We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jaco Beach Village

Jaco Beach Village
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Jaco Beach Village to your Saves list
Jaco Beach Village
| Jaco Beach, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Sallisaw, OK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Excellence!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed here in December, 2012. We stayed in an upstairs, 2 bedroom unit, fully furnished, with patio facing the beach. I agree with other reviewers about the outstanding location...quiet, off the beaten path but only a short walk to central Jaco action, easy access to beach, shopping, restaurants. Security is great 24 hours a day. You can see the security guard regularly, but he is always unobtrusive. Our owner was also a hands off owner, but available if needed. Secure parking if you happen to use a rental car and drive. Nice little cabana with BBQ grill. Units are furnished with full kitchens, well stocked with kitchen ware and appliances. Hot water. Plenty of electricity. Internet access available for those that have more important things to do than enjoy the beach. Grocery store just a short walk away.

The complex is at the southern end of Jaco beach. Very clean and well tended units and property is extremely well maintained. Room cleaning is available at a cost. But, who needs a maid to make a bed, or wash a few clothes, or put dishes in a dishwasher. Do it every day at home, so it doesn't seem like a big deal to me. I personally like the option of choosing to go to town for a meal, or, if the mood strikes me, prepare meals in the kitchen.

Beachfront is close, clean and mostly uncrowded. 15 steps from the beach gate to the sandy beach. Another 100 steps to the water...more at low tide. A slow and easy walk down the beach takes you to the southern end of the beach. Another slow easy walk takes you up the beach toward the center of town. It was wonderful to sip coffee early in the morning, watch the surf break from the patio, and enjoy the birds, iguanas and squirrels prowl the area. Equally wonderful to take a morning dip in the ocean, or play in the waves during the day or evening as the tide changes. Astounding to see a flight of scarlet macaws, 20 strong, pass overhead.

The village is family friendly. The party folk don't stay here. Was not disturbed by noise at any time during our stay. It is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the beach in Jaco. Easy travel time to Quepos, Puntarenas, only about 2 hour drive from the airport. There are other beachfront options available in Jaco for a lesser price, but they will not provide you the amenities or privacy available here. Well worth it, IMHO.

Room Tip: units available for small parties-1 br units- to very large units with several bedrooms. Available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melrose, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I would like to recommend anyone and everyone stay at Jaco Beach Village. The place is gorgeous and totally well maintained and has excellent staff and security. Second to none. The Owner Cathy is an amazing person,who made us feel so welcome and accomodated. I plan on only staying there, the next time in Jaco.Thank you Cathy and Your entire wonderful Staff. Your new friend Glenn

Room Tip: They have multiple size condo rentals. I stayed in a 3 bedroom mansion size condo that could probabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Our family of seven stayed in this unit for four nights in January 2013. We booked the specific unit (#7) through vrbo. While this was not a cheap option, the unit definitely exceeded our expectations. It was clean, secure (gated and guarded), spacious (cavernous?), and well-appointed/maintained with a great kitchen, laundry and 3 BR/BA.

The owner lives in the same complex. She is pretty hands-off but is available, very helpful and responsive. The most impressive feature to us was the stunning view from the veranda and the master bedroom. This is truly "beachfront" property with only a few steps, some palm trees and a locked gate between you and the beach. We spent every sunset either at the beach or on the veranda taking in the ridiculously gorgeous view and the sound of the ocean.

The only minor improvements that I would recommend are: (1) more furniture on the porch and in the rooms to help fill some of the space (the rooms are huge); (2) minor repair to the laundry, and (3) a larger TV (also to fit the room size)...but you shouldn't be spending time watching TV in such a gorgeous location anyway.

One other side benefit is that a huge rainbow macaw visited the wild almond tree in the yard for breakfast and dinner each day. Since this unit covers the second and third floor of the building, we were able to get amazing views of the bird in action. Much different than seeing it in a cage in a pet store.

Room Tip: The units are all different and privately owned. We stayed in unit 7 which we booked through vrbo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Me and my wife stayed here and loved it. The place is bigger than we thought it was going to be. It has a big patio with ocean view. You can just watch the surfers while relaxing on the patio. Walking distance to restaurants, nightlife,and shopping. Hung out with some cool neighbors. The best place I saw in Jaco. Loved the town, very friendly. The owner gave tips on the area ,and gave us a ride one day. Very nice guy. It was above our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

I found this unit on VRBO and the pictures there do not do this place justice, The condo was bigger and grander than what appears in the pictures. This condo is within walking distance of all the shops and restaurants, has a full kitchen, washer and dryer and a picture postcard sunset view. The cross breeze (in Nov) was nice, we only used the AC at night for sleeping. Only downside is the water pressure here is low, I had hot water so that is all that matters.
Added bonus~in front of one of the surf spots.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

We enjoyed our stay here..... the weather was hot and some rain......but the hotel was nice and clean.... we will be back

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

We stayed at Jaco Beach Village for the entire month of March 2009 and will return sometime soon. This is a very quiet comfortable, upscale condo complex and would stay here anytime. The owners are from the states and are very helpful as well as the other condo owners their at JBV. You will not go wrong staying here it is close to everything.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.1 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mango Mar
Hotel Mango Mar
#24 of 43 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 41 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel & Club Punta Leona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Room2Board Hostel and Surf School
0.6 mi away
Club Del Cielo
Club Del Cielo
#9 of 55 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Monaco Condominiums Jaco Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jaco Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jaco Beach Village

Address: | Jaco Beach, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Jaco Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jaco Beach Village Costa Rica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jaco Beach Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.