We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place with amazing staff: Highly recommend ;)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mango Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mango Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mango Mar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   De la POPS en Jaco 100 mts | hacia el mar. Calle Cocal., Jaco 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place with amazing staff: Highly recommend ;)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a cute hotel located in Jaco city center, right on the beach. The hotel is quiet, with a nice balcony great for reading and listening to the ocean. The breakfast was a lovely continental with toast, fresh fruit and coffee. What made my mother and I fall in love with the place...was its friendly staff. The lady in the office is a jack-of-all-trades, doing everything from renting rooms, serving breakfast, and cleaning. She was so pleasant that we left our hotel on Mal Pais to come bk and stay there again for another four nights and she gave us a very fair rate. I recommend just showing up and negotiating a cheaper rate in person. Beautifully quaint and enjoyable, and I highly recommend it. ;)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
11
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Value for money, as to be one of the best places in Jaco to stay. The staff could not be any Better, or Friendly. Nice size rooms and the grounds are well kept, I was there for 12 days in May and shall be back again in August

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Mango Mar was our "home away from home" for 8 weeks this year. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there, the staff (like family), the location, accommodation and the cleanliness of our rooms and facilities. The rates offered to us as guests for many years was terrific! The Manager and owner were very accommodating to correct any concerns or issues. We will definitely return for a 9th time, bringing many friends and family!

Room Tip: All rooms are good; some with 2 double beds and some with 2 doubles and 1 single....also 2 2 bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is perfect location in Jaco, right on the beach and one minute walk to main drag. We didn't like Jaco the town itself but this is definitely the best place to stay in Jaco. The hotel we booked originally we left because it was in a bad location and felt unsafe, we got a cab to the beach and found mango mar. The lady at reception gave us a good rate and was very helpful. Everyone that was staying at the hotel were really nice too. The best value for a beach front hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I was just down in jaco for a surf competition and stayed here. It was in the perfect location right on the beach. It was still close to town, just a block from the center but also quiet. I was very happy to hear the ocean at night and not the clubs. The staff is super friendly and the place is very secure. I will always stay here when I am back in jaco. Thanks guys. See you guys next year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a small 14 room motel with a great location. If you go out the back gate you are on the beach and the front, you are a block away from the main street of Jaco. You are centrally located, so everything is very walkable. The motel could use some updating but if you are looking for a bargain on the beach and walkable to everything, this is your place. When checking in, they speak only spanish so we got the key but weren't always sure what they were saying about breakfast or the various keys. We did find others staying at the same place that were able to explain what the extra key was (back gate) and when breakfast was and what the code was for the internet. So from there, we were all set and good to go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Mango Mar for the weekend in November 2013, we had an ok time but I have to say the Photo's on the hotels website are extremely flattering.. Our room was large with OK beds, but full of ants.. The front door was badly fitting and gaps all around where insects could crawl through. The locks were also broken, it took me several attempts every time I tried to lock it as the lock was very old and worn.

The bathroom needed a total re-vamp.. the shower had electrical wires hanging out of it (dont see how this can be safe!) and could not be moved to point in any direction other than the wall. The wash basin was right in front of the toilet, so unless you stood on the toilet seat, you could not stand in front of the wash basin making it almost unusable.

The staff were friendly and the location, close to the center of town was great, the hotel just needs some TLC or be honest about the facilities and rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mango Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Mar

Address: De la POPS en Jaco 100 mts | hacia el mar. Calle Cocal., Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mango Mar 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mango Mar is located right in front of the pacific ocean in jaco beach. this small fourteen room tropical hotel is quiet and cozy and no matter where your room is you have a view of the ocean. walking distance to all your amenities, great waves and sunsets!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mango Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mango Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mango Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.