We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Rooms, Four Adults, Two children” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pumilio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Pumilio to your Saves list
Hotel Pumilio
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 943-1000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Cincinnati, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Two Rooms, Four Adults, Two children”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Great place. Quiet. Air conditioned comfortable nicely appointed rooms. Balcony refrigerator & mini-bar/sink. Optional connecting rooms. Badminton. Nice pool. Breakfast included & served in thatched open air dining area. Terrific, helpful staff. Really felt their mission was to make our stay enjoyable. Have linkage with and assist with ordering bring-in meals from several restaurants. Football (soccer) enthusiasts enjoyed outdoor TV near pool. Only negative was the poolside lounge chairs. They were of a design with comfortable fabric against your back and legs, but connected with a rigid and uncomfortable metal bar across your buttock. Fortunately breakfast chairs were nearby.

Room Tip: I can't image there is a bad room in this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello! We really appreciate your opinion, it is very important for us and counts to improve every day our personalized service, thank you for your service comments, we miss all of you and remember when it is a soccer game and hope to have you back soon, please let us in advance when you plan to come back, your family or friends, it will be a pleasure to help while you are planning the vacation. We are improving more places to order from Jaco, so you will have more options to choose from our Gourmet Adventures, you already know it does`t matter if you are too many.
Have a nice week!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    28
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
71
109
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pleasant Hill, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is place is a hidden gem. We were looking for a place to stay around Jaco and decided to stay here. We are a family of 5, and the boutique hotel was perfect. It's located about 1km off the highway just north of Jaco. The grounds are very tranquil and the landscaping was very fitting for Costa Rica. The staff at the front desk let us store our luggage until later in the day, so we could go to the beach until check-in (we arrived at 9:30am) After a day at the beach, and a great dinner at I Love Sushi, we checked into our room. Two comfy queen beds and a sofa bed. The room was decorated in a contemporary Costa Rican theme. The infinity pools included a waterfall and slide. We enjoyed the evening in the pool. The resort is small with about 10 rooms, and they all look out over the pool and garden. There's an outside kitchen with dining table and chairs just off each unit. We used the fridge for our drinks. You can order food from any nearby restaurant, and the staff will pick it up and deliver it to your room! We loved the breakfast, and were able to sit in a quiet relaxing atmosphere. We would definitely return.

Room Tip: Great alternative to downtown/beach area of Jaco
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Director de Recepción at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We are happy you enjoyed all the facilities of the hotel, just the idea is to welcome our client and make you feel at home, where families can come to relax and enjoy a good time surrounded by nature, the hotel facilities are dedicated to making the guest feel comfortable, we hope to have them back soon and can enjoy our beautiful country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is an absolutely beautiful hotel in a lovely location. The other reviews complaining about the distance from Jacó city are true, but it was not a problem at all for us. The hotel offers a complimentary taxi ride into Jacó and then back to the hotel once every day. Generally, we found that to be enough for us, as we didn't tend to leave the hotel until we were ready to be out for the day. We enjoyed swimming in the pool, sitting out on our little porch and watching the natural setting around us, and feeding the iguanas at breakfast. We also took advantage of the spa with body wraps the night before we left, and they provided a lovely end to our trip.

I noticed several people complained that the breakfast options were limited, but I found them to be perfectly fine. While the amount stayed the same from day to day, certain elements of the breakfast varied from day to day, and we were certainly satisfied with the food. (I recommend the scrambled eggs with leeks if they make those!) We also took advantage of the order in option and found the food to be good and served by hotel staff as if it was actually room service.

We found the staff to be extremely helpful and friendly. Marcelo was especially helpful, as he was the only person there during a transition in management. He handled the task in an exemplary manner. He was able to give us good recommendations for dinner and helped us find a good surfing lesson. All in all, it was a fantastic stay, and I could see it being a lovely place for a couple or a family who wants to be away from the hustle and bustle of central Jacó while enjoying the beauty and opportunities provided by the Pacific coast region of Costa Rica.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms walk right out to the pool area, which was wonderful. However, if you prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello! We really appreciate your opinion, it is very important for us and counts to improve every day our personalized service, since it is a boutique hotel is the perfect size to take care of what our visitors are looking for on their vacation. We like to make different breakfast every day so people can try different styles from Costa Rica, of course we always have our typical “gallo pinto” (rice and beans).
As you say we are located far enough from the hustle and bustle of Jaco with a spectacular view of a virgin mountain jungle, a river and the constant crossing of red macaws and toucans...but ...yet close enough to enjoy the night life, easy access to different National Parks as well as diverse islands and beaches in the Central Pacific. We are a mountain, beach and adventure boutique hotel. And we decided since we opened instead of having a shuttle going and coming we have a personalized one “taxi”, that’s why we pay them and have special ones that work with us.
We miss you and hope to have you back soon, please let us in advance when you plan to come back or your family and friends, it will be a pleasure to help while you are planning the vacation. Have a nice week!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We (2 adults and our 12 year old daughter) just stayed 3 nights at this exquisite hotel (March 2013) and could not have been happier. It is the perfect blend of eco - toucans, gorgeous green "jungle" setting, and the lovely amenities of a top hotel. Everything was perfect - the rooms were lovely and sparkling clean, the staff were incredible (thank you Anna for all your help!), the pool was just beautiful. So much thought has been put into this place. We loved the little "outdoor" kitchens and that we could eat on our patio. And it is so close to everything. (If you are not familiar with this area - do not, i repeat do not stay in Jaco - this lovely hotel is just 3 km from there). Fantastic value. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are lovely. But we chose a ground level so we could walk right out to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello! You are a very special couple and your daughter is so cute, can wait to have you back for more than 3 nights, so you can enjoy all the activities around from 5 minutes to 1 hour, beaches, volcano, mountains, surfing, bird watching, adventure, islands, etc. and come back home every day. We are having more toucans every day right know they have their nest in our trees, we really enjoy them every day. It was a pleasure to be helpful during you stay and that you enjoyed our outdoor kitchen so the room doesn’t smell the cooking, in Costa Rica our weather allows us to have them outside so you can be submerged in nature while you prepare your meal. Thanks again and please let us know in if any of your family or friends want to visit us, so we can help them in advance, and really hope to have you back again soon. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a great time. The owner is super nice, the room has great decoration and everything works perfectly. Great air conditioning and wifi. The pool is in a beautiful garden and the atmosphere is very relaxed. THe owner lives there and personaly takes care of all details and the staff was very kind to us. We spent 4 nights in 2 rooms. We are a family of 6.

Room Tip: They have only 10 rooms. Rooms are big and have a kitchen. I suggest the ones on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi! We really miss all of your family members, you are a nice and active family, it really was a pleasure to have you with us. We're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve. The ones on the second floor are more private we are glad you were on those and to see you again in Costa Rica surfing!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and we enjoyed having 2 adjoining rooms on the ground floor, which were just steps away from the pool. We were very happy to meet Marcello who helped us through some last minute flight changes! It was wonderful to be greeted by him and the wonderful surroundings after a long day of travelling! We were tired and decided to order supper from one of the restaurants in town. Our meals arrived quickly and was served on our patio! The pool was wonderful and most of the time we had it to ourselves with a few birds, lizards and a very large frog! We had a very early birding tour the next morning so they were kind enough to cook breakfast for us earlier than normal! The eggs and ham cooked in a muffin tin were very good!
The rooms were perfect for 3 people and the shower was absolutely the best that we have had in a hotel! The A/C was efficient and peacefully quiet!

Room Tip: The ground floor room away from the breakfast area is probably the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We appreciate you comments, your opinion it is very important for us. We were glad to help you with your las minute flight changes; we believe it is going to be a story to remember. Our guest enjoy the Gourmet Adventures because if you are tired you can eat at you room or dinning room, and everyone can choose his own place to eat, but at the same time without going downtown, glad to hear you enjoyed your decision. Out breakfast is serve when our guest desire we want people to get of schedules during vacation, we enjoy our personalized service and been helpful with all we can. Thanks again and please let us know in if any of your family or friends want to visit us, so we can help them in advance, and really hope to have you back again. Have a nice week!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Have been to El Paso de Las Lapas, Jacó, in january 2013 for 2 nights. That's the first time I was disappointed with the reviews of Tripadvisor in years. Let me start saying that the Jacó city is ugly and lacks attractions. The beach is ok and the hotel is hidden on a dirty road on the mountains. The instant we've checked in and entered the room, we felt a strong smell of mold. Alright, the room looks at the pool which is 10 steps away from the bed. The pool is really nice and surrounded by green everywhere you look. Gorgeous sensation! But that's all. There's a palapa with massage beds which is abandoned: dirty and full of insects. Our small kitchen outside the room was smelling really bad, so I didn't use it thru the 2 nights of our stay, only the fridge. The smell in the room was kind of ruining our first night and I started to notice that the room was not clean at all. The furniture had spider webs all over and I was really trying to find where the smell came from. I finally noticed that a fabric that decorated the bed was the source of the bad smell and was full of silverfishes. I told the front desk about it and he told me he would be in my room in five minutes to remove the infested fabric. The nice guy never returned and I took the fabrics out myself with bare hands watching a silverfish rain over the bed and the floor. Disgusting! Later on the night I told the guy on the reception I removed the fabrics myself and he collected it saying: "que pena!" or "too bad" / "what a shame". We slept and enjoyed a very limited but decent breakfast. Spent the rest of the day on the amazing pool and used the menu on the room (very nice indeed) to order food from local restaurants. The Hicaco was, by far, the best. In this day I could also notice that the lounge chairs and all the hotel furniture was broken or malfunctioning. There were 6 lounge chairs and only 2 were perfect. We left the hotel with the sensation that the reviewers were there at another era. I think it could be a great place if several issues were solved. Staff is nice and kind, but there's no room service at all, only breakfast at hotel. Would not return and I recommend this hotel for very relaxed people that need one night of sleep before reaching the east coast. That's it!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are more private than first floor pool front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi I am the owner and really want to apologize about the situation, we already changed the administration after this opinion, we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve. We already took care of all your comments, and your suite I agree with you was not clean as it should be, can´t believe how he didn´t take care of the situation and change your suite to another one. We also changed all the lounge chairs and with the new administrator that is a women that would not happen again, I live most of the time in my house next door, while you visited I was traveling too. We love the personalized service and staying out the strip of Jaco is more peaceful but close enough to go and enjoy for a while, and from here there are more than 45 attractions you can do, but probably he didn´t tell you either. Sorry I missed your visit and thank you very much for your comments, they helped me a lot to know what happened while I was traveling and work so this situation won´t happen again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pumilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pumilio

Address: Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 943-1000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pumilio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel, ideal for families, couples or friends who enjoy the natural beauty, in a quiet environment, between two mountains of virgin forest at sea level and 3 minutes from beaches Jaco and Herradura. Enjoy the variety of sports tours, adrenaline, hiking, national parks, restaurants, shops, souvenirs, supermarkets among others.Personalized service makes an experience unforgettable. Our 10 spacious luxury suites, each accommodating up to 5 people, fully equipped kitchen, terrace or balcony & WI-FI. Rates include full breakfast without schedule.For other meals we have a portfolio called "Gourmet Adventures", including the menus of different restaurants at your service. Escape to a relax experience in our Spa surrounded by lush vegetation and enjoy the experience of being in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pumilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso De Las Lapas Hotel Jaco
Hotel Pumilio Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pumilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.