We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Mango Mar

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Mango Mar to your Saves list
Hotel Mango Mar
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   At the End of Cocal Street, To the Left. Oceanfront | Jaco Down Town, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Jaco
Sunshine State
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

I stayed at the Mango Mar a couple of times now and will return. It is right on the beach and a block from Jaco Centro with resturants and groceries close by 2 min walk and a casino right next door. The staff is awesome 24hr security

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
12
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pismo Beach, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

We has a part of 5 people staying in the 2 bedroom apartment for 4 nights at the end of May (2012) and everything was great. The staff was very nice, we had an amazing ocean view from our balcony, and breakfast was simple (fruit, toast, OJ, coffee) but satisfying and fresh. The room wasn't luxurious, but it was just what we needed with a little fridge 4 beds, and a bathroom!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit at Mango Mar from Jan. 25th to March 7th, 2012; this was our 6th trip back to Mango Mar and 7th to Jaco. Mango Mar, a little boutique hotel, is in the centre of Jaco and on the beach. The Manager, Marlene, was exceptionally helpful and all the staff are wonderful....they are like our family and home away from home. Although the hotel is a little older, it is clean and well maintained and they can't do enough for guests. We felt truely relaxed and spoiled there! We will be back!

Room Tip: All rooms are fairly spacious and all sleep at least 3 people; mostly 4. The rooms on the east side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed at Mango Mar for 7 nights with a group of friends looking to get away from the very noisy San Jose. The reason why we picked this hotel was mainly down to the location and was not disappointed in the slightest. Mango Mar is set in the heart of Jaco and right on the beach with its own private access meaning that you do not get lots of beach goers trundling through while you are sleeping or relaxing by the guitar shaped pool. The sunsets on Jaco are stunning and every evening locals would just sit on the beach and watch the sun go down.

All the rooms had a beach view but would recommend the 1st floor rooms mainly cause the view is better and also because you can leave the balcony door open and get a nice breeze coming through. The hotel was always clean and the staff, in particular the lovely Marlena were very friendly and attentive. On our last night at the Hotel Marlena even cooked a lovely dinner for us as a thank you which was a nice touch. There is always a security guard on patrol adding an extra feel of security. Tours can be booked though the main office and you can also use the hotels body boards ($5 for 1 hour $10 for the whole day) which we did on a few occasions and was so much fun but harder than it looks.

All in all this was a great stay and would defiantly consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
123 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

Nothing luxurious but a cute little beachfront hotel in a garden setting with pool (in the shadow of the larger, sleazy Hotel Cocal). Simple rooms but a great value. Each room has a balcony or terrace with nice ocean and sunset view. Order the pancakes at breakfast (included) instead of the continental which is just toast. There's nothing the hotel can do about it but a loud disco a few blocks away resounds until the wee hours. However, Jaco is not known for its peace and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

This hotel is great value for the price. Right on the beach and if you get a room on the second floor you can see the ocean. It is older but well maintained and includes a breakfast ( tastless toast, fresh fruit plus juice and coffee). There is parking at the back and a night watchman. The gate to the beach is locked over night so an evening or early morning stroll on the beach requires walking around the block. Staff are very helpful. Sixty dollars off season is what we paid and we were quoted one hundred for peak season.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay with beach front and close to everything in Jaco, this is the place to go. My husband and I have stayed at Mango Mar several times and we continue going for it's value. It is inexpensive, beach front, clean, the staff is very helpful and friendly and it's at walking distance to the center of Jaco.

The rooms have A/C and cable TV, and the pool is small but clean and right by the beach. Also, it includes continental breakfast with an option to buy a bigger breakfast for a great price. Great value in a great location!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a better layout and view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jaco hotels
1.1 mi away
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mar de Luz
Hotel Mar de Luz
#8 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Copacabana Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Morgan's Cove Resort & Casino
0.1 mi away
Apartotel Flamboyant
Apartotel Flamboyant
#11 of 43 in Jaco
4.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
4.9 mi away
Villa Caletas
Villa Caletas
#5 of 43 in Jaco
4.5 of 5 stars 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mango Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mango Mar

Address: At the End of Cocal Street, To the Left. Oceanfront | Jaco Down Town, Jaco 4023, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Jaco
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Jaco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mango Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mango Mar has 12 standard suites, and 2 apartment suites. They are all equipped with air conditioning, TV, safe box, coffee maker, microwave and bar fridge to meet your needs for your stay with us. Each room has a balcony or patio with table and chairs and a great ocean view!. Most of the bedrooms have two double beds but we also offer rooms for 5 and 6 people. Hotel Mango Mar is located at the end of Calle Cocal, in the middle of Jaco Beach and oceanfront for you to enjoy every sunset and relax at the beach. The Hotel has beautiful tropical gardens. The swimming pool is right in front of the beach with plenty of lounge chairs for tanning. Also the front gardens provide outdoor tables with a BBQ for those who wish to BBQ under the palm trees in front of the beach. Hotel Mango Mar is a completely private and secure. We have security guards at night and maintain access to the beach for guest use only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mango Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Mango Mar Costa Rica/Jaco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Mango Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.