We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING Hotel and Staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pumilio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pumilio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pumilio
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 943-1000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 42 Hotels in Jaco
Newport Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING Hotel and Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

I had a great time staying at El Paso de Las Lapas. The hotel was absolutely stunning and offered a great stay for me and my 10 friends. We were so impressed by the hotel's landscape and more importantly the great hotel staff led by Ana Pana. She really went out of her way to make sure we were taken care of when scheudling activities, dining, and any plans we made in Costa Rica. She truly made it a great experience. We did not have to worry about anything because the hotel staff and Ana took care of our needs right down to calling us taxis everywhere we went. The housekeeping did a great job, as well as the security that made sure we were always safe coming to and from the hotel. Ana was a great friend to us and we appreciated her hospitality, it was truly a one of a kind experience. We would ALL highly recommend the hotel because of the staff's kind gestures.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    25
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
103
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

The service at this hotel is awesome 100%. The lady who works the front desk was absolutely wonderful, she gave us several options for places to visit, and each and every recommendation was beyond our expectations. She was very helpful with everything we needed help with, and if there was any problems she handled them promptly and treated them with the upmost importance. The room was great. Everything was basically brand new. The rooms have kitchens in them, and our kitchen was located on our balcony, which we loved to sit out there in the mornings and drink our coffee. There is a great view off the balcony, it overlooks the pool and the mountains. Location was great - it was just far enough out to be quiet and secluded, but close enough (10 mins or so) to downtown Jaco to enjoy all Jaco has to offer. I would recommend this place to anyone, and if we ever go back to Costa Rica, I wouldn't even think of staying anywhere but here.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san antonio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Hands down this is the best Hotel I have stayed at in a long, long time! The service was untouchable. Ana the staff at El Paso De Las Lapas were truly amazing. I could go on and on and on but maybe some examples would help.........

Two days before our arrival we had a problem with the tour company we had chosen. They were doubling the original cost. I called Anna and she arranged the same tours for even lower than the original price offered by the tour company. I sent her the email and in a matter of 5 minutes, i received a response saying the tours were booked.

Ana was nice enough to show us around Jaco and the surrounding area. (literally). She gave us a tour of a more secluded beach which was so so beautiful. Taxi service (incl charges) were provided by the hotel. Breakfast was inclusive. The food was to die for. The Accommodations were modern in style and comfortable. Air conditioned rooms, full sized beds and a flat screen TV. We watched tv in ENGLISH! lol. Every evening Ana would let us know when she was leaving the property for the night and make sure we were ok.

I wanted to order a cake for my friends birthday as a surprise. Once again I called Ana. Ana took care of ordering the cake and placed it in the refrigerator. It was a nice refreshing surprise after returning from our canopy tour.

I accidentally left my cell phone at the hotel, we headed back to San Jose. We were staying in San Jose for 2 days before heading back to the states. I emailed Ana and she arranged for my cell phone to be delivered to me in San Jose. The following day my phone was in hand. Ana arranged for my cell phone to be delivered from Jaco to 2 1/2 hours away San Jose. AWESOME SERVICE!

When planning our trip to Jaco, we considered staying at the Marriott but decided to go with something more authentic or local. We couldn't have picked a better choice. There is no way the Marriott would have catered to us as Anna and her staff did. My friend and I couldn't stop raving about the service we received in Jaco. The rooms were amazing and the view was to die for.

This hotel ............Ana.....The staff was truly truly perfect!
Thanks Ana!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

This is exactly what you are looking for in accomodation while in Costa Rica travelling with a family. There won't be the all the usual "pool centrered " hubbub that a big hotel chain will offer you , but you will feel like you've been to Costa Rica rather than a close facsimile! If you want a very nice luxurious well located place to stay that is secure and very friendly, this will suit your purposes well. We spent 4 of our days doing tours and each of them were arranged by Ana, who turned our trip into one of the best! And it's true - the owner will make you paella if you ask nicely! We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay...we will come back - with the rest of the family!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

Anna (hotel Manager), provided EXCELLENT service. We arrived Jaco from Arenal pretty late and she had chilled champagne waiting for us. She's very professional and well experienced in hospitality mgmt.

The room was to DIE for!!! This is a new resort (opened in Dec. 2009) so the place is immaculate. It's a smaller property (about 10 rooms or so) so that was very appealing to us being that it is nestled away from the lively Jaco "hip strip" but close enough to the nightlife/restaurants and shops (about a 5 minute drive). Every room has a balcony with a sitting area and an outdoor kitchen complete with appliances!!! Now that is genius if you're traveling on a budget (but Tico food is inexpensive anyway)! The beds were very plush, bathrooms very spacious and there's even a day bed by the door. Very spacious rooms with huge closets and a safe. The room is reminiscent of a picture in a Traveler Magazine or something!!!!!!

The location is about 5 minutes from Jaco by car. My girlfriend took the bus one night and walked to the hotel. It was dark and the road isn't paved but don't fret the hotel provides transportation to the center of town which was PERFECT!!! We took the bus everywhere we went. We found this to be very economical since the country isn't that big. Free authentic Tico breakfast included, lovely pool and spa area for massages.

I loved everything about this hote especially the SERVICE which was magnificent!!!

Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2009

After several other stops in Costa Rica, we ended our trip in February with a stay near Jaco.

While the town of Jaco is generally to be avoided, if you are coming for surfing, Carara National Park or other reasons, this is a great place to stay.

It's a few miles away from the main drag of Jaco Beach, which is a good thing. Recently opened, the staff was really accomodating and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and the room was clean and spacious.

While it is not the cheapest place around, it was definitely worth the extra expense.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

We just returned from our first trip to Costa Rica and this boutique hotel came after staying at the JW Marriott in Guanacaste. What makes this stay memorable were the owners, Laura and Fernando. They treated us like family, catering to each and everyone. Their own weekend house is situated next to the hotel, so you can contact them anytime. They bent over backwards providing us with board games, champagne at our arrival, detailed directions and maps and suggestions as to where to dine and surf. The most impressive detail was offering to make paella for our families on our last night which happened to be our 15 year old son's birthday. When Laura asked if he wanted a cake, I asked if she could get donuts instead. And low and behold, through her family's bakery business, she obtained the tasty treats. (not a typical Costa Rican item!) Laura says the hotel is her fourth baby as her three older children are now out of the house. So every detail is well planned and executed. And if you find you need anything, she will bring it to you. The set up at this place is ideal for families who are travelling with other families and with older children. They have 10 rooms altogether, 5 on the second floor and 5 on the bottom floor. We took 3 rooms on the top floor. All the balconies connect with outdoor patios and kitchens. Two nights we asked Laura to order dinner for us from different local restaurants. It was easy and convenient, especially after coming back from a busy day. The modern rooms are spacious with 2 queen beds and a day bed in each room. The decor is contemporary with flat screen TVs. And each room has a complementary snack basket which is great for hungry kids. The outdoor area has a beautiful pool with water falls, a spa room where you can get massages under a thatched hut and a thatched roof dining area where complementary breakfast is served each morning. Although this little hotel is not on the ocean, it's only a 5 minute drive to Playa Jaco. We stay at many 5 star hotels as we are Starwood Preferred Guests and this little gem will stay in our memory bank for many years to come.

  • Liked — The hospitality was excellent! And the set up was great for hanging out after a long day.
  • Disliked — I wish this place was on the ocean.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pumilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pumilio

Address: Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 943-1000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pumilio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel, ideal for families, couples or friends who enjoy the natural beauty, in a quiet environment, between two mountains of virgin forest at sea level and 3 minutes from beaches Jaco and Herradura. Enjoy the variety of sports tours, adrenaline, hiking, national parks, restaurants, shops, souvenirs, supermarkets among others.Personalized service makes an experience unforgettable. Our 10 spacious luxury suites, each accommodating up to 5 people, fully equipped kitchen, terrace or balcony & WI-FI. Rates include full breakfast without schedule.For other meals we have a portfolio called "Gourmet Adventures", including the menus of different restaurants at your service. Escape to a relax experience in our Spa surrounded by lush vegetation and enjoy the experience of being in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hotel Pumilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso De Las Lapas Hotel Jaco
Hotel Pumilio Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pumilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.