We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pumilio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Pumilio to your Saves list
Hotel Pumilio
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 943-1000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Very good place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

A very nice location with excelllent service by the staff members of the hotel. We had a great time during our stay in August, 2012. Traveled with wife and daughter, 15 years old. Contact with the natura was excellent. Nice pool to swim and cool down. The staff maintained our room Very well. The climate controll worked properly. There was also a very beautiful garden to walk in. All very well maintained. We have seen a lot of lizards during our stay. They also liked the fruit we gave them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Propietario at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Hello! Your opinion counts and is very important for us, we really appreciate. I believe the location is perfect, since we have a lot of vegetation, peace, nature but close enough to go downtown and all the different activities you can do around the area, but you come back home and enjoy the pool.
The lizards are getting bigger every day and always like to stay around. It was a pleasure to meet you and hope we can have you back!!!! Best regards from all of us!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    28
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
72
110
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pine, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

From the warm welcome we received on arriving after a long day of travel to the lovely, comfortable room, we felt immediately at home in this beautiful, tranquil oasis. Yes, the hotel isn't in the center of town, but we knew that going in, and made regular use of the fully stocked kitchen in our room. In the morning, we woke to the sounds of birds rather than traffic, and in the evening, we reveled in the peace and pristine air - all things we would have missed if we'd stayed down at the beach. At every turn, the staff went out of their way to help us enjoy our trip and make the most of our time there. They provided advice, conversation, and friendship, while helping us with reservations and transportation needs. One time, the manager even drove us to town in search of an elusive camera part... we felt more like cherished family than hotel guests. This lovely boutique hotel embodied the best of Costa Rica, and we will absolutely return there on any trip we make in the future.

Room Tip: The lower floor rooms open directly out onto the pool, which is nice and convenient, but the upper f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Gerente at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hi! there.
Thank you, we are pleased to know that you had a great time with us here in El Paso de las Lapas, the customer service you experienced is the service we try to offer all our visitors, considering all the time that each customer has different needs and try to please and serve all equally. I really did like to talk a lot and share good times with your family. Thanks for the invitation, I promise you on my first trip to USA I will visit you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Traveled with wife and daughter,12 yo. The greeting upon arrival was warm, personalized with flutes of delicious wine and efficient (important post many hours of travel). Our room was very comfortable and well outfitted w/ a mini kitchen. Climate control worked wonderfuly in our main room. The staff maintained our room daily such that not one grain of sand was left behind. The pool was immaculate and perfect for unwinding after a hike into the rainforest.

The locus was an absolute treat for us. We wanted quiet family time and this resort offered that in spades. The grounds were beautifuly manicured and surrounded by a delightful farm and rainforest. Lots of unassuming lizards abounding poolside. The staff clearly takes pride in maintaining this pristine jem of a hotel.

Juan Carlos, manager, must be commended for his efforts to keep our family happy during our stay. Always greeted us with a smile despite his long hours at the hotel; he clearly put our comfort and needs as his top most priority. For example, I needed to procure another memory stick for my camera and aske Juan Carlos for a store recommendation. He could have told us where to go and called us a cab, however, he elected to drive us himself to a nearby store. Likewise, he went into the store and interpreted my needs to the store associate. Finally, he drove into Jaco and delivered us to our restaurant. Juan Carlos was not asked to do any of these things; he insisted on helping us in the most selfless manner I have ever witnessed. The service and people are unparalleled at this botique hotel.

We enjoyed the fresh friuts, beans and rice, eggs and ham served each moring. The tables offered spectacular views of jungle scenery--replete with bird calls, insect, frog and local fauna incantations unseen but everpresent.

The trip to Jaco is about 8 min from the hotel. This is a good opportunity to inquire about local attractions, restaurants, activities. Every cab driver was more than happy to share knowledge about this wonderful region. I am very happy in our decision to stay outside of the hubub of Jaco central. Each evening coming from dinner in jaco it was a return to a serene nirvana/ shangri-la (pardon the descriptive redundancy).

I have nothing negative to say about this Hotel and I am a critical reviewer--see previous reviews. This is a model establishment and we will without question return to this hotel if we return to the Jaco region.

Room Tip: Corner 2nd floor rooms have a ceiling fan and large patios. Really can't go wrong w/ any room. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Gerente at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hello friends!
We are very proud to know that you were able to enjoy an unforgettable holiday in our hotel, your comments confirm to us that we are on the right way and that every day we keep improving and provide customer service that has characterized these last 4 and a half years, thank you, you are a very accessible and friendly family, thanks to your comments we know that we make you feel at home.
This is a very warm greeting from us and we hope you can visit us soon to share with you once more time, we'll remember at all times. As soon as a get to USA I´ll visit you, it is a promise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

A very nice hotel, contact with nature was excellent ... The great room, spacious, cozy, well everything! Very close to shopping for any need. The nearby beaches .. excellent! All the best, and move on! I will have a next visit

Room Tip: Rooms are very spacious, cozy, well everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Gerente at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments our goal is to make our customers feel more than satisfied with our service. We deeply appreciate your words. We hope to see you one more time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was our first trip to Costa Rica, and we are glad we stayed here. Yes, it is removed from the beach/strip area of Jaco, but that is exactly what we wanted. In our opinion the beaches in Jaco were not as good as the beaches in Tamarindo, so this was perfect for us. The rooms are very nicely furnished, and the deck overlooking the pool/garden area was large and nice. Having the outdoor kitchen was a nice feature. The staff is very accomodating, and friendly. It is quiet and peaceful which is exactly what we wanted. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: We liked having a room on the upstairs level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Gerente at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hi!

Thank you for your comments, we like to know that your stay was vary pleasant, also is nice to read that you want to come back to our hotel, yes, Tamarindo beaches are beautifull, but Jacó also have nice beaches too, infact Jacó is famous worldwide beacouse it´s beaches for surfing.
thanks for being with us, and we hope to serve you one more time.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My boyfriend and I had a fantastic time at El Paso de las Lapas. Carlos is so helpful and friendly, he really made the experience that much more amazing. The hotel paid for one return cab trip to and from Jaco each day, and also organized for us to order food from restaurants in town and have it delivered to the hotel (since they don't cook lunch/dinner). Carlos even took it upon himself to drive us to the bus stop in Jaco when we were leaving for our next location, and made sure we got on the right bus. Superb service, stellar rooms, beautiful pool, can't ask for much more than that!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Manager at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hi there, how are you friends, we hope you enjoyed your last vacation days in Manuel Antonio, was a pleasure to help you gays, thanks for taking the time to give us your opinion about our service, comments like these force us to improve every day. One more time thank you very much and hope to have you as guests in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Springs, Wyoming, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you're looking for a tourist-trap, beach-bum hotel on the central Pacific coast of Costa Rica...this is not your place. It was refreshing to be removed from the busy-ness that accompanies so many resort hotels. El Paso de las Lapas is small, quiet, and secluded--yet with easy access to Jaco and Herradura. The attention and service of the staff were genuinely friendly and appropriately personalized. A thoroughly enjoyable three-night stay for us...our most pleasant experience in a Costa Rican hotel in all the years we've been visiting...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LapaVIP, Gerente at Hotel Pumilio, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Hola!

We would like to thank you for your comments, certainly we are a small, but with enormous dedication and desire to serve our customer, your feedback helps us to keep our feet on the ground and not stop providing the best customer service our friendly customers can experience.

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pumilio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pumilio

Address: Del cruce Herradura 2 Km hacia Jaco | 1 Km a Mano Izquierda, Jaco 943-1000, Costa Rica (Formerly El Paso de las Lapas)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pumilio 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our boutique hotel, ideal for families, couples or friends who enjoy the natural beauty, in a quiet environment, between two mountains of virgin forest at sea level and 3 minutes from beaches Jaco and Herradura. Enjoy the variety of sports tours, adrenaline, hiking, national parks, restaurants, shops, souvenirs, supermarkets among others.Personalized service makes an experience unforgettable. Our 10 spacious luxury suites, each accommodating up to 5 people, fully equipped kitchen, terrace or balcony & WI-FI. Rates include full breakfast without schedule.For other meals we have a portfolio called "Gourmet Adventures", including the menus of different restaurants at your service. Escape to a relax experience in our Spa surrounded by lush vegetation and enjoy the experience of being in harmony with nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pumilio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Paso De Las Lapas Hotel Jaco
Hotel Pumilio Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pumilio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.