We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traveler Beware!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada to your Saves list
Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Dallas, Texas
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Traveler Beware!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We were robbed (burglarized) at this condo resort and we believe that the management of the resort may be involved. The burglary was clearly a planned heist. No less than 10 minutes of our departure from the condo on our first day of a one-week rental stay, a burglar entered our room using a card key and stole two diamond necklaces valued at $3,000. The subsequent investigation by local police determined that the Director of Marketing and Sales, Catalina Jimenez, one of only three persons authorized to create universal key cards, had made the card that was used in the burglary. She subsequently admitted her mistake (she said she threw the card away in a trash can because it had a defect) and her liability for the loss of our possessions. At the urging of the general manager she promised to reimburse us for the amount of our loss, but asked for 30 days to come up with the large monetary sum. Needless to say after 30 days we were back in the U.S. and our phone calls to the general manager and the Marketing Director have gone to no avail. The general manager had literally sworn an oath of blood the day we departed for our return to the U.S. that he would make sure we were reimbursed for our losses, now I can't get him to take my calls.The "police department"? Their ineptness was evident when it took them three days before showing up at the "crime scene" to dust for fingerprints. By the time they showed up (my family had stayed there the remainder of the week, but this is another story) the crime scene had been compromised by our fingerprints. Now, all they will tell us is that their "investigation" is in progress and we must contact the condo management to seek reimbursement.

Oh, and of the six nights we had contracted to stay at the resort (this condo is owned by Michael Cantor of Phoenix, AZ, PLEASE don't believe everything he says about his beautiful rental condo!), two of them we had to rent hotel rooms in another part of town (at our expense) to spend the night due to long power failures at the resort - - - longer than 24 hours each time, no elevators, air conditioning, lights, nothing! In fact, we believe the robbery was staged by the first power outage. No less than 10 minutes of our vacating the condo due to the first power outage (five family members and a two-year old) our condo was broken into and burglarized.

In short, our dream family vacation turned out to be a ROYAL NIGHTMARE thanks, in part, to the management of the Jaco Bay Condo Hotel Resort.

Room Tip: Please seek other accommodations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
13
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

My husband and I are in our late 30s with no children. We went to this resort for a week through an RCI Exchange and only had to pay a $258 exchange feeto stay the entire week. Because of this, and my strong desire to see Costa Rica, this place worked fine for us. I came up with this list while at the resort and I hope it helps others to make an easier decision on whether or not to stay here than I had.

Top 10 Things this Resort Does Well-

1. The pool. It's well taken care of and I love the pool water temp whirlpools at the end.
2. They leave you alone, nobody nagging you about tours. In fact, nobody even here.
3. Huge balconies
4. TV-It gets CNN and the local major US television network stations
5. Wi-fi. Only had an issue connecting one time, otherwise it's very reliable.
6. A washing machine and dryer in the unit.
7. Wildlife right in the trees that you can spot when your lounging at the pool. Who knew we needed binoculars at the pool right? Yesterday, we saw 2 Scarlet Macaws (parrots) just from our lounge chairs.
8. Coffee maker in room
9. The air conditioning gets COLD. And, that's really important here
10. Shower is decent

Top Things this Resort Needs Improvement on:

1. No amentities. No soap, no dishsoap, no laundry soap, no coffee, no welcome treats or cream and sugar, no dishtowel, no paper towels. Nothing extra except for small bottles of shampoo and conditioner.
2. They didn't inform us how to work the air when we first go here & it was miserably hot in our room. That led to a really bad first impression.
3. Ants in the kitchen and living room area
4. Not the best maintained. Toilet paper just sitting on the back of the toilets when only half of the toilet paper holder fixtures are mounted. Blood spotted on a rug and the secondary bedroom comforters. Floors are dirty, dishes chipped in the cabinets. Lampshades crooked. Laundry door missing from it's track.
5. The 2 unfinished buildings are a huge eyesore outside. They claim from a previous review they aren't theirs--but they look exactly like the buildings around us & the one we are staying in. It's like they just went bankrupt & didn't have enough money to finish what could've been a truly outstanding resort.
6. The misrepresentation of the rooms on the internet vs reality. The pictures of this place show only the walls that have been painted vibrant colors with the beautiful large pictures on them. The reality is, right across from that wall, none of the other walls are painted--everything is white, no pictures on the wall. It's very odd. It was obviously staged just for pictures. The "flat screen" tv might be a flat screen, but in reality it's not. It's not the current kind that can hang on walls.
7. No clock anywhere
8. No radio anywhere
9. Furniture--all of it. is. uncomfortable. Deck chairs on balcony are cheap. Pool chairs are white plastic and cheap. Bed is low to the ground and only on thin slats of wood. It fell apart while we were here and we had to fix it. Couches and chairs are weird and not comfortable. Living room table is cheap. You get the idea.
10. Reception area was unprofessional. When we first got there, a bike was blocking the steps to the door, and a friend was in there with their child just hanging out with the receptionsist. When our keys were deactivated because they didn't realize we were staying the week & not just the weekend, another friend was in there and it appeared that they were watching a youtube video and laughing at it. They seem interrupted when they actually have to work to help someone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

After reading some of the reviews its obvious the hotel manager is writing reviews that are FALSE - STAY AWAY!

We stayed at the Ramada Jaco Bay resort for 2 weeks in January 2011 - WHAT AN ABSOLUTE DISASTER!!! We strongly recommend cleaning every piece of your luggage and clothing when you leave - the infestation of bed bugs was horrible. They rent nightly party suits to locals who play loud music until 3-4am and security does nothing about it. Our rental car was damaged 2 times in the guarded parking lot. Our room was disgusting when we checked in and they said sorry we didn't have time to clean it? Who gives a guest a room that hasn't been cleaned? The furniture was stained and smelt bad, the beds were broken, the walls in the washroom were molded and bathroom doors could not close due to water damage. We had a blood stained mattress and the staff claimed it was hair dye? We read the negative reviews before booking out trip, but we still went because a friend of ours had been a few years back and enjoyed it - well they changed owners since his trip and its evident. The place is a complete disaster and the hotel is apparently on the brink of bankruptcy according to locals, you'll notice construction has stopped on the building they dont show you in the lovely photographs, and by the way that will be your view!!! You will find better, cheaper and cleaner accommodations in the area, we stayed at other properties even though we payed for 2 weeks at the ramada. We booked with Nolitours (transat) who lied to us about the room - NO OCEAN VIEW SUITES ARE AVAILABLE FOR RENT!! AND Nolitours offered NO SUPPORT ON SITE, NO CUSTOMER SERVICE, NO COMPENSATION for anything - stay away from both Nolitours/Transat and Ramada Jaco Bay its not worth the aggravation. I have been traveling for years and I have never written a negative review EVER but this time the world must know about this and hopefully save people from experiencing what happened to us. STAY AWAY.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrRamadaJacoBay, Director of Sales at Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
We would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectation as well as for the inconvenience experienced during your stay at our property.

Since your stay back in January 2011, the property operations, maintenance and customer service has gone through a series of improvements to provide our guests with a more joyful and pleasant stay with us.

After reviewing our guest service report as well as your comments, we feel it is appropriate to provide an answer to your review.

Although we try our best to normally accommodate all guests immediately upon arrival, in your case we experienced a delay on providing you with your originally assigned room. Even though, we were able to present to you another room option at the moment, you decided to wait for the original room assigned to be cleaned by our maid service.

It was never our intention to present to you a room that hasn´t been cleaned, although according to your insistence to have access to the room immediately in order to leave your luggage, we took you to the room which was at that moment been cleaned by our maid service; and from which you took pictures during the cleaning process and posted them in your comment.

Regarding the room views and location please note that our property offers Pool & Partial Ocean View condos according to floor level as well as Standard Condos with no view.

Your reservation was placed with us based on a “flat rate” condo in which view and location of room is based on current availability at check-in time.

Also, our records indicate that you stayed with us during the entire time according to your original reservation placed with us.

As for the noise problems within the property, please note that based on your report and other complaints back in January 2011, we have already taken applicable measures and guidelines for our management and security staff to be pro-active solving this type of situations which may disrupt guest’s enjoyment at the property.

Regarding the empty construction you mention, please note that even though it belongs to the same corporation, it is not related to our operation and it is located into a separate property and not blocking any of our unit views.

As for the situations you mention related to your rental car damage, bed bugs and overall furniture conditions in the room, our reception and guest service department is always present to help with any complaint and solve the problems as soon as possible to provide a trouble-free stay. Over these specific issues we did not have a report from your part during your stay which would have helped to correct the situation immediately.

We really appreciate your comments & feedback, and we will strive to improve every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
innisfil
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Hotel/condo was clean and modern. Loved being able to do laundry. Staff where great. Nice pool and the grounds are well kept. We are used to traveling in small hotels with no laundry or kitchen. This condo was was very spacious and the full kitchen allowed us to prepare our own meals. Shopping was easy to get to by foot or for $1.00 you could get a cab. Having travelled in central america before we new enough to get out of the heat by 11:00 am and seek shetler until 4: pm.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

This was our first visit to Costa Rica. We traveled with another couple and our two bedroom condo was exactly like the photo on their website and was very spacious. It was furnished well, the kitchen was adequately equipped and we had a washer/dryer. However, what their website did not show you was that the resort was not complete. Two of the six towers were only hollow shells and the drive up looked like a construction site. The pool was complete and was actually very nice. However, the two incomplete towers were definitely a distraction. There weren't many guests at this resort and most of the time we felt that we had the place to ourselves. This was not the true resort experience. There was no restaurant or gym. We were suppose to have internet in our condo, but it definitely hit or miss. Most of the time, we had to go down to the office to connect. We had daily maid service for an extra weekly fee but had to wash our own towels. We were within walking distance to a beach, but it wasn't very nice so we chose to drive to other beaches close by. We were also within walking distance to the town of Jaco which was nice. The staff was friendly and tried to accommodate us if possible although we ask for a room with an ocean view and found out these were only available for sale. I would only recommend this "resort" if all you want is a nice condo within walking distance to Jaco.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jordan, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Unfortunately, I could not recommend this hotel. I stayed here with my family over the New Year's holiday. We were interested in staying in a condo for the convenience, but that was definitely lacking at this property.

Some of the issues:
- breakfast was included with the rental. Simple "tico" meal of fruit, coffee, juice, beans and rice, and scrambled eggs was tasty. However, portions were small, and when my teenage son asked for more "por favor", the wait staff looked liked he'd slapped them in the face! Also, as breakfast was only served from 8-10 a.m., it did not suit the hours of a traveling family. Please note, there is no restaurant or bar at the property.

- We believed that we would get a fully equipped kitchen so that snacks and small meals could be prepared in the condo. A full set of dishes was not included, and we were told that we could not use the dishwasher. The cleaning staff was to do the dishes, but there weren't enough utensils to make it through a day! No cleaning supplies, dish towels or sponges were included, so I had to go to the supermarket to purchase items to do my own dishes by HAND!

- towels were only provided upon arrival, and we were told that if we wanted clean towels, we were to wash them ourselves. Again, no detergent was provided, so we had to purchase detergent and wash them ourselves.

- Power outages are VERY, VERY common. NO candles, flashlights were provided. We had to go to the store once again to purchase. I left them at the condo, but i am sure that the next visitors won't get to use them, as it seems that any "useful" items were stripped.

- The pool is large, but there is no shade, which kills gringos between the hours of 10 a.m.- 4 p.m.

What I did like:
The front desk staff and the security guards were helpful and friendly. You can walk easily to town, or take a taxi for $2. The property was clean. We had an in-room safe. Plenty of parking for our rental car (although it was damaged in the parking lot beside our unit... thankfully we bought full insurance).

I would definitely recommend staying elsewhere in Jaco. Anywhere you stay, bring:
-a flashlight and candles , as power failures happen almost daily.
- a dictionary, as few people speak English. (the guards and I used the dictionary and sign language to communicate LOL)
- a good attitude, remember pur vida!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada

Address: Pastor Diaz Avenue, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most happening beach towns in Costa Rica, and just 1.5 hours away from the International Airport, the Ramada Jaco Bay is an ideal home base to live and explore the stunning mid-pacific coast line of Costa Rica. Our property provides a relaxed and private ambiance allowing our guests to easily visit the beach located one block away from our property, or stroll through the main boulevard of Jaco in search of a wide variety of restaurants, boutique shops and grocery stores. Our 2 or 3 bedrooms condo suites are an ideal choice for families and friends offering designer furnishings and modern decor, fully equipped kitchens and separate bedrooms promising all the comforts of home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaco Bay Condo Hotel By Ramada Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaco Bay Condo Hotel by Ramada, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.