We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pumilio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pumilio to your Saves list
Hotel Pumilio
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 943-1000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

After searching and watching 15 hotels we decided to take this one, the hotel is small but worm the rooms are very very nice the beds are very comfortable , the pool is amazing , it is not located on the beach but it is worth the 4 minutes drive,
Breakfast is basic but clean and tasty

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Hi! We are glad that after searching 15 hotel you ending in our paradise spot surrounded by nature and ready to leap into happiness, thanks for your comments that will always be very important for us to keep improving our service and place. We really work making memorable memories of our guest vacation and know the value of them, not been in front of the beach gives you more peaceful rest and very close to go lots of activities a few minutes away. If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Best regards from all of us and hope to have your family, friends and specially you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    42
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
84
137
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stay in the Hotel last month and as always it was very nice, the room are cool, the recepcionist was very good and gentle, one of a kind. Highly reccomended hotel. And going with the kids is very enjoyble.

You will enjoy it!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, September 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments that are very important for us is the way to keep improving our services and place every day. A very special family that was a pleasure to have you with us leaping into happiness and adventure the wonderment of the sunset, the eyes of the crocodiles, the breeze in the trees you really enjoy life. If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Best regards from Team Pumilio, hope to see you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

My family and I went to this beautiful place about a week ago and we had a wonderful and relaxing day, the staff was friendly, helpful and the area is very clean, great swimming pool and good breakfast for the price. I wish I could have stayed another night or two.
Gracias amigos de Costa Rica!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Hope you had a nice trip back home, it was a pleasure to have you with us leaping into happiness a very special family we will always remember. Thanks for you comments that are very important for us, next time we hope you can stay with us longer and discover all the activities and things to do around the area like been at home our staff will always help you with every choice you make small as the seed or big as the sky will take you on the greatest adventure, for your heart will be true and you will see the meaning of the greatest adventure is now and always has been you. If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Best regards from al our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My daughter and I had a wonderful stay at Hotel Pumilio. The hotel is very clean, the grounds are lovely, and the staff is friendly, accommodating, and extremely helpful! Should we decide to revisit Jaco, we would definitely return to the Pumilio.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thanks you you comments that are very important for us, you and your daughter are very special and it's nice to see our good relation and a perfect vacation mom and daughter having fun together, at Pumilo you will always have a good time sharing with the ones you want and love. Our staff misses you smiling since breakfast in the morning. Hope you had a good trip back home and just remember If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. See you in a near future. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was a great place to stay. The hotel was a completely unexpected experience. When you look at the photos online you think na....can't be that nice, but it really is. I approve of this place. Huge thank you to the staff for being more than ordinary..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hello! Thanks for you opinion that is very important for us, we always disagree with the places that have fake photos on their sites our guests need to know as real as possible the place in advance. Our staff works every minute to make unexpected experience to our guest since we clearly understand the value of every single day specially vacations days! At Pumilio you Leap out of the ordinary and into the land of adventure, a very special couple that enjoys and smiles all the time, hope to have you back in the future. If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Big hug from all of us too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

To preface this review, I have stayed at hundreds of hotels from around the world and while I have been impressed with many, Pumilio is one of those that really jumps out and compels me to write this review (sitting on my room's private terrace as I type).

Pumilio is an amazing boutique hotel. It's our 5th hotel on our Costa Rica trip and none others even come close. With only 10 or so rooms, this property far exceeded my expectations and is run superior to most 5-star properties anywhere. This hotel spares no expenses. All amenities are top grade and they are continually upgrading the grounds even in the most minute ways. For as few rooms as they have, they employ more full time employees than much larger hotels I've stayed in Cost Rica.

Service is absolute impeccable and thoughtful in the most genuine way - from the front desk, to the maids, to the maintenance folks down to the security guards. Examples:

1. the morning after we arrived, our boys decided to check out the pool. No longer than 30 seconds upon jumping in, the maintenance guy, who was building a railing at the time around the pool area, immediately went to the lower section of the pool and turned on the pump which powers the waterslide to the lower pool. Needless to say, the boys were ecstatic.

2. one evening, we decided to eat in and use the hotel grill for some steaks. As I was carrying the steaks toward the grill, one of the security folks spotted me from afar, quickly came over and asked if I wanted to use the grill. He got it setup, handed me some grilling tools and even some seasoning. Amazing!

3. Upon finishing our breakfast on the 2nd morning, we were so pleasantly surprised to see our room made up when we returned. Apparently the maids notice we were in the breakfast area and promptly made up our room in order to be least disruptive to our stay.

I can go on and on about the small details and the level of hospitality these folks provide. On the hardware itself, the rooms are immaculate with nice furnishing. The grounds are beautiful in a serene setting. Location is also great, just about 2 miles from Jaco Beach.

All and all, this is a SUPERB property for families and couples alike.

Room Tip: All lower level rooms have direct pool access just steps from your terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Thanks for you clearly and true comments, we really appreciate them and every 2 weeks in the staff meeting we read the new ones and all of us feel very happy when a special family like yours takes the time to write and notice the small details that makes the difference and work if there is a improving note on them to solve it. We clearly understand what a vacation day means and the effort people makes when traveling and love to help as much as we can to have remarkable memories at Pumilio and Costa Rica exceeding expectations taking care of our guest budget and not having under cover charges. After all, humans can travel from one end of the world to another in a day if they choose. What meaning is left in a world which can be crossed over so easily? The most important is to leap into happiness at Pumilio. There is much to see and much to do near by with confort and helpful advise about your vacation purpose, but whichever you choose, remember to never forget to feel yourself in the earth’s groove our guests are like Kings and Queens, a treasure. Hope to have you back some day in a near future, just let us know and we can be part of your plans. If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Lots or thanks from all of are staff, we will always remember your special family. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My favorite hotel ever! Great experience, staff are super friendly and very helpful! Location was great very close to town and beaches. Rooms are very clean and upgraded. Breakfast was a plus. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Hello! Nice to hear from you and thanks for your comments that are very important for us. Once you leap into Pumilio there is no to-do list to distract you, no finish line just out of reach to put blinders on you, no people to please, no image to live up to, no race around the clock, even a non scheduled breakfast is one of are guests favorite experience. Hope to have you back in a near future leaping into happiness at Pumilio, let us know because we love to be part of the plans. It was a pleasure to have you with us. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Pumilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pumilio

Address: Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 943-1000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jaco
#2 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pumilio 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel, ideal for families, couples or friends who enjoy the natural beauty, in a quiet environment, between two mountains of virgin forest at sea level and 3 minutes from beaches Jaco and Herradura. Enjoy the variety of sports tours, adrenaline, hiking, national parks, restaurants, shops, souvenirs, supermarkets among others.Personalized service makes an experience unforgettable. Our 10 spacious luxury suites, each accommodating up to 5 people, fully equipped kitchen, terrace or balcony & WI-FI. Rates include full breakfast without schedule.For other meals we have a portfolio called "Gourmet Adventures", including the menus of different restaurants at your service. Escape to a relax experience in our Spa surrounded by lush vegetation and enjoy the experience of being in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Pumilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso De Las Lapas Hotel Jaco
Hotel Pumilio Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pumilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.