We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, immaculate, small hotel with wonderful rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pumilio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pumilio to your Saves list
Hotel Pumilio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 943-1000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lovely, immaculate, small hotel with wonderful rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

My friend and I traveled to Jaco in late November. Although we really did not care for Jaco, we truly enjoyed our stay at El Paso de las Lapas.

This ten room hotel opened only a year ago so it is very fresh, yet seems to have worked out any new hotel issues. The rooms are large and lovely. We especially loved our balcony. We were on the upper floor at the end of building, so we had a wonderful view both of the land behind and next to the property. Moreover, we had a lovely open air kitchen on our balcony - as all rooms do - which we utilized a couple of nights while we were there. It was pleasant to enjoy the ceiling fan on balcony, use the pool in the evening and just stay put after a long day in the hot sun.

The staff is small, but very helpful. Ana, the hotel manager, was kind enough to e-mail me answers to several questions prior to the trip. The other three staff members have more limited English, but were always helpful and friendly whatever the time.

The property is small and set slightly inland and up a hill in this rather hilly region. The location is a huge plus as downtown Jaco is not particularly appealing as a place to lodge, the quiet setting allows you to see a few animals, and you have amazing lush views from your room. Moreover, the HOTEL PAID for all of of taxis to and from downtown. Finally, there are supermarkets on the short ride to the hotel from town. This is great as you can easily duck in and pick up some snacks, ingredients for dinner, and alcohol.

The hotel was very quiet most of our stay, but business picked up over the weekend when several well-off Costa Rican couples/friends also stayed there. As there are only ten rooms, however, you could barely notice the difference.

Our only problem with the stay was that we mistakenly decided to skip Manuel Antonio Park in favor of Carara Park at the suggestion of the hotel. We ended up spending too, too much money and probably expecting too much from our suggested taxi driver/guide. As is turned out, we saw no animals despite our early arrival and our "guide" spoke little English and clearly had no greater wisdom about the park than we had after reading about it on-line. Just stick to your original plans if you want to make sure you see animals, take the long early morning ride, and don't use "Norman the taxi driver/guide".

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    34
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
79
123
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

My husband and I spent a week in El Paso de las Lapas in November. The hotel is really nice, with a beautifully landscaped garden and pool area, modern furnishings. Rooms are large and comfortable with a kitchenette outside. The location of the hotel is perfect - close enough to all the action in Jaco but far from the noise and traffic. I would recommend renting a car. The beaches in Jaco are not the cleanest and you might want to explore other areas with much nicer beaches within 15-20 min drive.
The service in the hotel was outstanding. Ana, the manager, and all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and made our stay there very enjoyable. If you are planning a trip to Jaco you can't do better than El Paso de las Lapas.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

We were looking for a hotel off the beaten path, close to Jaco but not in the excessively busy centre of Jaco. El Paso de las Lapas came up with good comments in TripAdvisor, and we gave it a go. And we were very pleased; 10 attractive and decent-sized rooms with discreet cooking facilities for when you get fed up paying inflated prices for bland cuisine in many restaurants, a lovely pool, and a brilliant backdrop of jungle-clad mountain in front of the balcony. Close by is a small and totally natural village, and Jaco is about 10 minutes away by car. A large supermarket just 5 minutes away at Herradura makes stocking up a breeze.

Only breakfast is provided, so you have to cook or head out for other meals. A car is not essential, as the hotel provides 2 free return taxi rides daily to Herradura or Jaco. We were lucky to have the place almost to ourselves, so we couldn't judge how noisy it could be with other guests, perhaps our one question mark. Otherwise we found the place very friendly, and definitely worth heading back to in the future.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Extremely well thought out design and decor. Very peaceful. Excellent staff. Jaco beach is a great place to visit, but being a couple miles out of town was just right. The swimming pools are works of art.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris Plains
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2009

We were amazed not only by the hotel but by the staff! The staff went above and beyond, we couldnt have asked for more. We were greeted by Ana who bent over backwards for our every need. She knew the area so well that she provided an "insider look" on the "do's and MUST do's" of the area! We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who loves the idea of paradise and being pampered...i know we did!
We will return too!
B& C!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2009

We spent three perfect nights at this lovely botique hotel in Aug. of 2009. This was the last of three hotels we stayed in while on our 8 day trip to Costa Rica. The other two places pale in comparison to El paso de las Lapas and I am sure we would have felt very dissappointed if it was the other way around. We saved the best for last in my opinion. This hotel is a short taxi ride from the dark sand beaches of Jaco and Hurradura. We liked being away from the noise and traffic on the beach, yet we had easy access. The staff was outstanding, everyone there is so nice but the manager in paticular goes out of her way to help you arrange activities and day trips and makes sure you are enjoying your stay. This review would not be complete without making mention of the beautiful pool area and the delicious breakfast served each morning. I honestly can not wait to go back! Fern

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2009

I have recently returned from Jaco, Costa Rica and already I miss it. My stay at El Paso De Las Lapas made the biggest impact on our trip to Costa Rica. This Hotel is a piece of heaven in itself. Besides its beautiful view and comforting sense that the client gets from staying at this hotel, the AMAZING staff makes the Hotel complete. In the past I have stayed at some very nice 4-5 star hotels and never have they made me feel more at home like this place did.
First off I would like to mention Ana, the hotel manager, she is amazing at making each of her guest feel comfortable and well taken care of. She gives it 110% with a big smile on her face. Ana you are the best and I plan on coming back in the near future.
Carlos is another staff member that we are ever so grateful for, he really accomodated us in more than one way and even went beyond his duties to make us feel at home. Thanks so much for all of the extraordinary food, our experience would have never been the same without you.

Last but certainly not least, we'd like to thank Christian, the night guard. Along with carlos he too went out of his way to help us out and make our stay a comfortable one. He makes you feel safe and secure and that is not easy to accomplish (this coming from someone that stays in L.A.) Thanks Christian for making a group of drunks feel safe and at home. :)


~Alicia

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pumilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pumilio

Address: Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 943-1000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jaco
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pumilio 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel, ideal for families, couples or friends who enjoy the natural beauty, in a quiet environment, between two mountains of virgin forest at sea level and 3 minutes from beaches Jaco and Herradura. Enjoy the variety of sports tours, adrenaline, hiking, national parks, restaurants, shops, souvenirs, supermarkets among others.Personalized service makes an experience unforgettable. Our 10 spacious luxury suites, each accommodating up to 5 people, fully equipped kitchen, terrace or balcony & WI-FI. Rates include full breakfast without schedule.For other meals we have a portfolio called "Gourmet Adventures", including the menus of different restaurants at your service. Escape to a relax experience in our Spa surrounded by lush vegetation and enjoy the experience of being in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pumilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso De Las Lapas Hotel Jaco
Hotel Pumilio Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pumilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.