We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Find another hotel.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada to your Saves list
Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada
Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Norwich, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Find another hotel.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was a disappointment. The unit itself was spacious, but very cheaply furnished. Large cockroaches spotted scurrying across the floor. Strong sewage smell coming from the dishwasher when opened. Reception desk was useless. No recommendations or information about the area provided. Everything about the place seemed bare-bones, excepting the pool. I can't figure out why this property received so many good reviews. Trust me, I'm not picky, and this place was a big letdown. Go somewhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    10
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
13
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Bernardino, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My wife, daughter, son-in-law and I just returned from our first visit to Costa Rica. We had a wonderful vacation and plan on return visits. Included in our great vacation was a 5 night stay at the Jaco Bay Condos by Ramada. Prior to our trip I did read some of the less than satisfying comments and reviews. After our first night I was wondering what the expectations were of these visitors. This is not the 4 Seasons or Maui Westin in Kaanapali.. It IS a very clean, secure and well managed complex in a lazy beach town on the edge of a rain forest in Central America.
I recommend a stay at this condo and Jaco Beach to anyone looking for a family-friendly, safe and adventure filled vacation. Incredibly reasonable..five stars and two thumbs up!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

The complex is a work in progress. It seems like it was being built and someone ran out of money because two of the towers remain unfinished. The two towers that are unfinished are a bit of an eyesore and should be wrapped to cover the blight. There is no full time reception desk; The reception desk is located in one of the unfinished units. The rooms are very nice and clean, no complaints there. The pool was great. We did not experience any of the the power outages. I think you would be hard pressed to find a room with an ocean view. The ocean is at least a two block walk and is not that great. Jaco Beach also is not the best place in Costa Rica

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I have stayed at this complex four times and will be returning spring 2012. The complex has gone thru some growing pains and I will be the first to admit the 2009 visits were less than satisfactory while under the management of Ramada, who no longer manage the place. The complex has retained the name of Ramada only. I met several long term renters entering their second year of residence in the complex and they commented things greatly improved when RCI took over. Not all units are owned/operated by the on site management company referred to in many of the reviews. I found privately owned units (not the Phoenix owner) independently managed by BeachhomeCostaRica.com and they were Very Good. It is a SELF CATERING unit, not a hotel. Especially good for families or groups of 2-6 people.The units have been stocked and outfitted beyond basics by the owners. They were well maintained, very clean and exceptionally large. House keeping was provided at the end of every week. Daily maid service was available for an additional fee, however with a washer & dryer and all cleaning supplies included, we did not utilize.The complex is located in the north end of town which is quiet, and within easy walking distance of shops, restaurants and nightlife, and 2 blocks from beach.
THE GOOD:
Additional manual locks were added to the condo unit door, a metal key is provided to renters and controlled by the private management company. On site company does not have access to the units.
There is a safe in the master bedroom which you can program your own combination - USE IT !
Great large pool surrounded by oasis garden with shallow end for children. Also a playground for children. Patio chairs, lounge chairs, patio sun umbrellas and 3 seater patio swings with canopies available for your use.
Condo units have large balconies with this unit containing a large patio table, comfortable patio chairs, fold down table attached to railing, in addition to the bistro table & chairs.
Unit has a panoramic view of the mountains, town and ocean.
Other items in unit that are beyond the basic - Coleman cooler on wheels, beach sun umbrella, rain umbrellas, nightlight in kitchen that automatically turns on in the event of power failure and converts into a flashlight, battery backup to support computer equipment for WIFI, small DVD and book selection for you to enjoy, neoprene drink holders to keep your beverage cool.
Private management company is located off site, but still in Jaco and offers great support if you need it and contact them with your concerns. They also were able to arrange transportation to/from airport for a fee, and recommend/arrange tours.
NOT SO GOOD, BUT NOT SO BAD:
TV is not a flatscreen, but who goes to Costa Rica to watch TV ?
Despite posting instructions how to operate AC, still hard to figure out, ASK for assistance on how to. The country is hot and humid !
Pool area could use BBQ's for renters to use
Pantry kitchen doors continually jumped out of track.
Power Outages - EXPECT THEM. The outages are not caused by the condo complex as suggested by previous reviews, but happen locally. I have sat on the balcony and the portion of the grid for the town where the complex is located is dark, but other portion grids are lit up.
Yes, there are two building towers that are empty shells of buildings which are an eyesore, however they are not visible from the units I stayed in, only if you have a pool view unit or are sitting at the pool. The areas have been sectioned off by a high fence and shrubbery. Do not think these empty buildings are only happening at this complex. The country has many such buildings dotting the landscape, as the construction industry and property sales were hit extremely hard in these economic times.
Lastly:
Jaco has changed dramatically in the past years, from a sleepy fishing town to a popular tourist location. Drugs and "ladies of the evening" have been cleaned up, but not eliminated. Be smart, be aware,do not treat your safety and possessions any differently because you are on vacation. I personally have not had any issues with my safety, parking my rental car and I walk the streets in the evenings without any concern. The police have a strong presence in Jaco, and in fact, while driving in the town and surrounding area, have been stopped at roadchecks up to four times in one day/evening. Always carry your passport or a photocopy for ID.
I would not let any of the negative issues affect your decision to visit this beautiful country and a chance to interact with the wonderful locals, the Tico's.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with a mountain, town & ocean view and book through a private management company
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaco, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

I'm just wrapping up a 6 week stay at this location from October 28th until Dec 12th. I read some of the previous reviews and see that two of the "bad" reviews occurred at the same time, during a power outage. In the 6 weeks here the power did go out twice. Both times it came back on within an hour. This hotel/condo, like almost all the others, has a generator but it only comes on to power the elevator. I would understand how uncomfortable it would be if the power stayed out for several hours because it is very hot and humid here all the time.

As for the theft I read about in another review.....well how dumb were they. Apparently some jewelry was stolen by some employee that obtained a master key. Well crap happens...no matter where you go and this place is no different than any other. There is gated security that checks everyone entering the property. There's this little thing in the master bedroom called a SAFE...I tend to keep my valuables in there (passport etc) while I'm gone although I have the upmost respect and trust for the two young ladies that work for Mgr and clean the rooms.

Speaking of cleaning. You get daily maid service here. That includes everything from cleaning the floors to washing the sheets and towels. They will even wash and fold your laundry if you leave it out.

During the 6 weeks I've been here I had three maintenance issues with the A/C unit in one of the rooms. Each issue was addressed promptly and fixed to my satisfaction. I was impressed with the service.

Bring the kids....this is a family friendly location. The pool is excellent and very large and there is a play area for children. The only downfall is there is no BBQ grill for use on the property and a disposable one you can pick up at any store in the states is non existent here.

Ramada sits on the Northern end of Jaco which I enjoy because it is quiet but still just a stones throw (or a $2 cab ride) from the action.

Remember one thing....this is a different country and your a visitor. It is not at all dangerous unless you put yourself in a dangerous situation. Jaco by day is a very family friendly location with numerous things to do and see. At night it is an adult playground with numerous things to do and see....at night it is very possible to be approached and asked if "They can get you anything". There are street hustlers everywhere. Guys that try and assist you parking your car and then say they will watch it for you....hey, it's more than the transients back home do, at least these folks are trying to make a dime. Bottom line is that I have not had any issues with safety. The police are out in full force walking the streets and I avoid walking down dark streets at night (something I think we all do everywhere we go).

So...Ramada Jaco Bay in my opinion, is a great choice for anyone wanting to see Jaco and stay in a condo with all the comforts of home (and maid service).

Room Tip: No restaurant or fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

First of all, Jaco is not the best place in Costa Rica. It is a tourist trap, the beach is lousy, and it's dangerous -- more dangerous than other towns of its size. That being said, if you stay in the Jaco Bay Condo, it is not a terrible place to stay assuming that the price is right for you. We went as guests of an RCI member, so I don't know if we got better treatment than an average visitor. Here are the good things: a great pool! (see photos), very, very nice people who run the place and clean, security ( a guard is always on duty), close to the center of Jaco, washer and dryer, nice kitchen accessories. If you come here (or any place in Costa Rica, I imagine), bring dryer sheets, hand sanitizer, or antiseptic towelettes, dish washer soap, anything you MUST have that will probably be expensive in Costa Rica. The bottom line is that you are not going on vacation in the United States, so don't expect everything to be like it is "back home". Save yourself some money and go to a more predictable place if you don't like surprises like power outages (didn't have one!), bugs, things that don't work "exactly right". If you like to travel, see new sights and try to understand another culture a little, then I recommend Costa Rica.

Room Tip: Yes, there are a couple of buildings that look like they were bombed in the war. See photos. So if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

This was supposed be the best family vacation ever. Ended up being the worst vacation ever! Where to start?When we arrived, there was no power in our condo. We rented from a private tenant and he failed to pay the electric bill on time. We had to pay out of pocket to rent another room. Power wasn't turned on until a day later. Two days after that, the power goes out at the entire complex. We then had to rent a room at the Best Western across the street. While the power was out, our room was broken into by a staff member. They stole two diamond necklaces of ours. The marketing director made a master key that she didn't dispose correctly, threw it in the trash, and one of her staff members took it out of the trash. So this person had free reign to the entire complex. Scary!!! She took full responsibility of the theft and promised to reimburse us for our loss. Of course that didn't happen! Not much else I can say, but BEWARE!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada

Address: Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most happening beach towns in Costa Rica, and just 1.5 hours away from the International Airport, the Ramada Jaco Bay is an ideal home base to live and explore the stunning mid-pacific coast line of Costa Rica. Our property provides a relaxed and private ambiance allowing our guests to easily visit the beach located one block away from our property, or stroll through the main boulevard of Jaco in search of a wide variety of restaurants, boutique shops and grocery stores. Our 2 or 3 bedrooms condo suites are an ideal choice for families and friends offering designer furnishings and modern decor, fully equipped kitchens and separate bedrooms promising all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo and Booking.com so you can book your Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaco Bay Condo Hotel By Ramada Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.