We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Nine is a Ten” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Nine to your Saves list
Hotel Nine
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Beach Front, 50mt south Condo Mar Arena, Jaco, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 19 Jaco B&B and Inns
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hotel Nine is a Ten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stop your search right here. Hotel Nine should be called Hotel Ten.

Many times you'll go somewhere a second time around and it won't be the same. Not the case at Hotel Nine. I'm really not sure it can get much better than this place.

If you're looking for a relaxing trip with all of the amenities (pool, spa tub, beach 20 feet from you), again, look no further.

Taking a tour of the hotel, I can say every room has its own nice experience. Traveling with a friend of mine, I chose the penthouse on the top floor (stairs were easy) and my friend had the adjoining room next door. Open your windows, open the sliding glass doors, enjoy the view and the sounds of the waves crashing. Want even more than that? Sit right outside your room on the comfortable outdoor couches.

One night we met others at a bar in town. It was a $2.50 taxi ride (about 3 minutes). All of us came back to Hotel Nine, sat by the pool and in the pool. We wanted the full tropical experience, so we ordered strawberry daiquiris and pina coladas. They were excellent! The staff at Hotel Nine made it so simple. We didn't want to get out of the pool, they brought our beverages right to us.

Beds were very comfortable, breakfast and lunch at the hotel's restaurant was one of the best meal's I had in town.

If you want comfort, if you want luxury, if you want relaxation, if you want one heck of a view... you want Hotel Nine.

Room Tip: Every room is great. If you want the most space and probably the best view, the Penthouse is the way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    12
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
11
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

Not one complaint. Staff was amazing. Food was great. No need to ever leave the hotel. They were able to handle every request we had. Great concierge and easy access to downtown. Wifi worked great even on the beach outside the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelman321, Manager at Hotel Nine, responded to this review, October 28, 2014
We always appreciate how great your entire group was to our Staff. thanks again for staying with us, we hope to see you soon.

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SW Ranches
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Once again, Hotel 9 gave us a great weekend. Second year hosting a bachelor party in Jaco and the staff and owner took great care of us. We will definitely be back again next year, pending wedding or not.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014

Our stay at Hotel 9 was incredible! I would recommend this to anyone visiting Jaco, Costa Rica. Every aspect is remarkable - From the incredible property and its location, to the top notch staff, and to the amazing food! This place is a Must Go!

Room Tip: Every room is outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2014

This was my third time in Jaco and I will never stay anywhere else. The hotel is in a quiet area of the beach and is a 5 minute taxi ride from all of the Jaco restaurants and bars. The rooms were comfortable, clean and new, with great views of sunset from the balcony. The staff is very friendly and helpful and set us up with a fishing day trip and a jungle tour. When we got back from our fishing trip, the kitchen cooked up the fish that we caught and our group sat by the pool eating delicious garlic Mahi Mahi. Great place to relax and enjoy Jaco.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Hotel 9 on our boys trip this past week. The rooms are really nice and comfortable. Proper AC is a key to a trip to Costa Rica and the AC in this place was great (It felt like a meat locker when we wanted it that way). We wanted to rent out a property entirely to ourselves and we had a party of 12. I decided to choose this property after reviewing several others and the reason was the assurances by the owner. I was in contact with him throughout the process. I really felt comfortable working with him. Jack is a perfectionist and it shows with how much pride he has with his hotel. His staff (especially Marianna, Nelle, and Joanna) are wonderful people who go out of there way to make you feel comfortable. The restaurant is really good as well and we had no problem either eating in or eating out. As you will see in the pictures, you are literally on the water but you are no longer then a 5 minute cab ride or a 15 minute walk to all of the action in Jaco. We felt if we wanted to go out on the town that we could and we were also far enough away so we could relax if we wanted to. Jack, you are a gem and thanks for making this a great experience. We will stay at your place in the future. PURA VIDA!!!

Room Tip: Ask for the VIP or Penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

My daugther and her boyfriend were traveling to Costa Rica but had no idea where to stay. After doing a little research online we came across Hotel 9...what a gem! It sounded great and the pics were beautiful...but it is when we called to book that we discovered Hotel 9's real treasure. MARIANA!! Hotel 9 was available for 4 of the 8 nights that were needed...but Marina went above and beyond and recommended accommodations that would be similar to their hotel. She even booked the nights for us!!!! We inquired about a limo service from the airport to Manuel Antonio and from there to Jaco. She recommended Luis from Cuchi Transfers and Tours....and made all the arrangements!! He was also wonderful and suggested tours for them to go on. My daughter and her boyfriend were looking forward to meeting Mariana and staying at Hotel 9. Hotel 9 did not disappoint...it was beautiful and the food was delicious! They loved it! They could walk into town from the hotel or just sit on the beach in front of the hotel or poolside to relax. The room was clean and comfortable. Along with Mariana, Laura was the other receptionist who was super helpful as well. They both said they would go back to Hotel 9 and they definately feel they now have a new friend in Costa Rica....Mariana! They loved her and said she was awesome!!! Mariana, you put this worried moms mind to rest from your first Hello...your customer service and professionalism and your love of your beautiful country is to be admired!!!!
Pura Vida

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nine

Address: Beach Front, 50mt south Condo Mar Arena, Jaco, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nine 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to “ THE 9”, the Premier Boutique Hotel in Playa Jaco, Costa Rica. At “THE 9” we have a beautiful Swimming Pool with 5 cascading waterfalls. Our swim up pool bar is a refreshing place for a Margarita in the afternoon. Enjoy spectacular sunsets. At night, relax in our heated Jacuzzi. Then fall asleep to the sound of Pacific Ocean waves breaking on the beach. “AT THE 9 RESTAURANT & BAR“ ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Nine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 9
Hotel Nine Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.