It IS a very clean, secure and well managed complex in a lazy beach town on the edge of a rain forest in Central America.
I recommend a stay at this condo and Jaco Beach to anyone looking for a family-friendly, safe and adventure filled vacation. Incredibly reasonable..five stars and two thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The complex is a work in progress. It seems like it was being built and someone ran out of money because two of the towers remain unfinished. The two towers that are unfinished are a bit of an eyesore and should be wrapped to cover the blight. There is no full time reception desk; The reception desk is located in one of the unfinished units. The rooms are very nice and clean, no complaints there. The pool was great. We did not experience any of the the power outages. I think you would be hard pressed to find a room with an ocean view. The ocean is at least a two block walk and is not that great. Jaco Beach also is not the best place in Costa Rica

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada

Address: Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most happening beach towns in Costa Rica, and just 1.5 hours away from the International Airport, the Ramada Jaco Bay is an ideal home base to live and explore the stunning mid-pacific coast line of Costa Rica. Our property provides a relaxed and private ambiance allowing our guests to easily visit the beach located one block away from our property, or stroll through the main boulevard of Jaco in search of a wide variety of restaurants, boutique shops and grocery stores. Our 2 or 3 bedrooms condo suites are an ideal choice for families and friends offering designer furnishings and modern decor, fully equipped kitchens and separate bedrooms promising all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo and Booking.com so you can book your Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaco Bay Condo Hotel By Ramada Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.