We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pumilio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pumilio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Pumilio
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 943-1000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We (2 adults and our 12 year old daughter) just stayed 3 nights at this exquisite hotel (March 2013) and could not have been happier. It is the perfect blend of eco - toucans, gorgeous green "jungle" setting, and the lovely amenities of a top hotel. Everything was perfect - the rooms were lovely and sparkling clean, the staff were incredible (thank you Anna for all your help!), the pool was just beautiful. So much thought has been put into this place. We loved the little "outdoor" kitchens and that we could eat on our patio. And it is so close to everything. (If you are not familiar with this area - do not, i repeat do not stay in Jaco - this lovely hotel is just 3 km from there). Fantastic value. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are lovely. But we chose a ground level so we could walk right out to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello! You are a very special couple and your daughter is so cute, can wait to have you back for more than 3 nights, so you can enjoy all the activities around from 5 minutes to 1 hour, beaches, volcano, mountains, surfing, bird watching, adventure, islands, etc. and come back home every day. We are having more toucans every day right know they have their nest in our trees, we really enjoy them every day. It was a pleasure to be helpful during you stay and that you enjoyed our outdoor kitchen so the room doesn’t smell the cooking, in Costa Rica our weather allows us to have them outside so you can be submerged in nature while you prepare your meal. Thanks again and please let us know in if any of your family or friends want to visit us, so we can help them in advance, and really hope to have you back again soon. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    22
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
63
97
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a great time. The owner is super nice, the room has great decoration and everything works perfectly. Great air conditioning and wifi. The pool is in a beautiful garden and the atmosphere is very relaxed. THe owner lives there and personaly takes care of all details and the staff was very kind to us. We spent 4 nights in 2 rooms. We are a family of 6.

Room Tip: They have only 10 rooms. Rooms are big and have a kitchen. I suggest the ones on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Hi! We really miss all of your family members, you are a nice and active family, it really was a pleasure to have you with us. We're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve. The ones on the second floor are more private we are glad you were on those and to see you again in Costa Rica surfing!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed 2 nights and we enjoyed having 2 adjoining rooms on the ground floor, which were just steps away from the pool. We were very happy to meet Marcello who helped us through some last minute flight changes! It was wonderful to be greeted by him and the wonderful surroundings after a long day of travelling! We were tired and decided to order supper from one of the restaurants in town. Our meals arrived quickly and was served on our patio! The pool was wonderful and most of the time we had it to ourselves with a few birds, lizards and a very large frog! We had a very early birding tour the next morning so they were kind enough to cook breakfast for us earlier than normal! The eggs and ham cooked in a muffin tin were very good!
The rooms were perfect for 3 people and the shower was absolutely the best that we have had in a hotel! The A/C was efficient and peacefully quiet!

Room Tip: The ground floor room away from the breakfast area is probably the best room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We appreciate you comments, your opinion it is very important for us. We were glad to help you with your las minute flight changes; we believe it is going to be a story to remember. Our guest enjoy the Gourmet Adventures because if you are tired you can eat at you room or dinning room, and everyone can choose his own place to eat, but at the same time without going downtown, glad to hear you enjoyed your decision. Out breakfast is serve when our guest desire we want people to get of schedules during vacation, we enjoy our personalized service and been helpful with all we can. Thanks again and please let us know in if any of your family or friends want to visit us, so we can help them in advance, and really hope to have you back again. Have a nice week!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Have been to El Paso de Las Lapas, Jacó, in january 2013 for 2 nights. That's the first time I was disappointed with the reviews of Tripadvisor in years. Let me start saying that the Jacó city is ugly and lacks attractions. The beach is ok and the hotel is hidden on a dirty road on the mountains. The instant we've checked in and entered the room, we felt a strong smell of mold. Alright, the room looks at the pool which is 10 steps away from the bed. The pool is really nice and surrounded by green everywhere you look. Gorgeous sensation! But that's all. There's a palapa with massage beds which is abandoned: dirty and full of insects. Our small kitchen outside the room was smelling really bad, so I didn't use it thru the 2 nights of our stay, only the fridge. The smell in the room was kind of ruining our first night and I started to notice that the room was not clean at all. The furniture had spider webs all over and I was really trying to find where the smell came from. I finally noticed that a fabric that decorated the bed was the source of the bad smell and was full of silverfishes. I told the front desk about it and he told me he would be in my room in five minutes to remove the infested fabric. The nice guy never returned and I took the fabrics out myself with bare hands watching a silverfish rain over the bed and the floor. Disgusting! Later on the night I told the guy on the reception I removed the fabrics myself and he collected it saying: "que pena!" or "too bad" / "what a shame". We slept and enjoyed a very limited but decent breakfast. Spent the rest of the day on the amazing pool and used the menu on the room (very nice indeed) to order food from local restaurants. The Hicaco was, by far, the best. In this day I could also notice that the lounge chairs and all the hotel furniture was broken or malfunctioning. There were 6 lounge chairs and only 2 were perfect. We left the hotel with the sensation that the reviewers were there at another era. I think it could be a great place if several issues were solved. Staff is nice and kind, but there's no room service at all, only breakfast at hotel. Would not return and I recommend this hotel for very relaxed people that need one night of sleep before reaching the east coast. That's it!

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are more private than first floor pool front rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Hi I am the owner and really want to apologize about the situation, we already changed the administration after this opinion, we're always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve. We already took care of all your comments, and your suite I agree with you was not clean as it should be, can´t believe how he didn´t take care of the situation and change your suite to another one. We also changed all the lounge chairs and with the new administrator that is a women that would not happen again, I live most of the time in my house next door, while you visited I was traveling too. We love the personalized service and staying out the strip of Jaco is more peaceful but close enough to go and enjoy for a while, and from here there are more than 45 attractions you can do, but probably he didn´t tell you either. Sorry I missed your visit and thank you very much for your comments, they helped me a lot to know what happened while I was traveling and work so this situation won´t happen again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roquefort les pins france
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We spent a night at El Paso de Las Lapas and would really recommend this place. We were very welcome with a glass of wine, the receptionist was very helpfull, took his time, gave us a map of Jaco and recommended some restaurants.
The rooms are very big, nicely decorated and absolutely spotless, same for the bathroom equipped with complimentary quality toiletries. I still think the rooms are a bit overpriced.
We enjoyed chilling out by the pool with our friends: the land monitors.
My only disappointlent in the city of Jaco, I don't know why it attracts so many people, if you enjoy big buildings and a lor of run down places, why bother coming to Costa Rica ???

Room Tip: all rooms have a terrace on the pool side, I prefered the downstairs ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hello! Your opinion it is very important for us. We really agree that in Costa Rica the best for enjoy is nature, that’s one of the reasons we are far enough from downtown Jaco, we believe plants, all the birds and animals that visit us every day, makes our boutique hotel a lot different, but close enough to get to the beach, restaurants and more than 45 tours and activities to do around the from 5 minutes to 1 hour drive, hope next time you can stay with us more than one night!!!! Let us know when your friends and family want to come by and hope to have you with us again. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herradura, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is probably my most favorite place I have stayed at in Costa Rica. It's about 5 minutes from my fav town in the world, Jaco. It is outside the busy area of Jaco though, and in an area called Herradura, which is quiet and has nature. We booked on Expedia, and checkin was easy. We were greeted and asked if we wanted wine, then shown to our room. We were in room 14 and the awesome pool area was right outside our room. Room was spacious and had a kitchen area on the outside patio for storing food and drinks. loved that. We felt like we had the place to ourselves, only saw like two other guests while we were there and had the pool to ourselves. Really cute stone waterslide going into a second pool. Free breakfast, however, we did not partake in that as we had other plans and wanted to sleep in. Checkout was easy as well. Highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in the Jaco area.

Room Tip: We loved room 14. I would suggest staying on the ground floor so you can walk out to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Hi! We hope you had a nice trip back home. Thank you for you opinion it is very important for us. I feel sorry you didn’t know our breakfast doesn’t have schedule, because we want our guest to enjoy their stay during vacation and on our daily life we have enough schedules, no matter what time you wake up you can ask for your breakfast even room service at your suite, next time you will enjoy this part.
We are located just far enough away from town to be serene but close enough to get to the beach, shopping, and tours at the end of the day you come back to peace again. Hope to have your friends and family an specially you back soon! We miss you!!! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft M
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My first time to Costa Rica and my boyfriend's second. El Paso de las Lapas was a gem. We both loved it. Although we weren't greeted with the wine others mentioned, Juan Carlos greeted us and made us feel right at home. He was very helpful throughout our stay, lining us up with tours and recommending local places to visit. He was quick to tend to our every need. Our room was very nice and the patio was heaven to sit on and listen to the sounds of the rainforest. The location was perfect for us, just far enough away from town to be serene but close enough to get to the beach, shopping, and tours. We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Director de Recepción at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
it was a pleasure to have you on our hotel, really grateful for your comments, and for us it was a honor serving you and your boyfriend, unfortunately we had run out of wine, but we promise that next visit we will ready for your welcome. Because our interest is you feel in the best way in your stay.
I hope you and your boyfriend come back soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pumilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pumilio

Address: Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 943-1000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pumilio 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel, ideal for families, couples or friends who enjoy the natural beauty, in a quiet environment, between two mountains of virgin forest at sea level and 3 minutes from beaches Jaco and Herradura. Enjoy the variety of sports tours, adrenaline, hiking, national parks, restaurants, shops, souvenirs, supermarkets among others.Personalized service makes an experience unforgettable. Our 10 spacious luxury suites, each accommodating up to 5 people, fully equipped kitchen, terrace or balcony & WI-FI. Rates include full breakfast without schedule.For other meals we have a portfolio called "Gourmet Adventures", including the menus of different restaurants at your service. Escape to a relax experience in our Spa surrounded by lush vegetation and enjoy the experience of being in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Pumilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso De Las Lapas Hotel Jaco
Hotel Pumilio Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pumilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.