We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mango Mar

Save Saved
You added Hotel Mango Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Mango Mar
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   De la POPS en Jaco 100 mts | hacia el mar. Calle Cocal., Jaco 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Sunshine State
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed at the Mango Mar a couple of times now and will return. It is right on the beach and a block from Jaco Centro with resturants and groceries close by 2 min walk and a casino right next door. The staff is awesome 24hr security

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
11
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pismo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We has a part of 5 people staying in the 2 bedroom apartment for 4 nights at the end of May (2012) and everything was great. The staff was very nice, we had an amazing ocean view from our balcony, and breakfast was simple (fruit, toast, OJ, coffee) but satisfying and fresh. The room wasn't luxurious, but it was just what we needed with a little fridge 4 beds, and a bathroom!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit at Mango Mar from Jan. 25th to March 7th, 2012; this was our 6th trip back to Mango Mar and 7th to Jaco. Mango Mar, a little boutique hotel, is in the centre of Jaco and on the beach. The Manager, Marlene, was exceptionally helpful and all the staff are wonderful....they are like our family and home away from home. Although the hotel is a little older, it is clean and well maintained and they can't do enough for guests. We felt truely relaxed and spoiled there! We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are fairly spacious and all sleep at least 3 people; mostly 4. The rooms on the east side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed at Mango Mar for 7 nights with a group of friends looking to get away from the very noisy San Jose. The reason why we picked this hotel was mainly down to the location and was not disappointed in the slightest. Mango Mar is set in the heart of Jaco and right on the beach with its own private access meaning that you do not get lots of beach goers trundling through while you are sleeping or relaxing by the guitar shaped pool. The sunsets on Jaco are stunning and every evening locals would just sit on the beach and watch the sun go down.

All the rooms had a beach view but would recommend the 1st floor rooms mainly cause the view is better and also because you can leave the balcony door open and get a nice breeze coming through. The hotel was always clean and the staff, in particular the lovely Marlena were very friendly and attentive. On our last night at the Hotel Marlena even cooked a lovely dinner for us as a thank you which was a nice touch. There is always a security guard on patrol adding an extra feel of security. Tours can be booked though the main office and you can also use the hotels body boards ($5 for 1 hour $10 for the whole day) which we did on a few occasions and was so much fun but harder than it looks.

All in all this was a great stay and would defiantly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Nothing luxurious but a cute little beachfront hotel in a garden setting with pool (in the shadow of the larger, sleazy Hotel Cocal). Simple rooms but a great value. Each room has a balcony or terrace with nice ocean and sunset view. Order the pancakes at breakfast (included) instead of the continental which is just toast. There's nothing the hotel can do about it but a loud disco a few blocks away resounds until the wee hours. However, Jaco is not known for its peace and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This hotel is great value for the price. Right on the beach and if you get a room on the second floor you can see the ocean. It is older but well maintained and includes a breakfast ( tastless toast, fresh fruit plus juice and coffee). There is parking at the back and a night watchman. The gate to the beach is locked over night so an evening or early morning stroll on the beach requires walking around the block. Staff are very helpful. Sixty dollars off season is what we paid and we were quoted one hundred for peak season.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay with beach front and close to everything in Jaco, this is the place to go. My husband and I have stayed at Mango Mar several times and we continue going for it's value. It is inexpensive, beach front, clean, the staff is very helpful and friendly and it's at walking distance to the center of Jaco.

The rooms have A/C and cable TV, and the pool is small but clean and right by the beach. Also, it includes continental breakfast with an option to buy a bigger breakfast for a great price. Great value in a great location!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a better layout and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Mango Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Mar

Address: De la POPS en Jaco 100 mts | hacia el mar. Calle Cocal., Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 hotels in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mango Mar 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mango Mar is located right in front of the pacific ocean in jaco beach. this small fourteen room tropical hotel is quiet and cozy and no matter where your room is you have a view of the ocean. walking distance to all your amenities, great waves and sunsets!. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Mango Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mango Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mango Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.