We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little oasis in Jaco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Club Del Cielo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Club Del Cielo to your Saves list
Club Del Cielo
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   300 Mts South Municipalidad, Jaco 00207, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little oasis in Jaco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This condo hotel was lovely. I was worried from the pictures that the couch and decor would be tacky, but in fact, the interior was beautiful, it was quiet, and everything was well appointed. Most importantly, the staff were awesome. When I came, American Airlines had managed to lose my bags. Four days later, they were still not answering their phone. Nancy, the manager at the hotel (who's a total sweet-heart) and her staff took over the task of contacting the people at the airline, helped me make some calls. The help was priceless, and that kind of customer service is rare in this world, folks! The place is a little to the side of town, but that's all to the good, as far as I'm concerned. It gets you away from the bustle of the center.

Note: the beach around Jaco is polluted. If you're going there to swim in the ocean, my advice is to pick a smaller town outside of Jaco, or use Jaco as a base for other trips.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner condo on the second floor. One of the first floor condos I entered smelled a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    10
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stellarton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Myself, my husband and my best friend rented one of the two bedroom condos - and it was fabulous! It was spacious, the kitchen was fully stocked with everything you need, the washer and dryer were incredibly helpful (especially during the rainy season) and the security guards were friendly.

Breakfasts were delicious, and Edgar was such a sweetheart even though we had difficulties communicating sometimes (our Spanish is terrible).

The owner took the time to tell us about the great places to go, and even took us on one of his morning hikes.

We cannot wait to go back, and would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

A couple of friends and I stayed here for a few days while visiting Costa Rica and absolutely loved everything about it! It was quite spacious with 2 bedrooms, 2 full baths, kitchen, living room and a lovely outdoor patio. It was a few minutes away from downtown but close enough to walk to and from during the day. The area was gated with a security guard at all times so we always felt safe.The beach was just a few blocks away and walking distance as well. We had breakfast at the restaurant and were very impressed by the food and service - by far the best gallo pinto I had while in Costa Rica. The staff was very helpful and even returned a hat I lost the day before while at the pool. If I ever visit Jaco again, I would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I must say that Club Del Cielo is, hands down, the best! It is such a hidden beauty & the service is pretty darn good. I arrived on a Wednesday, early afternoon, and was greeted by a receptionist by first name. From beginning to end, everyone there was so kind & helpful.
When we walked into our condo we couldn't believe it. It actually looked exactly like the pictures on the site. It was very clean and everything about it was modern. It came equipped with anything that you could possibly need from a washer and dryer down to utensils and baking ware. It was way better than my rinky dink apartment in Jersey. :)
Every morning we enjoyed free breakfast. There is a special menu to choose from with I believe 8 different free options. The pancakes and fruit combo is to die for!
The main town, where the shops, restaurants, lounges, clubs are and even a movie theater is not too far. It is about a $2 (1,000 colones) cab ride away. PERFECT! The beach is nearby. However, it is no good for swimming. It is pretty dirty. It's really just a surfer beach! The other beaches are a long ride on the road and/or by boat. I went on a tour to Tortuga Island. We took a yacht there. It was absolutely beautiful.
TIP 1: Do not book your tours through the hotel. They jack their prices up quite a lot. When you walk trough "town" you'll see many agencies booking tours. Book through them. I saved my boyfriend and me about $130 dollars not booking a tour through the hotel.
TIP 2: There is a bus station all the down the strip across from the Best Western. The drive from San Jose, airport, to Jaco by car is about 1 hour and 1/2 and the cab costs about 90 dollars .The bus costs $4 each. It takes a little over 2 hours. SCORE!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

This was part two of our journey through Costa Rica. We had just come from four days in Arenal at the Hotel Royal Corin, and while this property was not nearly as nice, it was unexpected. The unit was larger than our apartment at the time, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, kitchen, dining and living room area, and outdoor patios across the front of the unit. We were farther away from the pool, at the back of the property, so the noise was minimal. Thew view wasn't spectacular, but there was plenty of space, and the fact that the unit had a kitchen made it easier to save a little money on dining. We stocked up the fridge on the first night, and I took a stab at cooking a traditional Costa Rican meal on several nights. The price was spectacular for such a large unit, but it really was too big for just the two of us. It would be ideal for a family that wants more than just a hotel room. It's off the main drag, so it's much quieter than some of the other properties in the area. It was also a short walk to the beach, but not oceanfront. There are probably better properties in Jaco, but I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

This beautiful resort is definitely a place I highly recommend and when I visit again, I will be staying here as well. I had a great time, the pool is great, very peaceful, great staff, very clean, up to part and the rooms are very spacious and very accommodating. I spent a whole week, excellent price and very relaxing place to stay.The beach is within 5 minutes from this resort, you find everything in the strip in Jaco within 2-6 mile radius. Great restaurants, good selections and very good prices on the souvenir shops by the strip. If you want to dine in Jaco, I highly recommend "Tsunami Sushi", Pili, Pili Restaurant very delicious, great value, great service and excellent food, also try "Jaco Tacos" another great location to eat as well as "El Barco" great seafood place. We had a great wonderful time exploring the activities Jaco has to offer. The Canopy (Zip Lining) was thrilling and the best experience as well as the ATV riding on the mountains another great activity and the "Tortuga Island Tour" highly recommended great times (includes snorkling, drinks, cruise) this whole tour is an 8 hour event but worth it. The nightlife is great too, check out "Orange Pub", "The Loft" "Claritas" and "Monkey Bar" especially for those single people, you will have a great time. The beach in Jaco was not all impressive but if you want to have a relaxing and have a nice and sunny time, go to "Playa Herradura" it's not far from Jaco. Last I will recommend this Bar/Restaurant/Lounge called "The Backyard" it has great drinks, in front of the beach and good food but it get's nice and crowded especially on Wednesday nights. No car rental is needed, we walked or took the taxi and it was four of us and the average spending on transportation for all four was 4 to 6 dollars. I recommend to make sure you exchange your currency into Colones especially when buying drinks, tips. taxi and souvenir shopping.

Room Tip: Room 11 or 4 =)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Club Del Cielo is a small bit of Paradise located in Jaco. The condos are wonderful and clean and the staff working there are extremely helpful. The pool is great for families and it is just a short walk to the beach, a great trail up the mountain in the rain forrest and just minutes to the downtown area. Maria at the restaurant is a great cook - it was hard to find a reason to go elsewhere! I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
0.6 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
5.5 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#5 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 899 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Pumilio
Hotel Pumilio
#4 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
0.8 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Club del Mar
Hotel Club del Mar
#7 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Del Cielo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Del Cielo

Address: 300 Mts South Municipalidad, Jaco 00207, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 55 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Del Cielo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club del Cielo Condo-Hotel, is the perfect place to stay when you visit the central pacific coast of Costa Rica. Ideally located at Jaco beach, one of the most actives beach towns in Costa Rica, our eco green, family - friendly condominiums are located just 2 blocks away from the beach and 4 blocks from down town Jaco. Club Del Cielo Condo-Hotel is a new option for those looking for the comfort and privacy of a luxury condominium with high end service as the best hotels while you explore the stunning mid-pacific coast line of Costa Rica. Our Condominiums offer designer furnishings and modern decoration, fully equipped kitchens and separate bedrooms with all the comforts of home; this make us the ideal lodging choice for families and friends looking to enjoy a memorable vacation experience in Costa Rica. Club del Cielo Concierge would be more than happy to arrange your activities, transportation all over the country, golf, spa services, baby sitting, yoga classes and more! In our Tres Sabores restaurant, you can enjoy from a typical Costa Rican breakfast, a delicious mahi-mahi, an amazing fresh ceviche and more while you relax at the pool or the Jacuzzi! Jaco beach, Costa Rica is located in the Central Pacific Region, on the pacific coast of Costa Rica, Jaco is approximately one hour by car from San Jose and one hour North of Manuel Antonio National Park. Jaco beach is well known for amazing surfing beaches, plenty activities and tours for all ages, many high quality restaurants, shops, souvenirs, bars, nightclubs and discos, which make up Jaco's very active place for all ages and likes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Club Del Cielo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Del Cielo Hotel Jaco
Club Del Cielo Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Club Del Cielo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.