We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice condo!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monte Carlo Condominium

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monte Carlo Condominium to your Saves list
Monte Carlo Condominium
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   mid main street | Jaco Beach, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Lake Elsinore, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Very nice condo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I stayed here with my wife on our honeymoon. Staff was very nice, quick to respond to the few requests that we had. Condo was very nice, high end materials, and very good prices. Security was good, which is nice to have in Jaco. I would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room. We were shown a bottom floor room, which was nice, but if you don't m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacomontecarlo, Manager at Monte Carlo Condominium, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear guest

On behave of all Monte Carlo Staff; we want you to thank you for your comments about our Property. We work hard to satisfy all our guests needs while choosing us to stay in Costa Rica.

You are most welcome to comeback in the future.

My best regards

Cristian Chavarria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
28
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Monte Carlo is conveniently located in the heart of Jaco. Beautiful grounds and very well maintained. Excellent value and a friendly staff especially Cristian.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacomontecarlo, Manager at Monte Carlo Condominium, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you, we appreciate your good comments about our Vacation Condo.

We hope to see you again.

Cristian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I Have stayed at the monte carlo about 9 times in the past 2 years. The place is lush and tropical.
I love the condos they are up-scale and very clean and very reasonable for a 2 beedroom.city center
The pool is awsome and the management is very prompt on any services i need.
I feel like i am in paradise. I Highly recommend
Montecarlo is my home when in Jaco.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacomontecarlo, Gerente at Monte Carlo Condominium, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for visiting our Condo. We appreciate your comments about our property.

We like to see you staying with us in the future.

Cristian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Beautiful and safe gated property with 24hr guard. Seamless check-in despite the manager not being on duty when we arrived late from La Fortuna. There was an envelope with my name on it and the key as well as the managers contact information and instructions to check-in the next day.

Property was well maintained if a bit dimly lit at night, not in a sketchy way but in a romantic way. Either way take it or leave it. We were here during the off season so the property seemed very quiet. You could tell others were around but you rarely saw them.
Gorgeous pool area, that you could turn the hot tub on for. We never overlapped with other guests while using the pool area.

Condos were huge and akin to a luxury apartment in any major city. Granite counter-tops abound, along with premium tile flooring, and stainless steel appliances. All the rooms living, kitchen, both bathrooms, master, and guest bedrooms were large and immaculately appointed. Def felt like your own sic bachelor pad. All rooms air conditioned and contained ceiling fans. There was even a washer and dryer and safe. LOVED the shower in the master bedroom, I used that while my friend used the tub in the guest bathroom as it was just the two of us! There was also free wi-fi in the suite a first of any property I stayed at in Costa Rica.

It was easy to walk through Jaco Beach from the resort everything was a 5-10min away; car rentals (which require $1,000 credit card, bars, the beach, restaurants, etc. It isn't Cape Cod or Palm Beach but I thought Jaco Beach was relaxing and charming, especially during the low season. Beach is def geared towards surfing and is rocky and jagged on certain parts. Didn't see any overt signs of prostitution etc I read about. Was offered drugs once while walking solo at night but that happens even in the States :-) Make sure to negotiate your transfers during the low season. We wanted to spend a day in Manuel Antonio and they offered $120 to drive us there stopping at a few places along the way. After it was all said and done they offered $50 to drive us there and back but we decided to take the bus and spend less than $10 each. :-)

If I could do it again I maybe would have booked a more economical hotel like property which offered slightly less space but more services such as a 24 hour staffed lobby, bar or restaurant, or complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacomontecarlo, Gerente at Monte Carlo Condominium, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
On behalf of all of us, we would like to thank you for choosing Monte Carlo Luxury Condominiums as your destination hotel and for sharing your comments with the members of Tripadvisor.
We are enchanted that you had such a good experience, thank you for giving us that opportunity, your recognition is very important to us. We hope you choose Monte Carlo as your home away from home from now on.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Cristian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 7 days in March 2011. We both had high expectations due to the reviews that we had seen online. Let me tell you, this place met ALL of our expectations. We had a long day of travel and got in at about 1am and they were more than accommodating at this late hour. We had a rental car, and when we got to the condo the guard at the gate had all of our information and we were let right in. We were given our key and shown where our condo was, and waiting for us was a list with contact information for the morning.

The condo was impeccably clean and the beds were extremely comfortable. The kitchen was fully stocked with all of the essential cooking equipment (pots & pans, dish soap, sponges, towels, silverware/plates/bowls, coffee pot). However, it is worth mentioning that we did have to purchase laundry detergent.

As far as the staff is concerned at the Monte Carlo, they were nothing short of amazingly hospitable. Cristian, who I am sure you will get to know, helped us set up a boat tour to Tortuga Island and a ziplining tour. Also, there was a cleaning crew that came into our condo on a regular basis and made the place look like new every time (they seemed to be extremely trustworthy).

Overall, this condo was an amazing experience, and provided us with the perfect safe, beautiful, private, vacation experience that we were both looking for in Costa Rica. We will definitely be coming back soon!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacomontecarlo, Gerente at Monte Carlo Condominium, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
On behalf of all of us, we would like to thank you for choosing Monte Carlo as your destination hotel and for sharing your comments with the members of Tripadvisor.
We are enchanted that you had such a good experience, thank you for giving us that opportunity, your recognition is very important to us. We hope you choose us as your home away from home from now on.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

Really enjoyed staying at the Monte Carlo and wish we had more time there. It was quiet, had beautiful landscaping to walk through to your condo, a fantastic pool, and friendly people all around. The condos are nicely decorated, very spacious, and very comfortable. I also did a lot of price comparisons on different airport/city transfers, and Monte Carlo gave me the best rates. Michael and Christian were very accommodating.

The hotel is a nice, short walk to the beach and to the center of town.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

This place was well beyond our expectations.
The condos are huge and luxurious, each with lovely, private outdoor space. The cleaners come in every second day and do a great job. The gardens are maintained to perfection and the property is very secure. The staff are all friendly and attentive. You can't help but smile and relax as soon as you walk through the gate.
My only annoyance was the kitchen was missing a couple of simple, key appliances that are cheap and easy to add. Such as a large pot for the stove. We bought pasta for a quick cheap meal and had absolutely nothing in the kitchen to cook it in. Annoying.

The condos are also right in town, 5 mins walk to all bars, restaurants and beach. However, I will say that Monte Carlo is the best thing about Jaco. The town is not very nice, the beach is great for surfing, but not at all pretty. Go an hour down the road to Manuel Antonio, it's a much nicer place and the beach is pristine.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monte Carlo Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monte Carlo Condominium

Address: mid main street | Jaco Beach, Jaco 61101, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Monte Carlo Condominium 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monte Carlo luxury condominiums are the best value and location in Jaco Beach. We are ideally located in the center of town within steps to beach, shopping, restaurants, pharmacy, salon, supermarket, tours, discos, Beatles Bar, etc. You do not need a car here, you can walk everywhere. If you prefer a ride, a taxi pickup at the front gate to anywhere in town is $2.00 the property is an oasis of peace and tranquility in the heart of Jaco Beach. You will be surrounded with the sounds of the many exotic birds that visit the grounds daily as well as the soothing sound of beautiful fountains. The grounds of the condominiums are beautifully landscaped and include a huge pool with swim up bar, jacuzzi, and rancho area with grill and tables and chairs for your outdoor cooking. The condo is fully furnished and equipped for cooking. The condo has two bedrooms and two bathrooms, full kitchen, living room, laundry room, patio, and is 1400 square feet. The condo is finished to a high standard with granite counters in the kitchens and bathrooms, tile floors, GE stainless steel appliances, solid wood cabinetry, and recessed lighting throughout the apartment. In the Master bedroom there is a King size bed and master bathroom with walk in shower. The guest bedroom has a Queen size bed and guest bathroom with shower and tub. The living room and bedrooms have full size sliding glass doors that open up to the patio and lush landscaping. During the day the apartment is showered with natural sunlight, it feels like your living in the garden. Amenities here include free wireless internet, 24 hour manned security in gated complex, cable TV, air conditioning, in house washer and dryer, and concierge desk to arrange all tours and transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monte Carlo Condominium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Carlo Condominium Hotel Jaco
Monte Carlo Condominium Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monte Carlo Condominium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.