We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT LOCATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mango Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mango Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Mango Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   At the End of Cocal Street, To the Left. Oceanfront | Jaco Down Town, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“PERFECT LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I was just down in jaco for a surf competition and stayed here. It was in the perfect location right on the beach. It was still close to town, just a block from the center but also quiet. I was very happy to hear the ocean at night and not the clubs. The staff is super friendly and the place is very secure. I will always stay here when I am back in jaco. Thanks guys. See you guys next year.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
12
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

This is a small 14 room motel with a great location. If you go out the back gate you are on the beach and the front, you are a block away from the main street of Jaco. You are centrally located, so everything is very walkable. The motel could use some updating but if you are looking for a bargain on the beach and walkable to everything, this is your place. When checking in, they speak only spanish so we got the key but weren't always sure what they were saying about breakfast or the various keys. We did find others staying at the same place that were able to explain what the extra key was (back gate) and when breakfast was and what the code was for the internet. So from there, we were all set and good to go.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at the Mango Mar for the weekend in November 2013, we had an ok time but I have to say the Photo's on the hotels website are extremely flattering.. Our room was large with OK beds, but full of ants.. The front door was badly fitting and gaps all around where insects could crawl through. The locks were also broken, it took me several attempts every time I tried to lock it as the lock was very old and worn.

The bathroom needed a total re-vamp.. the shower had electrical wires hanging out of it (dont see how this can be safe!) and could not be moved to point in any direction other than the wall. The wash basin was right in front of the toilet, so unless you stood on the toilet seat, you could not stand in front of the wash basin making it almost unusable.

The staff were friendly and the location, close to the center of town was great, the hotel just needs some TLC or be honest about the facilities and rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Mango Mar was a pleasant surprise on my trip to Costa Rica. It was actually the nicest place that my friend and I stayed at in Costa Rica. Located on the beach with it's own security gate to the beach; nice, clean swimming pool and 24 hour security, made Mango Mar the ideal location for us, within easy walking distance ot shopping and restuarants.
The rooms were very clean and quiet at night. As it was the low season we were able to negotiate the room price down to $55.00/night, a very reasonable price for value received. The continental breakfast was quite meager, consisting of fruit wedges and two slices of toast, with coffee and juice. If I ever return to Jaco, I will certainly stay at the Mango Mar.

Room Tip: Any room is a good choice, all have ocean view over looking a stunning court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vtown
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed at the Mango Mar twice, once in July and again in Sept. It was low season and I was charged $60 U.S.D. Per night. The staff was great. Low season was quiet and serene. Can't wait
to go back. I has an issue with the Air Conditioner in Room 3 but was immediately relocated to room 4. Great Location!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive Branch, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

I stayed there end of May beginning of June. Great location. Breakfast, very helpful staff, on the beach. Small but very nice the best places to stay in Jaco. I will stay there again. good security

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine State
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed at the Mango Mar a couple of times now and will return. It is right on the beach and a block from Jaco Centro with resturants and groceries close by 2 min walk and a casino right next door. The staff is awesome 24hr security

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mango Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Mar

Address: At the End of Cocal Street, To the Left. Oceanfront | Jaco Down Town, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mango Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mango Mar has 12 standard suites, and 2 apartment suites. They are all equipped with air conditioning, TV, safe box, coffee maker, microwave and bar fridge to meet your needs for your stay with us. Each room has a balcony or patio with table and chairs and a great ocean view!. Most of the bedrooms have two double beds but we also offer rooms for 5 and 6 people. Hotel Mango Mar is located at the end of Calle Cocal, in the middle of Jaco Beach and oceanfront for you to enjoy every sunset and relax at the beach. The Hotel has beautiful tropical gardens. The swimming pool is right in front of the beach with plenty of lounge chairs for tanning. Also the front gardens provide outdoor tables with a BBQ for those who wish to BBQ under the palm trees in front of the beach. Hotel Mango Mar is a completely private and secure. We have security guards at night and maintain access to the beach for guest use only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mango Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mango Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mango Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.