We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and comfortable -- perfect accommodations in Jaco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pumilio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pumilio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Pumilio
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 943-1000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 42 hotels in Jaco
CT
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Tranquil and comfortable -- perfect accommodations in Jaco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

For this trip to Costa Rica, we needed a different itinerary. My husband was racing in the staged bike race La Ruta de los Conquistadores that starts in Jaco and ends in Limon, and I followed with a friend/driver in a car. We chose to build our own itinerary rather than stay in the main lodging (Best Westerns etc.) In Jaco, we liked to reviews for El Paso de las Lapas. This 10 room boutique hotel is on a quiet, rural dirt road only five minutes outside of Jaco. We had a car, which made it very convenient as well, although from reading other reviews, it sounds like the hotel management will pay for taxi rides to town, which is a huge plus. We stayed here 2 nights before the start of the race. It was the perfect choice. The setting was very tranquil. We were on the 2nd floor in the far corner, so we had a lovely view of fields to our right, and in front we overlooked a small river (muddy now after torrential rains in the preceding weeks) and lovely hillside. The pool was pristine and relaxing. The room was spacious, with two queen beds and a day bed. In many ways it was a basic hotel room, but nicely decorated and comfortable. A nice touch was a basket of snacks with a welcome note. A sliding door opened onto a lovely balcony with a patio chair and tables and a full kitchen with a stocked mini-bar. Breakfast was served at the covered, outdoor dining area by the pool, and included eggs, gallo pinto (rice and beans), fruits, cereal and toast, orange juice and coffee – and I may be forgetting something. A few downsides to mention – no other meals are served, so you will need to go into Jaco or elsewhere for other meals (which was fine, as we had a car and it was so close). The beds were rather hard, as other reviewers have mentioned. Also, while we were there the hot water didn’t seem to be working. I hate to even mention it, since we also never bothered to ask the management about it – it just wasn’t a big deal for us. There is wi-fi, but it does not work in the rooms. I could access it from the balcony on occasion, and from the dining and pool area. I would definitely go back to El Paso de las Lapas, and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a tranquil location along a busy coastline.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Manager at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Hi, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize about the hot water, evidently the pilot had gone out on the hot water heater, but until someone reported it we weren't aware of it. Regarding the WiFi, we have installed some range extenders and the signal now reaches all the rooms. I hope you have a chance to come back and stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    22
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
63
97
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

We only stayed here a night as a stop in a longer drive but were not disappointed. This is a great economical find in a private little residential area of Jaco. For those looking for something a little off the beaten path but still top notch service this is the place. We were greeted warmly by Ana, the manager and immediately felt welcome and well cared for. When I asked if they had laundry facilities, she was kind enough to offer to take our stinky wet laundry home with her to wash. We had washed some clothes the sink and had been trying for 3 days to get it to dry without success. Such a nice gesture and totally unsolicited but very much appreciated. Each room is as advertised, modern updates, outdoor kitchen with fridge, freezer, stove, microwave and sink. We even borrowed their blender to make frozen margaritas, yum! Pool was breathtaking overlooking the rainforest and breakfast was delicious. Would definitely recommend this as a place to stay and the customer service was top notch!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Manager at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, December 21, 2010
Hi, I'm really glad you two enjoyed your stay here - hopefully next time you'll get to spend a few more days with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

The number one asset of El Paso de las Lapas is the great staff that will customize your service just for you. Ana the manager can help you with everything from food, to spa service, to which tour to take. Nestled in the base of the rain forest and minutes to the beach or nighlife of Playa Jaco, the hotes is a tropical paradise. The tropical plants and birds are all around you..The pool has a waterfall and slide for the young and young at heart. Your spa is steps away from the pools waterfall. With the sounds of the waterfall and the birds, there is no need from fake nature music. It is the real thing., Add a light breeze and follow with a dip in the pool. It just doesn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

We LOVED this hotel!!!! My family and me stayed there for a week. It is beautiful and relaxing and we only wish we had stayed longer.. Ana (the hotel Manager) went out of her way to take care of us; we felt like we have known her for a long time. The hotel is surrounded by a beautiful rain forest and a river and the service is far better than any known chain hotel. We are already making plans to return to this beautiful place. Thank you El Paso de Las Lapas Boutique Hotel and staff for making us feel at home.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

El Paso de las Lapas is truly a hidden gem with far better service than your average chain hotel. The hotel is nestled in a residential area and is surrounded by beautiful rain forest and a creek. Each room has a full kitchen on the balcony and a view of the pools and landscape. The view is utterly breathtaking. The rooms have contemporary furnishings including two queen sized beds, ample seating and storage. A complementary, home-cooked breakfast is prepared daily and it is absolutely delicious. No pastries and juice--good, rib-sticking food. Definitely a big convenience! Parking is more than adequate and the lot is gated as well. Ana, the hotel manager, is incredible! I was traveling alone, so she helped me with my plans each day and booked a zip line tour for me. I will definitely stay here again. The only downers were the super firm mattresses and the road leading to the hotel. There are potholes deep enough to swallow a small vehicle so make sure to rent an SUV.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Manager at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
Thank you for the nice review. We're looking forward to having you visit us again. I thought you might want to know that the pothole situation has been fixed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We LOVED this hotel!!!! It was So beautiful and relaxing I only wish we had longer in the area so we could stay there. Ana (the manageress) took such fantastic care of us we felt like she was a friend by the time we left, nothing was too much and she went out of her way to take care of us. Between us we were on a meat-free and sugar-free diet but this proved to be no problem. Ana made sure we had pure fruit juice available for breakfast, the regular poached eggs were prepared in a ham basket (they did look delicious) but Ana kindly prepared a second lot for us that had not been anywhere near the meat. The breakfast was ample and very tasty. I LOVED our little outside kitchen area; it was ideal with everything you needed and no food smells inside. The staff met us at our taxi with umbrellas when it was raining, covered the cost of taxis to and from town and provided lots of helpful info about the area and tours available. I would without a doubt recommend this place; I only wish there were more of them so we could go back sooner.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

We stayed at El Paso for 6 days to celebrate a birthday. We knew this place was special when upon checkin, a birthday cake was waiting in our suite. This was the beginning of many special moments at El Paso de Las Lapas. Ana went out of her way every day to make us feel welcomed. From organizing our tours to making restaurant reservations, Ana was always anticipating our needs. We felt so relaxed knowing that we were in good hands. Thank you again, Ana, Able and Marisol for taking such good care of us! We recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Jaco.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pumilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pumilio

Address: Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 943-1000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pumilio 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel, ideal for families, couples or friends who enjoy the natural beauty, in a quiet environment, between two mountains of virgin forest at sea level and 3 minutes from beaches Jaco and Herradura. Enjoy the variety of sports tours, adrenaline, hiking, national parks, restaurants, shops, souvenirs, supermarkets among others.Personalized service makes an experience unforgettable. Our 10 spacious luxury suites, each accommodating up to 5 people, fully equipped kitchen, terrace or balcony & WI-FI. Rates include full breakfast without schedule.For other meals we have a portfolio called "Gourmet Adventures", including the menus of different restaurants at your service. Escape to a relax experience in our Spa surrounded by lush vegetation and enjoy the experience of being in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Pumilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso De Las Lapas Hotel Jaco
Hotel Pumilio Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pumilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.