We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fries in Costa Rica” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Papas and Burgers

Papas and Burgers
Calle Bohio, Jaco, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 108 Restaurants in Jaco
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Southfield,MIchigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Fries in Costa Rica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Loved this place, everyone spoke English, burgers were good,but fries were the best I've had in the week I've been here. Will be going back for breakfast I got one more week.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    22
    6
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Best veggie burger in town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

The group I was with (family and friends) were making regular burgers in the condo. We could not find veggie burgers in the local Super Mercado. We stumbled across Papas and Burgers by accident. We got a veggie burger and fries for takeaway. It was very well executed. Great flavors, textures and large enough portion size to have seconds for lunch the next day. This review may not mean much for meatatarians, but if their meat burgers are half as good as the veggie, you can’t go wrong. The fires were pretty good, too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

wonderful american burgers with a chill costa rica vibe. Tasty beers and good people always around
Claudio and Chris the owners are friendly and heaps of fun!
pura vida!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BEST BURGER EVER!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This Place Has The Best Burger I Have Ever Had!!!!!! The Smoothies Are Good Too!!!! The Staff Is Great!!!! I Love This Place!!!!! I had the Costa Rican Burger (or Tico Burger I can't remember the exact name). AMAZING!!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Coast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Super awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place is cheap, yummy, and the staff are awesome. The restaurant is attached to the hostel but don't let that deter you (just encourage you!). The food is great if you are looking for a well crafted cheeseburger or sandwich and some yummy fries! It isn't a michelin star dining experience but hits the spot super hard.
The staff, however, are where its at. Really friendly, unpretentious, laid back and helpful. Great place to stop on the way to or from the beach!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papas and Burgers also viewed

Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
Jaco, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Papas and Burgers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papas and Burgers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.